Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
As a Montessori alum myself, I am a huge advocate of the philosophies and methodologies inherent in the Montessori curriculum. I know first-hand the benefits of teaching children to think creatively and independently. Our children were enrolled in another Montessori program when they turned 2.5 and 3, respectively. They absolutely thrived. We transferred to Town & Country in September 2012, as the school's calendar maps to that of the public school. It has been a tremendous experience on all fronts. It wasn't until our initial conference that we realized the extent to which the teachers truly understood our child. Their in-depth assessment of his strengths, weaknesses, personality, social nature, hot buttons, etc. allowed them to customize his days to ensure he's challenged intellectually, yet nurtured. At 4.5, he reads better than most 7-year-olds, he has cultivated great social skills, his confidence in approaching new tasks has only increased, and best of all, he's eager to go to school every day. Communication with school leaders is easy and approachable (email, phone, or in-person) and the parent community is welcoming and friendly. It has fully exceeded all our expectations!

Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
This morning, my fourth and last child went off to "Extended Day" at Town & Country Montessori School. "Extended Day" is this Montessori school's Kindergarten class for 5 year olds. As my daughter literally bounced inside, proud to become a "big girl", I realized that each of my 4 kids had blossomed in Extended Day. Even though all of them are very different, each found the most comfortable way to learn and grow, become independent, develop character and prepare for 1st grade in our local school. At every step of their 3 year journey (ages 3-5) at Town & Country, they were each guided by knowledgeable and kind Montessori teachers, and surrounded by curious and sweet fellow "friends" (as they are called in the classroom). This is truly an astounding school. It gently develops the brain, the heart and even the soul of these little children, guided by the teachings of Maria Montessori. And it produces simply beautiful little people. At the end of the day, my little could not wait to start another day.


Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
My daughter in in her second year at T&C. We could not me more pleased!! We chose T &C over 7 other pre-schools in the Wilton and Westport area. The decision wasn't even close. T & C is a small, close-knit school with teachers that could not care more about the students. I cannot get over how much my daughter has learned in such a short time there. She adores her teachers and friends. If you really value education and your goal is to foster a love of learning for your child, this is the school for you! Town and Country is not to be missed...a hidden gem in Wilton...the quintessential pre-school!

Town & Country Montessori School 1

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
We were not happy with this school. The teachers do not seem caring - not to the kids and not to the parents. I did not feel comfortable to ask questions even though I got some negative feedback about my 3 year old and would have liked more insight and explanation. The other children could be quite mean and I don't think enough is done to protect more introverted children.

Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
Our child is in their second year at the school and we have been extremely happy with the experience. The teachers guide and support the students and parents wholeheartedly. Materials used and projects presented are all in the name of nurturing each individual child. The classroom, airy and bright, hums with activity and joy. Students are happy and engaged. Montessori is a great philosophy and Town & Country brings the theory into practice!


Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
We started at another school that really felt like a daycare. We have been so pleasantly surprised with the way our child has responded to the teaching methods here. The school has a real sense of community and the children learn independence and a pride in their accomplishments. The younger children are mentored by the older kids which is an amazing learning experience in itself. Parents are very involved with the process we have enjoyed it very much.

Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
We moved to CT from NYC last August and immediately began searching for a pre-school for our daughter. We visited all of the schools in the area and ultimately chose T&C Montessori in large part because of the beautiful, light filled classroom, and the peaceful environment that we observed. We completed our fist year and couldnt be happier with our choice. We only learned after enrolling that T&C is the only school in the area where all of the teachers are accredited. In additon, their dedication to the students surpasses anything we've seen in other school weve been involved. Fantastic school. Cant recommend it highly enough.

Town & Country Montessori School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
We moved out of the City two years ago and looked at all of the schools in the Wilton area. The light and scale of the T& C space is perfect, even on a rainy or wintry day, for learning. I have found the teachers really get to each child. We are keeping our daughter there a third year, her Kindergarten year, to benefit from the smaller class size and T&C's curriculum - it includes 3-Dimensional projects that are so critical to mind development in early education. I couldn't find this in the other area pre-schools or the public Kindergarten.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Town & Country Montessori School
Po Box 127, Georgetown, CT  06829
(203) 834-1195
Last modified Town & Country Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Town & Country Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top