Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kids R Kids-Southshore 1

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
The staff is very unfriendly. It is apparent that this comes from the owners who are very rude and condescending. It affects the environment, and I almost hated to leave my child there.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely LOVE their VPK program. Teachers are amazing, curriculum is amazing, facilities are amazing and my daughter had such a good experience that she wants to take her teachers with her to kindergarten!


Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
My experience here was awesome! The school is clean, organized and the teachers are amazing. My daughter had Miss Michelle and Miss Stephanie and she loved them. She learned allot and had fun! I highly recommend.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I was truly not sure how this school was going to be but to my surprise it was impressed not so much the school it self but the teachers. Really liked them. The only complain I have is the staff that actually works in the front - very rude, unfriendly, starting with the owners. I think they really need to shake it up and get new people - very lame. If it was up to me i might have kept my children longer but because of the staff it just made my decision a lot easier. I remember one time there was lice in my childs classroom and the teacher said am sorry I couldnt tell you, they dont allow us to-they just ask you take all of your childs stuff home. (still not saying why?) I feel when it comes to your child health & safety the staff - directors & owners need to be more proactive sooner rather than later.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 1

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
I had nothing but problems with this school. I was very unhappy about my childs important information just laying around all over there front desk. Call me old fashioned but I like to keep my childs full name, address, ssn, and all of my information private from anyone just coming in and taking it. I loved the idea of a locked door but while picking up my daughter one day they let in 5 people or so that they didn't even know so anyone could come in. In my opinon if I was an unactive parent they would of been happy but since I ask tons of questions and durning pick up try to read papers they post up they get mad. I was told to get out of the room they were ready to go home when I was trying to read what they were planning on teaching so I can ask my daughter about her day and what she did. Overall I was unhappy with the school, staff, safety, and education she received. Hopefully I will have better luck with her Kindergarden teachers.


Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
I love love love this school. I have two daughters that have both been through the preschool and VPK programs. They are always happy to go there and never want leave when I go to pick them up. My oldest is excelling in elementary school and my youngest is already reading sight words, and it's only halfway through the vpk year! I recommend this school to anyone looking for a great start for their kids.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
Both of my daughters attended KRK Southshore. My oldest transferred there from another local daycare when she was three and my youngest attended from the age of 3 mos - 4 years (we moved away over the summer or she would still be there) . We couldn't have been happier with the facility, the teachers and the owners. One particular advantage is that the owners are on-site and accessible daily. They are extremely responsive and always concerned with the safety and well being of the kids. I appreciated the focus on providing healthy, whole food meals, lots of outside activities and providing a fun learning environment. My daughter went to kindergarten already knowing how to read. The teachers are engaged and capable and also very responsive. I have recommended KRK-Southshore to everyone looking for a daycare in the area. Great place.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 children who are (have) attended KRK-Southshore we started there when my daughter was 18 months (2007) and my son began attending at 12 weeks of age (2008). We have always felt the school provides a safe, loving, nurturing, and educational environment. The teachers and staff are always friendly and willing to give their time to the students and to the parents. Most teachers have been there for several years and there have been several teachers whom have taught both my daughter and son. Any concerns I have ever had, I have spoken directly to the director &/or owners and the issues were resolved and always kept an open dialogue with me regarding my concerns. My daughter graduated from the VPK program and I feel the firm educational foundation she received has assisted her in excelling in Kindergarten & 1st grade. My son is current in the VPF program, and again I still feel very confident in the skills/knowledge he is learning will assist him in his further education. I have recommended KRK-Southshore to friends and family and will continue to do so for many years to come.


Kids R Kids-Southshore 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
I am very disappointed in what this daycare and school had to offer for my kids. My son would be dropped off for 3 hours, and when picking him up his diaper was never changed, and would sit in his dirty diapers long enough to leave severe rashes. I then started writing my initials on the inside strap of the diaper, and when picking up it would still be the same diaper. I stressed my concerns to his daycare teacher but she said that he must be using the bathroom right at pick up time. My daughter was in the vpk program and she hated the school and teachers. One parent complained about drop off and pick up and the children running into the road. I was glad they put in a sign in and out computer. I felt the education my daughter was receiving was below average. My wife had to work with her, until we decided that this was not the proper place to have our children both for safety and educational concerns. Even after stressing all of my concerns, I had to put in a two week notice and pay another two weeks even though I pulled them out.

Kids R Kids-Southshore 5

Posted December 28, 2012
- a parent
I enrolled my first child at Kids R Kids the very first day they opened! Since then two of my children have graduated from the VPK program and my youngest will be graduating from that same program this year! I am probably their biggest cheerleader in this community! For more than 6 years, i've only had extremely positive experiences with the Kids R Kids- South Shore. The owners, Carrie and Kevin Elwell are fabulous. The front desk staff is consistently happy and ALL of the teachers are always so warm and friendly. Even teachers that we have never had- they all acknowledge my girls when we walk in and are happy to see them. My oldest girls are now in 3rd and 4th grade. Both are in the gifted programs in their elementary school and there is no doubt in my mind that the nurturing and education they received at Kids R Kids early on, played a very important role! I have sent many friends and family to KRK over the years and all of them have had the same experiences! Its great to have a place like this in our community that is so instrumental into developing the futures of our "little people" and caring so much about them at the same time! Thanks KRK-

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kids R Kids-Southshore
13151 Kings Lake Dr, Gibsonton, FL  33534
(813) 672-0400
Last modified Kids R Kids-Southshore is a Private school that serves grade PK
Kids R Kids-Southshore Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top