Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Town & Country Montessori School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2012

As a Montessori alum myself, I am a huge advocate of the philosophies and methodologies inherent in the Montessori curriculum. I know first-hand the benefits of teaching children to think creatively and independently. Our children were enrolled in another Montessori program when they turned 2.5 and 3, respectively. They absolutely thrived. We transferred to Town & Country in September 2012, as the school's calendar maps to that of the public school. It has been a tremendous experience on all fronts. It wasn't until our initial conference that we realized the extent to which the teachers truly understood our child. Their in-depth assessment of his strengths, weaknesses, personality, social nature, hot buttons, etc. allowed them to customize his days to ensure he's challenged intellectually, yet nurtured. At 4.5, he reads better than most 7-year-olds, he has cultivated great social skills, his confidence in approaching new tasks has only increased, and best of all, he's eager to go to school every day. Communication with school leaders is easy and approachable (email, phone, or in-person) and the parent community is welcoming and friendly. It has fully exceeded all our expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

This morning, my fourth and last child went off to "Extended Day" at Town & Country Montessori School. "Extended Day" is this Montessori school's Kindergarten class for 5 year olds. As my daughter literally bounced inside, proud to become a "big girl", I realized that each of my 4 kids had blossomed in Extended Day. Even though all of them are very different, each found the most comfortable way to learn and grow, become independent, develop character and prepare for 1st grade in our local school. At every step of their 3 year journey (ages 3-5) at Town & Country, they were each guided by knowledgeable and kind Montessori teachers, and surrounded by curious and sweet fellow "friends" (as they are called in the classroom). This is truly an astounding school. It gently develops the brain, the heart and even the soul of these little children, guided by the teachings of Maria Montessori. And it produces simply beautiful little people. At the end of the day, my little could not wait to start another day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

My daughter in in her second year at T&C. We could not me more pleased!! We chose T &C over 7 other pre-schools in the Wilton and Westport area. The decision wasn't even close. T & C is a small, close-knit school with teachers that could not care more about the students. I cannot get over how much my daughter has learned in such a short time there. She adores her teachers and friends. If you really value education and your goal is to foster a love of learning for your child, this is the school for you! Town and Country is not to be missed...a hidden gem in Wilton...the quintessential pre-school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

We were not happy with this school. The teachers do not seem caring - not to the kids and not to the parents. I did not feel comfortable to ask questions even though I got some negative feedback about my 3 year old and would have liked more insight and explanation. The other children could be quite mean and I don't think enough is done to protect more introverted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

Our child is in their second year at the school and we have been extremely happy with the experience. The teachers guide and support the students and parents wholeheartedly. Materials used and projects presented are all in the name of nurturing each individual child. The classroom, airy and bright, hums with activity and joy. Students are happy and engaged. Montessori is a great philosophy and Town & Country brings the theory into practice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

We started at another school that really felt like a daycare. We have been so pleasantly surprised with the way our child has responded to the teaching methods here. The school has a real sense of community and the children learn independence and a pride in their accomplishments. The younger children are mentored by the older kids which is an amazing learning experience in itself. Parents are very involved with the process we have enjoyed it very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

We moved to CT from NYC last August and immediately began searching for a pre-school for our daughter. We visited all of the schools in the area and ultimately chose T&C Montessori in large part because of the beautiful, light filled classroom, and the peaceful environment that we observed. We completed our fist year and couldnt be happier with our choice. We only learned after enrolling that T&C is the only school in the area where all of the teachers are accredited. In additon, their dedication to the students surpasses anything we've seen in other school weve been involved. Fantastic school. Cant recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

We moved out of the City two years ago and looked at all of the schools in the Wilton area. The light and scale of the T& C space is perfect, even on a rainy or wintry day, for learning. I have found the teachers really get to each child. We are keeping our daughter there a third year, her Kindergarten year, to benefit from the smaller class size and T&C's curriculum - it includes 3-Dimensional projects that are so critical to mind development in early education. I couldn't find this in the other area pre-schools or the public Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 61%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 127
Georgetown, CT 06829
Phone: (203) 834-1195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT