Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Aventura Montessori School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about the school and the staff here at Aventura Montessori. My daughter started here when she was just under 3 and her experience was absolutely delightful. She attended for 4 years, including kindergarten. I love their style of teaching. The results that were produced with my daughter's social and learning development were simply dramatic. Definitely recommend to others.

Aventura Montessori School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
What is really important to me as a parent is that my child is receiving an excellent education, is being taught skills that will take him through life, and that he is in a safe and nuturing environment. I have met parents whose kids went to AMS and the feedback I hear is that their children are ahead of the game. I already see my child working above his age level. The school may not be new or have frills, but they have experience, the inside is clean, and full of materials. My only regret is that I did not put my child in earlier and wasted a year, plus they only go up to Kindergarten but better late than never! - See more at: http://pk.greatschools.org/school/parentReviews.page?id=5524&state=FL#sthash.TnlNv9Ho.dpuf


Aventura Montessori School 1

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent who pulled my child out of AMS and I can tell you that my postings have been deleted twice by this "site." This site DOES not reflect real information by parents but mostly self-serving statements from the schools. So DO NOT trust the ratings. I had a terrible experience at AMS. They have a policy of punishing the parents and making them wait outside in the parking lot 30 minutes for being late. In addition there are many break- ins in the parking lot. The school is in a run-down area and there is a much better Montessori school just 3 miles north in Hollywood.

Aventura Montessori School 4

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
If you've got your priorities in order I think you will like this school for several reasons. First, the education- my child learns things that even I don't know sometimes. The children receive a well rounded education, they learn social skills, leadership skills, and independence. I also think the safety and organization is well planned. If you are one of those parents who is laid back you may have to adjust, but children need to learn discipline which is lacking so much these days. The school does not have an open door policy and to be honest I feel safer knowing that. I like that the playground is not visible from the street or parking lot and that the doors are always locked. The administration is experienced and helpful so whether I can have daily contact with the teachers or not I know my child is in good hands and my questions are always addressed in a timely manner so I can relax and go on with my day.

Aventura Montessori School 3

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
After visiting many pre-schools, I decided for this one and I am not sure how to rate it. It is not totally bad but there are some issues. The school is not good looking but that is not important. The playground is very nice though. My main concern with this school is that there is not contact with the teachers. Teachers do not receive the kids and they don t give them back to the parents. There is no little chat with them ever. You never know whether your kid did well or not because there is no communication with the teacher. Besides, teacher do not give their emails or phone number which most schools do. Basically, there is NO contact with your kid s teacher. Other issue very annoying for most parents is that this school is run like 20 years ago: they do not accept credit cards and they do not use emails for communication. Instead, they accept only check and they hand out notes daily with news, calendar, payment, etc. I live in a digital era, I want emails. I want to be able to have the notes in my phone available 24/7. My kid is happy there so I am happy but I really wish they can modernize a little bit and that I could have more communication with my kid s teacher.


Aventura Montessori School 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
*OUTSTANDING* Is the way to properly describe the curriculum of the AMS and the manner in which our twin 5 year olds have developed after attending Pre-K. Compared to other children their age from their former school who still do not read or even kindergarten or first graders who read at or below their level, I am even more amazed. Our children have just finished Pre-K and to put it in simple terms; are well over 1 year ahead of most students. While I give credit to my wife for the lessons at home, the foundation was 100% the result of Aventura Montessori and the amazing curriculum and the superb teachers who flawlessly execute it! Yes, the school may not be on a campus like setting in a formal atmosphere, but what goes on inside the classroom is all that matters. Children learn in a free, but structured environment which allows them to develop at an accelerated pace. Congratulations to Ms. Ali and her entire staff for a job very well done!!! We will miss you and each and every time our children read to us, rest assured that we will remember where that precious gift and so many other positive aspects of our twins development came from. You have all been remarkable!

Aventura Montessori School 4

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
This is a very good school. Its definitely not the owner writing the good reviews. You are 1 parent with a bad experience. I enrolled my daughter last year and am very happy with my decision. The school is super organized and the children are always engaged. The school is not a fancy one, but parents need to look beyond that. The education is really good. Many parents complain that they are very strict, but Its only in their policies not with the children. My daughter is super happy every time I drop her off and pick her up. I don't think all the teachers are highly qualified, but that is a common element among all the preschools around Aventura. At least here the principal does have a lot of experience and is able to guide them. This is what I like the most about the school, that the principal is involved and is constantly walking around the classrooms, knows whats going on, and is a true educator not only a business woman like in many other schools. I would really recommend this school.

Aventura Montessori School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
My child is so excited to learn ever since we enrolled at the school. The school is much bigger once you go inside than it looks on the outside. Management is really organized and they make you feel comfortable and there is a good group of teachers. After worrying about where to put my child, I feel very relieved to have found this school.


Aventura Montessori School 1

Posted December 28, 2011
- a parent
I don't understand how this school has got 5 stars from some people, obviously it must be from the owner and her employees. They always have vacancies, that should tell you something, no one that cares about their child should send their kids there. They are way behind on academics compared to other montessori schools, not to mention that they hardly ever smile DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE

Aventura Montessori School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
After visiting many schools I decided on this one. Even though other schools may be more aesthetically appealing, the warm and positive vibes you receive upon walking through this school are unmatched. The children are happily and productively working away (an amazing thing to see), the noise level is low, the facility is clean, and organization is excellent. Every classroom was running so beautifully and the teachers looked efficient. Highly recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aventura Montessori School
123 S.E. 1st Avenue, Hallandale, FL  33009
(954) 456-5609
Last modified Aventura Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Aventura Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top