Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 2

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
My son has been with the school since he was three months. The care for the infants is was great in my experience as well as the toddler. However, my experience with the two's class has not been great. He has had various different teachers within a years time and he is not able to get the 1-2-1 attention he deserves. One of the teachers in the class is caring and the other had no patients with toddlers at all. The teachers and program directors compared his speech to other children and based on that reason alone are held him in the 2s class, even though he far exceeds the educational bar set. When I observed the class, he was being called on to help show other students their numbers, letters, colors and shapes (the same students his speech is being compared too). It is not a partnership between the parents, teacher and program director. Once they have something made up in their minds (good, bad or indifferent) you can't change their opinion and your child's progression will suffers for it. Infant care was great...however if you are looking for your child to learn and have 1-2-1 attention and individual development look elsewhere.

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 1

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
This is a review I should have posted long ago. Unless you have a stepford child...beware. I am the parent of an able bodied special needs child that was discriminated against and stored away in pack and play because the staff and Ellen didn't want to deal with him; all the while having to watch the other kids playing in the room. There were other kids that were labeled as "trouble" children there as well and personally watched my own child manhandled by a staff member. My son still has issues stemming from the isolation. Also be ready that if you decide sonshine is not for your child that Ellen will explain your departure to other parents by telling them that you were unable to pay the fees. Beyond the handful of good caring staff members I personally think this place should be shut down. It's because of those few staff that we didn't file a complaint with the state.


Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Both of my children have been going to Sonshine since they were infants. We looked at other, more expensive daycare facilities before deciding on Sonshine. Sure, they had all the bells and whistles but where were the teachers? All the children were sitting in various contraptions and not one of them were engaged. I knew Sonshine was the place for us when we walked in and saw infants being held and played with, toddlers being engaged in art projects, and pre-schoolers learning in their class. The children love their teachers because the teachers love them. We have an almost 2 year old and a 4 year old at Sonshine. Our toddler knows his abc's and can count to 10 - he's not even 2 yet! I'm constantly amazed by what our 4 year old is learning every day in preschool. We couldn't be happier - to us it's the quality of the care that matters and Sonshine has far exceeded our expectations.

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
I enrolled my first child at Sonshine at the age of 3 months old, in 2007. I enrolled my second child at Sonshine at the age of 3 months old, in 2010. I have been very happy with the various staff members who have cared for my children - they are a very caring, sweet bunch of people. Ellen, the director, has an open door policy and I have been able to speak with her at any given time whenever I had any questions or even favors to ask! She's great and very helpful and warm with the children. My daughter is graduationg their pre-school program this week and heading off to kindergarten - and thanks to the folks at Sonshine, she has been ready for kindergarten for almost a year now! I have no doubt that my son, who is now 2y3m old, will be at Sonshine through pre-school. I can't say enough great things about this facility and the people that work there.

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 1

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
Except for the 4 s room, none of the teachers are real teachers. Given their recent rate increase to $303 a week, which is more expensive than the far-superior (and credentialed) All Saints school, you d probably be better off spending your money elsewhere. The director even compared our child s energy to a former student who eventually went to Special Ed. We ve found that parents comments aren t really welcome in any real way. They hide behind language to explain certain issues that have come to our attention, and if your child has been pigeonholed by them as being difficult, then don t ever expect them to apologize or even really empathize with you if your child gets hurt in a way that bothers you. Your child will always be at fault.


Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a community member
Ms. Ellen is the most FAIR and CARING person you could ever deal with. The staff truly love and care about all of the children in the center, and I think the environment is wonderful!!!!

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I agree, teachers never stay long enough, parents are pushed away from being involved. This place could have potential but I am sure all of this money is going to the church.

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center 0
no rating

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
In 2007 my daughter started at Sonshine and due to financial matter, we were there until recently. Not that financial matters change, it is just that we got tired of not having a say in how our daughter was being cared for and the lack of care from the director Ms. Ellen. This daycare is not recommended at all. Pay the extra money, go somewhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center
718 West Avenue, Norwalk, CT  06850
(203) 831-8349
Last modified Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Sonshine Christian Chldrn Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top