Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
You won't find a higher quality, full day, early childhood program than CCDC. Children are taught through a wonderful, play based, curriculum. The teachers are highly educated and very caring. The director is actively involved in making sure the children, parents, and teachers all have a positive experience. My children were absolutely ready for kindergarten after CCDC.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a teacher
CCDC provides a play-based environment for early learning and development. There is an emphasis on hands-on, experiential learning -- giving children problems to solve rather than answers to remember. There is an organizational commitment to high quality and CCDC consistently scores at the highest level for accreditation standards, scoring 100% in the most recent renewal. Families consistently report high degrees of satisfaction while their children are enrolled and that they are well-prepared for kindergarten in area public and private schools.


Children's Community Development Center 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My kids were not prepared for kindergarten. They had no letter recognition. The school was a free for all, and my children hated the chaos. I wish my kids never went here. This school set them back years.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
CCDC has an amazing program for toddlers and preschoolers. From yoga, to animal embassy, to music, to the PE and Spanish instructors, the fun and learning is eclectic and age-appropriate. But it's really the staff that sets this place apart. They are caring, intelligent and committed to the vision espoused by the Director. The Director is an exemplary leader who cares deeply about every single child at the school.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
All 3 of our children attended CCDC over an 11 year period. This school, the director and the teachers all provided a most outstanding experience for our kids and family. Consistently, for more than an decade, this was a place where our kids played, learned and thrived in a safe and nurturing environment. We initially looked for a daycare - to our good fortune CCDC was and in many ways still is, a wonderfully positive part of our lives.


Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I have been a CCDC parent for the past five years. My daughter is currently in the 4's room. Every class she has been in has been a perfect fit. I am a teacher myself and am continuously impressed with the knowledge of both the staff and director. I really credit the school with my daughter's strong language and social skills.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I strongly recommend CCDC as an early - childhood care center from 0 - 3 years. From what I have seen, there has not been a lot of teacher turnover. There are several teachers who have had very long tenures at the school and have become great sources for advice on various behavioral and physical developmental issues. The director is very approachable, and she spends time to get to know all of the children at the school. The school encourages family participation The school does an excellent transition from childcare to preschool education/care in the 3 and 4 year old rooms. From what I hear, parents of older sibs tell me that their children transitioned well into Kindergarten from CCDC.

Children's Community Development Center 2

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Nice classrooms and play areas. Free play is a code word for custodial care. Director is very difficult. High Teacher turn over rate. Hard to get concerns concerning your child addressed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children's Community Development Center
90 Hillspoint Road, Westport, CT  06880
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (203) 226-8033
Last modified Children's Community Development Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top