Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
47 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School 4

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My review is what it is: my children's experiences with the school environment. My review is not different than if I reviewed a restaurant or a hotel because it is based on my experiences and is mixed with my personal likes and dislikes. Meaning: what works for me may not work for you and what works for you may not work for me. The School has 2 campuses, Southside for the 2 year olds through VPKers and Mandarin for the Elementary on up. The Southside Campusis more like a revolving door as most of the students come and go due to contract work or long "vacations". The teachers there are great though. The Mandarin Campus has limited students. If you are looking for a "small school", this is it. If you have a child that is very social, please take the size into consideration. If you have a very shy child, please take the size into consideration. The Mandarin Campus uses a blended learning style, very similar to public schools and charter schools, in that iReady is used to reinforce what the Teachers are teaching. Computers are used but the students are not in front of them all day long. The teachers do instruct and there is "book work". The Southside Campus uses direct instruction and hands-on learning techniques.

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
I have had great experiences at this school with children in preschool and in the upper grades. This is a very loving, caring environment. Students are encouraged to do their best, and teachers challenge them, but are always available to help. The blended learning model prepares students for life beyond school. I highly recommend this school.


Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
The blended learning approach is very effective! I highly recommend it. The classes are of a size that each child gets individual attention. Each child is challenged to reach his/her potential in a loving, caring, faith-based environment. Shepherd of the Woods is indeed a great place to Love to Learn and Learn to Love!

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
I feel bad about this rating. Aside from the Principal's daughter who isn't effective at all I think the best do the best they can.

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Having friends that have kids in public school it would seem that this school has a little more homework. Is it enough, only time will tell.


Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
With so many grade level in one room how can they? I worry that my child will be behind next year.

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The students are what they are. Its tough when you have so many issues in one room.

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
As I've said before, the teachers try. When you have so many kids with issues more pressing than caring it's hard to teach.


Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
You lead by example and the leader doesn't posses any of these traits. The teacher try but they can only do so much.

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School 1

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
My child attended this school for three years. In that time the staff turned over every year. I can estimate that around 25 adults have come and gone in the three years my child has been there. I finally had to pull her after what amounted to a wasted year this year. The classes are combined into three classes with as many as four grades in one room. The class my child was in had kids four years older than her in it and the topics the older kids discussed bordered on the inappropriate. The teacher was removed during the year. She was in over her head with kids that wouldn't behave and an expectation that was unrealistic. I tried to meet with the Principal but that never happened. She either passed me off to someone else or just cancelled. My guess is that unless you have money you can't see her. I read one of the other comments about the number of people in meetings with parents. The Principal doesn't trust her teachers enough to meet alone with parents, or so I was told by a teacher last year who also left midyear. I'm not even sure how or why she is allowed to be a Principal. According to my child and other parents she yells at students and contradicts teachers in front of their students. This year one of the teachers in my child's class hasn't even graduated college yet and isn't even certified or trained to teach. I guess being the Principal's daughter is training enough. She is also mean to students and regularly insults them. It's sad that a Christian school would have such hateful people running it. I can say that the rest of the teachers really try and want to help. I know that they care. Sadly the administration doesn't. I wish I could name all of the nice teachers my child had, all of whom are gone except one. I only hope I can find a good school for next year, I certainly can't find one worse.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School
7860 Southside Blvd, Jacksonville, FL  32256
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (904) 641-8385
Last modified Shepherd Of The Woods Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top