Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
84 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bnai Israel Day School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
There should be a button for all! Mrs. Debby though has really been a wonderful leader for the day school. She has really pushed to get a lot of safety measures put into the school. (key cards, fire drills, lock down drills, etc.). Debby has always been available to speak with, and has even initiated several conversations in regards to my children. She really listens to her staff, and wants the best for everyone.

Bnai Israel Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
I feel that every teacher has something to offer your child. The staff at Bnai are very well trained, and attend conferences quite frequently. They always have fun creative ideas. I had looked into other schools when we were thinking of moving to another area in town. When I asked what a typical day would be like, there was consistently a lot of "free time" where there would be movies etc. The teachers here have a thoughtfully planned out lesson plan for the entire day ( which I am sure that with two year olds, some of those plans probably morph through the day).


Bnai Israel Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
Just right, it gives the idea of homework, and helps let the parent know which letter of the week their child is working on. (homework is only in the pre-k, and it is optional)

Bnai Israel Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are always very supportive and take on a nurturing protectiveness of each child. They really get almost as excited as you do when they take their first steps, or when they use the potty. This positive reinforcement really helps motivate the kids to do their best.

Bnai Israel Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
Mitzvah projects are done very often, which help teach the children to think of others. Such as: Sending birthday cards and calling elderly people on their birthday, Collecting used clothing and baby supplies for the MIST program, Cooking dinner for the homeless, etc.


Bnai Israel Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
During the Shabbat services on Fridays, each class has a mini mensch. (essentially a citizen of the week). This child is chosen by different methods, but for example, in my daughters class they have puff balls that they earn for good deeds, leadership qualities, and positive behavior.

Bnai Israel Day School 5

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
We have had the pleasure of being a part of the B'nai family for six years now, and are looking forward to another four! Our four children, three of whom are still enrolled at B'nai have had truly wonderful experiences. We are not a jewish family, however we have always felt very welcomed to join in the festivities. A few of the traditions such as our friday night shabbat ( our family game night) will continue to be a mainstay in our home for the rest of our lives. The gardening, chickens & outdoor enrichment activities really fall in line with our desire to have active, environmentally aware children. Classroom activities are very age appropriate, and although they don't promise to have your child reading by the time they are graduating pre-k, the various classroom activities reinforce the letters, colors and numbers that they are teaching. My son, who is currently in Kindergarten was extremely well prepared for school both socially and academically. We have had the opportunity to interact with, or have as a teacher, most everyone in the school. They all have one common theme to their personality…..a love for children. I have not been an active member of the PTA, but there is a strong one at the school. Though I do not attend the meetings, the PTA members get information out to everyone whether via flyers or emails. The "community" at this school is amazing, and as you can see I have a hard time finding an end point to my review. There is just too much to list.

Bnai Israel Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are top-notch. This is our 4th year, and each teacher has been effective for the age group. In the early years (1-2), the focus is heavy on developing social skills and gross motor skills. In the later years (3-5) the focus seems to shift to more cognitive abilities and fine motor skills. The teachers have good temperaments and develop close relationships with the kids.


Bnai Israel Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
They don't really have homework until the Pre-K level. And even in Pre-K, it's one homework a week where they work on a letter - practicing to draw the letter in upper and lower case, and they draw things that start with that letter.

Bnai Israel Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
Kids are taught to respect each others feelings, personal space, and beliefs. I have witnessed very typical conflicts between kids (fighting over toys, sharing), and the teachers use that as a learning moment to talk it out with the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bnai Israel Day School
3830 NW 16th Blvd, Gainesville, FL  32605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (352) 376-1508
Last modified Bnai Israel Day School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top