Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Building Blocks Learning Center

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wallingford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

We are interested in looking for a new daycare but we can never get through. How come they don't have a website?


Posted June 18, 2013

We had the same experience as some others. Teacher to student ratio was too high causing a sometimes chaotic environment in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

Building Blocks has been a blessing. When I was left to find care for my son after already being established at a home daycare, I had a hard time finding a place I would be happy with. In a panic, I stumbled on BBLC and met with the director, Denise.She is wonderful and by the way the kids interacted with her, I knew she was involved and cared for them. Although I am still new there, I am excited for my son to be attending. The teachers there have all been wonderful and caring and I am at ease that my son is well taken care of and will do well there. I highly recommend BBLC, it is a great place when your child needs to be away from you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

My husband and I love BBLC. All of the teachers and staff truly giveus a great feeling when leaving our son. He has been attending full time since August and we couldn't be happier with his development. He loves his teachers and friends and we trust all the BBLC Teachers and Staff. We love that the classrooms are neat and clean and full of energy. Highly recommend this learning center to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

We are so happy to have our children be part of the Building Blocks learning community. They have grown tremendously in the past year since they started socially, verbally and educationally. The staff members are caring and loving towards the children and understand the needs of children across the spectrum of ages that attend the school. The sense of achievement and pride is sensed as soon as you walk into the building with student work and a clean and neat classrooms. The outdoor play area allows for children to explore and learn in a safe and child friendly environment. I am happy to have made the choice for our children to learn and grow at Building Blocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Love building blocks - My sons attended for three years including private kindergarten. The staff is great and they take each child as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Building Blocks has been such an exceptional school. My daughter has been going since she was 3 months old. She is now 14 months and is doing great. I only have one complaint, they need their own website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I love Building Blocks. It is the best daycare in Wallingford and they care a lot about each and every child; from infant to kindergarten.


Posted October 21, 2008

Love, love, love Building Blocks. My son attended from infant to around 18 months and because we had to move we needed to change childcare facilities. I have been disappointed with the care he has now and it does not seem that anyone can live up to their standards. I would refer anyone to this childcare facility; they are personable and friendly to not only their children but the parents as well. They are consistent with everything that they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Building Blocks has been the greatest experience for my daughter. She has been there since she was a baby and now is entering her 2nd year of preschool. The teachers are outstanding, I couldn't imagine having her go to kindergarten anywhere else. They have exposed her to such a wide range of activities with field trips and visitors, and the classroom lessons are outstanding. how many 4 year olds can tell you about the mummies of Egypt and can recognize all her classmates names in writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

I am very happy with Building Blocks, my son loves it. I am comfortable with the staff and thir ability. I am also very impressed with the Director's involvement with each and every child. Everyone here is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 20%
White 30% 61%
Two or more races 20% 2%
Black 10% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

911 North Farms Road
Wallingford, CT 06492
Phone: (203) 269-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT