Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
Our son started at the Co-op a year ago and we couldn't be happier with the experience he's had. The warm play-based environment is exactly what we were hoping for; we were nervous about our son starting in a new environment where he didn't know anyone but now he wakes up every morning and can't wait to go to school. There are so many great learning activities that include science, music and even furry friends from the Animal Embassy. Everyone from the administration down to the teachers and their assistants are not only top-notch educators but also friendly and loving towards the children. In addition the Co-op actively works to create a community that engages the parents and creates a true family experience. Overall we cannot recommend the Co-op highly enough and are incredibly happy our son's (and now our daughter's!) education is off to such a great start!

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a teacher
Westport Weston Coop Nursury School I have been a teacher at the COOP for over ten years and it is a magical place. The director and the teachers are committed and professional. The parents are very involved in our program. The children are the focus of the curriculum-child based. There are specials that address science,music, literacy and sign language. We are in the process of earning our accreditation as an outdoor classroom.


Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
The Co-op is a wonderful and engaging place for little ones to learn and grow. We couldn't be happier with how loving and creative the teachers are, how welcoming and involved the parents are, and how much our son loves going in the morning! We chose the Co-op primarily for its focus on child centered learning and incorporation of its natural setting into daily learning, but there are so many other things about the school that make it special. When we started in the 2s program, our son's teachers came to our house before school started to meet him on his own turf and get to know more about the life he's familiar with before entering theirs. It made the 1st day of school so much easier...for all of us! And we weren't required to potty train before we thought he was ready. That was important to us too. Finally, being asked to be engaged as a parent there has been a great experience. I know the school as intimately as he does and have made great friends in the process. We feel very lucky to be part of the Co-op family and couldn't imagine our second born going any place else!

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
Having just moved to the area and not knowing much about the different options of schools when I decided on the Co-op, I can now say that I feel like the luckiest person to have landed where we did. My two kids immediately felt completely at home and look forward to school every day. Kids are encouraged to be who they are-working at their own pace and finding their own interests. The teachers and staff are truly a wonderful group who have gone out of their way to meet the needs of my family and my kids on multiple occasions. My kids are thriving in their new life in CT and I credit the Co-op.

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
We could not be happier with the Co-op. We moved here from LA, where I spent 3 years before my daughter started school researching and touring preschools. Many cost 2-3x what the Co-op costs, with lengthy admissions procedures and stresses, and the Co-op blows them away in all respects. The Co-op is exactly right on in terms of the latest research in child development and I have never met a more dedicated teaching staff. The Co-op also has a great community of parents, which was what I was looking to in adjusting to life in a new town. The Co-op is the single best thing about our relocation and we are thrilled to have our daughter's education started off to such a great start.


Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
My two year old has been in the twos program for two months now. We are very lucky that we chose this school. He's normally extremely attached to me and has difficulty with separation, but he's having such a wonderful time at school that he is happy to be left there. The teachers are just fabulous. Truly loving, kind women. I can't say enough good things about the Co-op.

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a teacher
The Westport Weston Cooperative Nursery school is an amazing place. The outdoor environment is beautiful and has many areas to explore and observe. The school has a play based philosophy which encourages children to explore their interests through hands on activities. I would recommend anyone moving to the area come and see this terrific school.

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My three (very different!) children attended the Co-op and I attribute their love for learning to the AMAZING teachers and staff there. It's a school that emphasizes learning through play - both imaginative and structured. Children are encouraged to explore both indoors and out and their discoveries are always celebrated. From a mom's perspective, my closest friends today are the ones I met during my time at the school. I can't recommend the Co-op highly enough... it's such a special place; truly a home away from home.


Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
The Co-op is not only a great pre-school, it is a community. The teachers, parents, and administration work together through a common philosophy to provide an exceptional environment in which our children thrive. Children are encouraged to explore their world and identify learning opportunities through their play and interactions. A casual comment about a rainbow becomes a science lesson with prisms and learning sign-language for different colors. The teaching style prepares children for a lifetime of learning, both academically and socially.

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have found this school. Our 4 year old is really thriving - building his confidence, independence, and understanding of his world. Every day he says that he cannot wait to go to school, which is music to a parent's ears! The school is play-based and allows each child to grow, learn and explore at their own pace. The teachers are great and really care about each student. The director is incredibly passionate about what she does and always has an open door for parents. The school also has a wonderful community of parents, many of whom are very involved in the workings of the school - a true "cooperative."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery
10 Lyons Plains Road, Westport, CT  06880
(203) 227-9318
Last modified Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery is a Private school that serves grade PK
Westport Weston Co-Op Nursery Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top