Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
120 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
This is the finest preschool/childcare facility we have every seen. My child comes home happy. The staff is great. They survey all parents every year and get glowing recommendations.

Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Jennifer was fantastic. It is a shame the directive staff is ruining her reputation


Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld 1

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I informed the school that my son's name had been called off a wait list at another school and we were THINKING of sending him. I wanted to know if we could get out money back. I wrote them a check that paid for Sept-Jan. I asked Susan Hamilton, the director, what the policy was for refunds and she told me that I would have to speak with Mary Arnold, the owner/executive director. NEVER heard from her. On Oct 8, 2015 I dropped my son off and when I returned I was told by his teacher that Mary and Susan were looking for me. When I walked into the lobby with all THREE of my children, Mary was standing in her office and came to the door holding an envelope. As I approached her she proceeded to fling the envelope at me. Her exact words were "I do not want anyone here that does not want to be here". I was in shock. I never once said that I was not happy at the school. I asked why she was saying that to me, her response was she could not believe that I was taking my son out of program in Oct to jockey him to another program. I told her that she did not have the right to criticize my parenting. I was making a decision to do what I felt was best for MY child. the amount of the check was only for Nov-Jan which meant she was keeping all of Oct. I asked her why Oct was not prorated? I was told that she would not do that for me. One of her reasons was because she had never met another parent who would pull their child from a school in Oct and because of that I was not worthy of getting all my money back. She also said that it would be too difficult for her to go back and count the days and she would not do that for someone like me. I asked Mary to please show me the policy regarding refunds. Her response was I could take her court, but I would never win. She said that she has the right to keep whatever she wants and it is not her policy to give any refunds. As if that was not enough, I was berated even further when she told me that she went around and asked the other mom's in my son's class about what I was doing and they all felt the same way which is that I am a horrible mom. A true mother, never mind someone that considers herself a child care professional, would ever speak to another mother the way she did to me.

Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a teacher
Bright beginnings is a wonderful place for your child to learn and grow. All the teachers there are very dedicated and love each and every child. I have been a teacher at bright beginnings for 9 yearsand work with the 3 year olds and the kotg program.When I first started looking for preschools to work at I had first went to another preschool in new fairfield and didnt like the environment and the staff wasnt very friendly. Then I went to bright beginnings and Mrs. Susan was very nice and welcoming. I love working with the children and the staff there. I would definitely recommend bright beginnings to anybody!

Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a teacher
New Fairfield Bright Beginnings is a caring loving school with wonderful teachers. Parents feel confident that their children will receive loving care. The preschool curriculum challenges the children and makes learning fun. Your children will have a wonderful experience at Bright Beginnings.


Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
My youngest attended Bright Beginnings for 2 years....The teachers were really nice, and warm and loving, but educationally, it was just OK, not great...Their pricing is higher than most, and their half day Kindergarten progam was just about the same price as their full day program, which was disappointing....

Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld 5

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has been in this school for 2 years now the curriculum is amazing and the teachers are terrific. I did a lot of research before sending my daughter to preschool and by far Bright Beginnings surpassed all of the other choices.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld
74 Connecticut 37, New Fairfield, CT  06812
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (203) 746-5994
Last modified Bright Beginning Dc-New Ffld is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top