Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Hunt Ridge Montessori is a wonderful school. We relocated from NYC and can honestly say the level of education, development of my child, welcomed parent involvement and personal attention (especially by the director) are off the charts! I do wish the classes were a bit smaller, but my child still seems to be doing just fine.

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school with everyone on staff including the director being nurturing, warm, and completely in tune with all the children in the school. The fundamentals taught are life long. For those having negative remarks about this school, you are in for a HUGE disappointment when you go elsewhere, as you will not find a fraction of the personalized attention and communication at any other school.


Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. I have two children attending this school. The teachers are wonderful, patient and caring. The director welcomes parental involvement and has respect for the individual child and family. The school is a welcoming calming environment for children that fosters the love of learning. My children have thrived here. They have fun learning. I feel so blessed to have this school in our community.

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
The reviewer who claims of widespread lack of communication, including children not being allowed to speak to each other, must be talking about some other school. The other reviewer who complains about his/her child not being "celebrated" is complaining that Montessori does not engage in the pseudo-self-esteem racket that defines Progressive education. Hunt Ridge is an excellent school. I vetted several Montessori schools in the area and almost didn't make it to this one. However, it was hands down the most authentic of the schools I had seen. If you want to save your child's life, and incidentally, have a child who will love you for life, give them a Montessori education. Something that immediately struck me about Hunt Ridge was its headmaster/owner. This lady's demeanor suggested someone who runs a finishing school. Her speech, tone, body language and manner were precise, calm and benevolent and suggested someone who has spent a lifetime being concerned about such things. When I met her, that was it. This was the school for my daughter.

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
Everyone is entitled to his/her opinion, but stating that "the philosophy encourages the children not to speak to each other when doing work" is pointedly false. In fact, the philosophy is built around children collaborating and learning from each other. As for poor parent/teacher communication, the school invested in a website to facilitate the flow of information and has regular lectures on topics relevant to the environment in the classroom. They provide monthly lectures from a Montessori-trained child psychologist and ENCOURAGE parent involvement in the classroom. I am offended and shocked by any negative comments as the school is fiercely devoted to family and helping each other as well as those in the community. I have received personal phone calls and emails from the Director when my child has been sick or injured. I have also received hand-written letters to my child from the Director and teachers, as well as new baby gifts. Not only is the school committed to educational excellence, they are patently involved in the welfare of my child and our family as a whole.


Hunt Ridge Montessori School 1

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
There has been a great deal of parent dissatisfaction in recent months, resulting in a large decline in children attending. Unfortunately very poor communication has left many parents feeling in the dark and mislead . The Director is involved as another reviewer mentioned however there are some clear management issues and too many aggrieved parents. It has a questionable discipline policy and the philosophy encourages the children not to speak to each other when doing work (even 3 year olds who lack social skills). The school needs better management and to open the lines of communication with parents. The essential parent/school partnership is severely lacking. Parents are discouraged from walking their child to class. Agree with the other reviewer, this could be a more nurturing family environment.

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter just graudated and we could not be happier with her progress. The school is exceptional. It is obvious that the staff genuinely cares for each child. The blend of education and social learning results in a well rounded individual. I give the staff a lot of credit. For the most part, the parents are very supportive and really try to adopt the school's approach to learning. But typical of Fairfield County, there are those parents who feel the school should bend its approach to their wishes, and vociferously push their agenda. Overall, it was a very positive experience.

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted November 15, 2008
- a parent
Our experience was less than great with various problems with the teacher. Our child wasn't celebrated like we assumed he would be. Once we very nicely alerted the school we'd be attending another school next year, they gave up on us. They expect a lot out of these small children, and we thought it could be a critical environment, though we weren't comfortable viewing the classroom. Our new school is very warm and fuzzy, and pro-parent and child, not pro-teacher like Hunt Ridge. We would advise against, though the families that go there are lovely.


Hunt Ridge Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
We are delighted with Hunt Ridge and really can't say enough wonderful things about the teachers, the head of the school and the curriculum. My daughter's teacher knows her very well, and we have found everyone to be very warm and caring. My daughter is thriving there. The Montessori method is working really well for her, and we are thrilled with the confidence and love of learning that comes with it. The teachers really understand how to capture the wonder of childhood and translate that into exciting and fun learning in the classroom. Worth every penny of the tuition!

Hunt Ridge Montessori School 2

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
HR makes a great impression on parents who are excited about unique Montessouri methods and having their kids go to school 5 days. The staff is uneven and they've had difficulty retaining staff, despite some good teachers. Mixed ages is difficult for some, part. if they do not balance it properly within the 3 age groups and the sexes, as in our class. There is a BIG difference bt 3's and 5's. Our teacher was unprofessional. We had an aggression issue and despite my child's repeated complaints, we were told they had never seen anything. HR became increasingly unsupportive, as the episodes grew in number. When the gentlest of criticism is perceived, HR becomes defensive, tho many are not unfortunate enough to experience such difficulties. My child was taught to spell his name incorrectly by his teacher. French & piano are offered. Cool field trips.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hunt Ridge Montessori School
834 Brookside Drive, Fairfield, CT  06824
(203) 354-1159
Last modified Hunt Ridge Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Hunt Ridge Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top