Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bright Horizons - West Longmont

Preschool

 
 

Living in Longmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2012

I am the director of this school, so my opinion is entirely biased, but I would like to take a moment to share why our school is so wonderful. I chose Bright Horizons at first because it was convenient. I was earning a Bachelor's degree in Human Development at the time and as I learned more about early childhood development, I came to understand just how amazing the curriculum and program that Bright Horizons supports is. The curriculum is intentional--meaning there is an educated reason behind every aspect of the program, from environment to lesson planning to assessments. So I chose to stay with Bright Horizons. This school is so wonderful because of the teachers. I have had the priviledge for 2 years now to work with some of the most passionate, dedicated teachers I have ever met. They are a source of constant inspiration to me--the way they truly love and respect each and every child that walks through the door, they way they tailor specific activities to challenge and encourage each child, and they way they support the families and become true partners with each parent. I feel very lucky and proud to be able to say that I am the Director of this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2012

My daughter started attending this center when she was 2.5. The classrooms are clean, colorful and have a home like feel, especially since they have you bring in a family picture. The teachers and staff are always friendly, engaging, and get to know each kid individually. The staff has been there for many years and you can tell the director really cares for their well being and makes continuing education possible. They are healthy lunch and snacks oriented and even involve the kids in special food making projects, always tying it into the curriculum of science, math, or reading. Convenient location as well. They also have extra activities available like dance and gymnastics, my daughter takes ballet and it is during the day, we do not have to rush around after work to get her somewhere. We are very happy to be attending this center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

Bright Horizons has a good selection of after school enrichment classes. My kids love the gymnastics and music classes. The whole facility is well maintained and is also just a nice, quiet environment to be in. We have a part time and somewhat variable schedule, and Bright Horizons has no problem with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Super clean, up to date facility, kids size appropriate rooms and bathroom and excellent teachers and staff!!!!! The teachers and staff are the best we've seen, with all my children, this center has staffed itself very well! They take the time to get to know your child and deal with their needs so that your child feels comfortable and this allows your child to learn and grow! We love the lessons that are given, my son comes home and he repeats everything he learns, from recycling to fireman and dinosaurs. The center is very hands on and the kids can play with age appropriate items, like glue and googlie eyes. My child has benefited from this center and I believe he will be ready for kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

Beautiful, clean facitlity with an amazing staff and well rounded curriculum. There are healthy lunch and snacks served. Staff has been there for many years and well educated and constantly continuing their education. There is a gym and a dance room. You do not have to attend the academic portion of the day to take Gymnastics, Dance, Piano or Amazing Athletes! They drop off and pick up from many local Elementary schools and offer full and part day options for PS and PK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

We disagree, our family has sent 4 children through this program and they have been nothing but accomodating and pleasant. This center is by far the best in Longmont and coming from the East Coast-they rank up there with the Elite Centers of New York. The teachers are highly educated, use critical thinking, problem solving and are able incorporate academics into their nurturing environments. I cannot image having my children anywhere else. The staff members at this center are just fabulous-good luck finding another center like this one. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

Negatives: *Poor Security *Absent Director *High Turnover for Decent Staff *Teachers Talking Instead of Attending Children *Apparent Nepotism and Cronyism in Hiring Practices *Critical Thinking Discouraged *Politically Correct Indocrination Encouraged *School Age Children Are Able to Get Away with Vulgarity - (Bad Influence) Positives: *Excellent Gymnastics Program (Thanks coach Kyle!) *Convenient Hours (6:30-6:30) *Convenient Location
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My children have attended this school for the past four years. The director Michelle, is a valuable resource and is always on-site and available. The teachers are well educated and are devoted to the development of their students. I would highly recommend this academically enriched program to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

My children have been in this school for the past three years. Programs have suffered, teacher turnover is high and corporate policy rules at the expense of our children. They have attempted to introduce academic programs in pre-k but execute them very randomly. The school has great diversity and an excellent facilty with a large gym, gymanastic equipment and playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

This school is packed full of enrichment. They are incredibly expensive and do not offer lunch. The teaching experience varies widely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

Marginally acceptable results. No real teaching method and poor commnication with parents. This is basically babysitting. On the upside, they seemt o have stopped inculding ramadanand kwanza in their christmas program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 40% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1011 Dry Creek Drive
Longmont, CO 80503
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 682-0102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT