Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
My child was not fully potty trained (just w/ #2) and was sent home with dry feces on the front and back. Instead of receiving an apology, I was told to stop sending my child to school in underwear and must wear pull-ups everyday. (So instead of promoting learning in that area, let's let the child regress.) There is some potential for this school; however, it needs a new director that acts more professional, is more organized, and is more educated in child care. The facility needs to change location and/or have a better security system. FYI, the school is not accredited by the American Montessori Society; it is a member of the Association Montessori International. Do more thorough research before making a final decision. Go between 9a-11a to see how things work there.

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started attending DMCDS in sept 2012, then she was 3 yrs old and today 2014 she's 5 and about to start kindergarten when she began she already knew her numbers and letters but attending Montessori they worked with her @ her pace. She also (at home) began writing her name and other words but at montesorri they helped improve her penmanship . My daughter really enjoyed her time at montesorri and as a mom seeing her learn at her pace and being around other children she is ready to take on her new journey kindergarten, thanks montesorri !
1 person found this helpful

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Our older son attended Dover Montessori last year and really enjoyed the school. The experience really prepared him well for Kindergarten and he still talks about his teachers and friends at Dover Montessori.

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2013
- a community member
We highly recommend Dover Montessori for its well-rounded approach to basic education. It s academic curriculum and social interactions could very well be a model for Delaware s public school system. Our two children never cease to amaze us when they come home and show us what they have learned all day long.

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
the real reason that she doesn t want parents showing up and checking in on your kid is because Peg is hardly ever there which I think Is straight B.S. she doesn t arrive to the school to almost 10:30am and she is always leaving out running errands when she is the only certified Montessori teacher there. She will have her poor employees act as her puppet and just say oh she is busy right now so she can never come to the phone, so please don t expect to talk to her when you call. If you do so happen to pop in and evaluate how the school is ran, you will be very disappointed in seeing that your child isn t learning anything and she spends about 5 min if that with each child on a activity which she basically tells them how to do it without giving your child enough time to figure it out on their own before she gets up to go to the next kid while the rest of the kids are just playing getting no type of attention
1 person found this helpful

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
The previous comment is totally wrong and misleading to viewers. I have been associated with Dover Montessori for 3 years as a parent. Ms. Peg has run a quality program for many years and she manages to offer a great summer camp with lots of fun activities such as swimming and gymnastics! In this economy many privite schools are striving to stay in businesss. "Hat's Off" to Ms. Peg and her staff for doing such a great job!! My son just loves Dover Montessori! He is currently enrolled in the summer camp and enjoys going to the different activities everyday. Check the school out for yourself! You will be glad you did!

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 1

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
1. Lot of TV - lots of Strain for lil eyes. 2. Teachers are unwelcoming in the morning except Ms Regina. There's a boy to welcome you when you open the door. 3. Anybody can get into the school, door is not secured, no security camera at all. 4. The air inside the school is too hot, Air-conditioning is not proper. 5. The school van is not safe. Check the tires. 6. Where is Ms Peg? She'll be in at 10:30. - A concerned Parent.
1 person found this helpful

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
I commend and highly recommend the Dover Montessori for its well-rounded approach to basic education. It's academic ciriculum and social interactions could very well be a model for Delaware's public school system. My two children never cease to amaze me as they come home and show me what they have learned all day long. Lastly I give credit to all the staff for its patience and commitment to our children."

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
Our sons have been at Dover Montessori for 2 years. They love going to school and enjoy learning in this safe and friendly environtment. My 4 year old loves his homework: writing and sounding out letters and words.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Montessori Country Day Academy
88 Carpenter Street, Dover, DE  19901
(302) 678-8394
Last modified Dover Montessori Country Day Academy is a Private school that serves grade PK
Dover Montessori Country Day Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top