Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Academy Of Colorado

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $211,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

MAC is an exceptional place to send your child everyday. The care given is truly second to none. The school's philosophy and values are evident in every classroom, teacher, and interaction with the administration. They take montessori child care extremely seriously and it shows. If you're lucky enough to get a spot here, take it and you will not regret it. It wasn't until I recently started exploring alternatives to MAC (we recently moved to the suburbs) that I realized just how incredible the program is there....nothing else compares!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I am so thankful that we found MAC for our son! The amazing teachers and staff create a Montessori experience which allows kids to flourish independently. Our son loves going to school and chatters happily each day about the work he does. Our lead teacher, Ms. Kay, celebrates the unique qualities about each child. I love observing the classroom and seeing the confident peaceful environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

Love this school - both our girls go to school here - when you have a concern or a suggestion you go to the Administration and they listen to you!! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

My daughter attended MAC for 2 years. We had a wildly inconsistent experience with the 2 classrooms (toddler and primary) in which she was a student. Our daughter at the time was in speech language therapy and needed some additional time/help transitioning from one activity to the next- some teachers handled this wonderfully, while other didn't have a clue how to help her, which seemed indicative of a lack of consistent training for staff.Communication around the child s progress has to be one of the school s biggest problems; in one class,we were told she was doing fine, in the next we got this vague worksheet didn't really give us a clear picture of what she'd actually learned/achieved during a 6 month period.Transitions from one grade to the next are not handled with the individual child's needs in mind- it's more of a numbers game for the school. There is a lot of staff turn around. It's a big school and it's easy for kids to get lost in the program. We moved on to a smaller program and my daughter flourished immediately- it was shocking how much better the new school was for her; it really drove home for our family how under-served her needs were at MAC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

My daughter has attended Montessori Academy of Colorado for about 3 years, first as a toddler and now as a pre-k student. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring and we feel like our daughter has benefited so much from her experience at MAC. In the fall, she will be in the first class of the newly-launched elementary program and we are thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

Our son has attended MAC for the last four plus years. We have watched him grow from a small infant into a young (and still somewhat small) man. MAC has provided him the environment to challenge himself both academically and socially. Our son has amazed us with his desire to always want to learn more. MAC has helped foster this. Our son is ready to move on to kindergarten next year at a new school and we know that with the foundation he has built at MAC, he will continue to achieve great things. I highly recommend MAC to anyone looking for a place for their kids to grow in a caring and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Our family loves this school! We needed to find a child care solution when our first child was born since my husband and I work full time. We toured 5 programs and knew that we found a special place right as soon as we entered MAC's doors. MAC offers a calm and nurturing environment. The education they provide is astounding. We had no idea how capable children truly are and MAC's curriculum builds a strong foundation so that even the littlest ones can express themselves and contribute. We have no guilt about working because MAC meets our children's needs in a safe and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

We enrolled our son at MAC after a negative experience at a daycare facility. We were extremely nervous to try a new location, but are so glad we did. MAC has been wonderful for our son. He has flourished in the Montessori environment and we have found an incredible group of teachers and staff. MAC is a completely different environment than a daycare. Their focus on each child's development is outstanding and my peace of mind dropping my child off there each day is immeasurable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

The Montessori Academy of Colorado (MAC) is a school I regularly recommend to other parents looking for high quality education/care for their children. Our son has been enrolled since he was seven months old, and has been a part of the infant and toddler programs. The teachers in both programs have been extraordinary. The Montessori philosophies of learning by doing, choice in activity, and blocks of uninterrupted work time were readily apparent in both classrooms--qualities we deeply admire and credit our son's teachers for facilitating. The level of communication between parents, teachers and administrators at MAC is perhaps the aspect we have appreciated the most. As a matter of policy, teachers send out in-depth weekly communications and the administration sends out a monthly bulletin. We often receive additional updates and are encouraged to provide feedback from the Director of MAC. We simply did not experience this level of dedication and excellence at our son's previous daycare. MAC also asks for parents' active engagement and participation in school activities, so this model may not be for everyone. It has been ideal for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

We could not be happier with the decision to send our son to Montessori Academy of Colorado ("MAC"). From his first months at MAC, our son showed his true love for the place. That should be no surprise. The staff is smart, well-trained, and committed. The building is bright and spacious and has outdoor facilities that are hard to beat. The parent-body is involved. The leadership is transparent and clearly committed to constant evaluation of the institutional practices at every level. MAC teaches self-sufficiency and personal responsibility at an early age, all the while providing an environment of support and safety. This institutional commitment to a Montessori curriculum leads to children who are clearly happy and engaged by their experience. MAC is a treasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

Our 2 1/2 year old daughter has been with MAC since she was 9 months old. I can see how the care and attention she receives is supporting her to be an independent and confident person. It is a real pleasure to be a part of this very unique and strong school! Great staff, great location and great administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

There is no better place in Denver for young children than MAC. I have worked at MAC since 2003 and I have had a child enrolled at MAC since 2008. I find myself deeply satisfied with my experience as a parent and as an administrator. This is a supportive and inclusive community. The parents, teachers, and administration all work together in order to meet the needs of the children in the most responsive and reciprocal way possible. MAC's building vibrates with positive energy. It is clear from the moment you walk in that this place is truly special.


Posted October 2, 2012

I chose this school for my two children because of the quality educational environment they provide to all age levels. As a parent of both an infant and a toddler, I have noticed how much of an impact the staff has had on the development of my children. The strong classroom teams as well as a fantastic music and art program are just a few of the many factors that not only influenced our decision to enroll in the first place, but will also keep us here until we move into an elementary program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

We recently relocated to Denver and completed a significant amount of research prior to deciding upon the right place for our 2-year old daughter. Ultimately, we enrolled her in MAC because of the high caliber of classroom staff, outstanding facilities, various enrichment programs, and the opportunity to have close relationships with the staff and administration. In our first 2 months at MAC, our daughter s teacher emailed or called nearly every day to give us an overview of how she was progressing as the new student in the classroom a gesture that put me at immediate ease and confirmed that MAC is an exceptional place (thank you Ms. Valene). When I drive away each morning off to work and leave my daughter at MAC there is nothing better than knowing that the entire staff there is going to encourage her, guide her, and love her. She s making incredible developmental and educational strides in her new environment and I couldn t be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

We chose this school because of the impressive infant care facilities but due to the wait list our daughter began in the toddler program. We have been impressed from the start with the toddler program and our daughter enjoys going to school. The school facilities are also larger than all the other schools/day cares we toured. The staff is fantastic and we feel a genuine collegial atmosphere in the school. The only drawback so far has been the turnover of some of the assistant teachers in our daughter's classroom -- although not uncommon in day cares and schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

MAC is an exceptional school! The programs and staff are wonderful. We've been at the school for 3 years now and had two children in the Nido (3 - 18 mos), Toddler (18 - 36 mos) and Primary (3-6 yrs) programs. The facility is far superior to another daycare facility we were first at for a year. MAC has separate sleeping rooms in the three Nido classrooms. The classrooms are filled with interesting "work" for the children to choose. The children attend Art and Music (in dedicated rooms). The Montessori-based curriculum and environment are an absolute bonus. Your children learn things far earlier than what we've seen with other friends' children that do not attend our school (e.g., drinking from an open cup at less than a year old, potty trained at early age, reading and writing). And there are no infant swings or bouncey chairs babysitting your baby. It's all about education and learning. It's truly a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This school is so good! We had our daughter at a regular daycare and I felt sick leaving her there every day. At MAC, I feel like she is getting the best possible care from the best possible people and I am so grateful for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

The care is inconsistent at this school, so even though there are some great teachers, some are so bad that it's hard to believe that they continue to be employed. The main problem is that it has a parent-run board of directors that operates more like the in-crowd clique in high school than a governing body overseeing the institution. If you're part of that crowd, your experience will be great. If not, it's a crap-shoot (for your kid).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

True Montessori in the classroom lies within the individual teacher. Most of MAC's lead teachers are true Montessorians. The school actually can serve up to 180 students, not just 80. Located downtown Denver, safe, nuturing environment for ages 6 weeks to 6 years old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

This is not a true montessori school. Its only in name. Do not waste your money. Its not a quality program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 20% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Curtis Street
Denver, CO 80205
Phone: (303) 623-2609

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT