Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Winhold Montessori Schools

Private | K

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about Winhold Montessori. The teachers and staff are amazing. Mrs. Gunraj is truly a gifted teacher. Mrs. Winhold has wonderful knowledge of montessori method and education. Our two children have attended since they were 2 years old. It is truly amazing to see what young children can achieve when they are given the opportunity. It is well worth the investment in early education. I recommend this school to anyone who wants to prepare their child for school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

Probably the best investment we have ever made for our children who attended since they were toddlers. It was amazing to see how they developed into independent thinkers and doers. The loved going to school and it was clear that the teachers and staff cared for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

You are all parents who have their kids here... I WENT HERE. Yes I am an an adult now with my own Children however I will never forget my experience there. Good and bad. I will never forget being falsely accused of wetting myself and humiliated in front of my ENTIRE class and made to change into another child's clothes. I also was made to skip out on snack times frequently for minor things such as not hearing something the very first time. School was especially a place to get fed as I was not cared for properly in that way at home, so I pitched a royal fit the last day I attended. Rather than getting to the cause I was just given the boot and my parents were given all the more reason to mistreat me. If anyone ever mistreated my daughter or son at school by making fun of them or taking food away from them and making them watch others eat I would have a cow. If that teacher was not fired we would have issues. Aren't schools supposed to places to learn to share and be sweet and how to count and that everyone is to be treated how they want to be treated at that age? I would say just keep your eyes open. I believe the teacher that was in charge of me was Mrs. Perez.


Posted October 27, 2012

Excellent staff and education. Rare gem of passion and purpose. It seems that any previous negative comments were from parents not wanting to take responsibility for their own actions and were looking for a daycare or nanny and not a school. Check out how many students get into great programs as well as being successful and happy after being at Winhold M.


Posted September 13, 2012

Most of you may have better luck. Great for you but not for us ! I have dropped off my child clean and when I would pick him up he had lots of dryed pooh inside of his underwear like maybe he never was changed. I said something I was made a fool. you have no clue as to what is taken place inside Winhold Montessori School. Me and My wife have talked this over and our child will not be returning to Winhold Montessori School. 17555 South Dixie Highway,Palmetto Bay, FL 33157 (Dissatisfied)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My daughter went to Winhold Montessori for 3 years. If you can afford to give your child this wonderful head-start education, they truly have the best Teachers and learning program to get your child loving to learn. For the children they make learning interesting, exciting, and fun, and know how to do it and encourage your child, even at such a young age.This is truly a top quality school and a wonderful opportunity to give your child prior to entering elementary school. - Kudos to Mrs. Gunraj and Mr. Barry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My son attended Winhold Montessori for two years and we couldn't have been happier. He is an independent, self-confident child who genuinely loves learning (especially loves to read). His teachers were caring & loving towards the children, and my son loved going to school every day. We are so happy that our child received such a great start to his education at Winhold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

My child attended Winhold Montessori for three years. This is an AMAZING school that gives children a love of learning and a solid foundation that is rarely found these days. Citizenship training is emphasized along with the arts, physical activity, and strong foundations in both math and language arts. I only wish they had grades higher than kindergarten. Our family would most definitely be there if they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I highly recommend this school to anyone, the teacher are great, winhold helps the children grow and enjoy learning, my son is more confident and he want to work lesson and he come to our house happy and the most important confident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I have two children who currently attend Winhold Montessori and we couldn't be happier. Yes, the children are expected to be independent and are encouraged to do things for themselves. We appreciate this aspect of the Montessori regimen as we can see the self confidence instilled in our boys. I highly, highly recommend this school to anyone who has a child between the ages of 18 months and 5 years of age. The experiences your child has during the early years are so important and Winhold helps the children to grow into self thinkers who enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

Dictatorship? Are you confusing that with giving children boundaries? I also have a graduating child and a toddler at Winhold. We couldn't be happier, but more importantly, our children are thrilled to go to school. I am amazed at how much they are learning and how much they enjoy learning. The teachers are great, are in constant contact and offer suggestions on how to bring out the best in each individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I can attest that the school runs more like a dictatorship than a diplomacy. A plus for them is the daily reports. My child will not be returning this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Currently we have one child graduating Kindergarten and a toddler at Winhold. Over the past three years we have been amazed at what our children have learned and the experiences we have had. We are firm believers of the Montessori method and have seen first hand the effects of the teachings. The independence and confidence our children display at such a young age is wonderful. Their love of learning and desire to go to school is something every parent dreams of. I recommend Winhold and the Montessori Method to everyone I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Winhold Montessori a well established and well respected Montesorri school. The administration and teachers do a fantastic job preparing students not only for first grade but for lifelong. Winhold graduates go on to some of the finest elementary schools in Miami (i.e., F.C. Martin, Ludlam, Whispering Pines, etc.). It was difficult at first not to be more involved in the day-to-day activities of my child but I realize now that it is important to limit parent interruptions in the Montessori environment. The administration and teachers do encourage parental involvement in other ways such as mini-tours, International festival, holiday and end-of-year programs, Mother's Day Tea, Father's Day activities, Open House, etc. They also hold a monthly evening informational meeting for parents to talk about various aspects of Montessori education and related issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 10% 23%
Hispanic 10% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17555 South Dixie Highway
Miami, FL 33157
Phone: (305) 253-3225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Boystown
Cutler Bay, FL


Christ Fellowship Academy
Palmetto Bay, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT