Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gateway Montessori School

Preschool | 30 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Longmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2012

Gateway is the most amazing preschool and kindergarten. The teachers are so patient and the room is amazingly quiet with all the children working independently or getting a lesson from a teacher. the room is so neat and orderly because they all know to put away a work when they are finished, before getting a new one out. My oldest son went for 3 years and had such a great foundation for entering 1st grade at our neighborhood school. He was adding 4 digit numbers in Kindergarten and it has provided a great foundation for his math studies now. My daughter is currently in kindergarten and it is amazing to see her blossom. She is so confident in herself and enjoys telling us new facts about what she is learning. The class just finished studying Van Gogh and have now moved on to Henri Matisse and I am finding out facts that I never knew!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

My 3 year old son attends the preschool in the morning and I am truly impressed with what he has learned over the last 3 months. He enjoyed it so much that he would come back and showed us what he had learned in school. I definitely see the joy and enthusiasm in him after he attended this school. I attribute all that to the great environment and teachers in Gateway Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

Gateway Montessori is an amazing school with top-notch teachers who are nurturing and make the transition to starting school comforting. Our child who just turned four recognizes all of her letters and numbers and can write most of them. Our friend's child who also attended Gateway for preschool and kindergarten is far ahead of her classmates at an exclusive private Boulder school she now attends due to the education she received at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Both of my two boys have attended Gateway Montessori, with the younger one currently enrolled. Between the two kids, we have been enrolled in both the morning and afternoon preschool classes, and I love all of the teachers for both classes. The teachers are adored by the kids and they are always helpful and approachable for parents. The montessori classroom is amazing - whenever I visit during class times, I am amazed at how quiet and calm the atmosphere is, with 25 kids each working individually or in small groups on works of their choice. The kids learn the basic rules early: they take out one thing to work on, and put it back when they are finished; they are respectful of other students' work. The kids all work together or alongside each other with no conflicts, and they learn to put away each work when they are finished. I only wish things were so calm and organized in my home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

Gateway is awsome! The teachers, the director, and all of the parents/students make this school such a special place. We feel so lucky to send our children here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

Gateway is an amazing school which I often think is a hidden gem in Longmont.The staff and teachers are passionate about the Montessori method.My son is in his 2nd year of preschool at Gateway and we look forward to him completing his Kindergarten year there next year.My daughter Juliet will enroll next year for preschool.The tuition is also really affordable for the quality of schooling and the solid foundation children receive at Gateway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

This school is FANTASTIC!! I'm completely in love with the facilities and instructors. My daughter is thriving and becoming so confident in herself, the teachers understand how Montessori system works and direct her well, understanding her specific needs and abilities. The headmistress Linda is attentive and will meet with you and talk about any issues or questions at hand. WE LOVE GERTIE! The parents are all very involved and friendly, it's like a big family. I'm definitely sending my son here when he's old enough! FABULOUS FABULOUS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

My two children attended this school a couple of years ago (2004 throgh 2006). Overvall it was an enriching experience due to the nature of the Montessori Program, the added field trips and the staff. The school was a bit understaffed for my liking, as there wasn't enough assistance in the playground (single individual with no help if a child required a bathroom break or in the event of an emergency. Afternoon teacher was great, morning teacher was so-so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Gateway Montessori is a fantastic school. We looked at several Pre-school programs in Boulder County and finally found Gateway. We were concerned at first by the fact they rent space within a church that is not of our religion, but they are completely non-affiliated and the location keeps the overhead costs way down. My son attended four 3 hour days/week and we paid thousands less than other Montessori programs with fewer days. The teachers are amazing. My son's teacher has addressed every concern we've had and our son absolutely loves her. The teacher student ratio is roughly 1:5. Music is part of every day and Spanish is once/week. My son is excited to return for his second year in the fall. I suggest reading up on the Montessori curriculum because it may not be for every child, but if you're interested in a Montessori program I highly recommend Gateway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

My daughter attends the preschool here and is very happy. They encourage independent learning and slef confidence in the children. The teachers are dedicated and knowledgable. I find the school a rewarding experience as my daughter is so excited to go to school everyday!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 32%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 9th Avenue
Longmont, CO 80501
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 772-3864

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT