Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Children's Community Development Center 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My kids were not prepared for kindergarten. They had no letter recognition. The school was a free for all, and my children hated the chaos. I wish my kids never went here. This school set them back years.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
CCDC has an amazing program for toddlers and preschoolers. From yoga, to animal embassy, to music, to the PE and Spanish instructors, the fun and learning is eclectic and age-appropriate. But it's really the staff that sets this place apart. They are caring, intelligent and committed to the vision espoused by the Director. The Director is an exemplary leader who cares deeply about every single child at the school.


Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
All 3 of our children attended CCDC over an 11 year period. This school, the director and the teachers all provided a most outstanding experience for our kids and family. Consistently, for more than an decade, this was a place where our kids played, learned and thrived in a safe and nurturing environment. We initially looked for a daycare - to our good fortune CCDC was and in many ways still is, a wonderfully positive part of our lives.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I have been a CCDC parent for the past five years. My daughter is currently in the 4's room. Every class she has been in has been a perfect fit. I am a teacher myself and am continuously impressed with the knowledge of both the staff and director. I really credit the school with my daughter's strong language and social skills.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I strongly recommend CCDC as an early - childhood care center from 0 - 3 years. From what I have seen, there has not been a lot of teacher turnover. There are several teachers who have had very long tenures at the school and have become great sources for advice on various behavioral and physical developmental issues. The director is very approachable, and she spends time to get to know all of the children at the school. The school encourages family participation The school does an excellent transition from childcare to preschool education/care in the 3 and 4 year old rooms. From what I hear, parents of older sibs tell me that their children transitioned well into Kindergarten from CCDC.


Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a teacher
CCDC is a wonderful place. Staff members care about their relationships with children and parents and work hard to address every concern. Compared to other similar programs CCDC has very low teacher turnover. Free play is an important part of a developmentally appropriate program, as is the curriculum that teachers work hard to plan and individualize to meet the needs of the children. The director is very involved, accesible, and cares deeply about he well being of the families in the program.

Children's Community Development Center 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a teacher
CCDC is consistently rated extremely highly in quality measures by families, staff and accreditation standards. Staff are highly qualified, responsive to parent concerns and turnover is minimal (less than 10 percent per year). Curriculum is creative and cognitively challenging and individualized.

Children's Community Development Center 2

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Nice classrooms and play areas. Free play is a code word for custodial care. Director is very difficult. High Teacher turn over rate. Hard to get concerns concerning your child addressed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children's Community Development Center
90 Hillspoint Road, Westport, CT  06880
(203) 226-8033
Last modified Children's Community Development Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Children's Community Development Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top