Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jcc Early Childhood Center 4

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
We were looking for a nurturing, play-based school with a low student/teacher ratio for our child, and we have found that at the JCC. The teachers are experienced, supportive and creative. Whereas some programs have a 10-1 ratio for age 3 and up, our class at the JCC is at 7-1--an important difference because adult attention at this age is crucial. I would love to see more consistency in transitions--between regular day and extended day as well as between the regular year and the summer. I would also love for the classrooms to have more of a mix of ages and developmental stages so that the younger ones can learn from the older ones and the older ones can get the confidence of guiding younger peers. We weren't here for the turnover in adminstrative staff mentioned in some earlier reviews, but they are all new this year and seem very dedicated. Morgan, the director for curriculum development is fantastic, very attuned to kids' needs and very present in the classrooms to support teachers.

Jcc Early Childhood Center 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
I have two children in the JCC preschool. They both started when they were infants. We love the child centered curriculum, emphasis on the natural world and faith based values. The whole place has a real community feel!
4 people found this helpful


Jcc Early Childhood Center 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
I've been at the JCC for coming on four years now. I've tried other places like Temple Emanuel and private daycare, but I've been most impressed with the JCC. No matter where you go, I truly believe it all depends on the teacher you have. We've been extremely lucky to have amazing teachers! Each day my son walks into class there are amazing and fun things for him to do. It's always planned and always different. I'm in love with Dora, Haddas and Melissa. Thank you JCC.
4 people found this helpful

Jcc Early Childhood Center 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
We tried so hard to like the JCC. It was very, very convenient and we want a Jewish preschool. This place is a mess. If you expect your children to do well when they hit Kindergarten, this is not the school for you. They do not teach, they provide basic needs until you come back to get them. We moved our child to a new Jewish preschool and the difference is amazing.

Jcc Early Childhood Center 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
The JCC ECC is a fantastic school! It is going through some growing pains administratively, but the teachers are fantastic! The facilities are great and my daughter has learned so much at the JCC ECC. I would highly reccomend the JCC ECC to any one. They promote learning, indenpendence and confidence in the kids and have a great overall outlook on education. My daughter has been supported so well by her teachers and the staff. She is at the ECC 5 days a week and I feel confident she is in safe, competant hands.
4 people found this helpful


Jcc Early Childhood Center 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this school - obviously, like most - it has its challenges, but is always trying to fix and overcome. What I love most about the ECC is that my toddler is nurtured and encouraged in ways that I know she wouldn't get from just a daycare. The opportunities for her are limitless with all that the facility has to offer, from garden exploration to music and gym classes, and the community my family has gained. I am 100% comfortable leaving her for a whole day knowing that I am giving her the best experiences I can. And to top it all off, she gets to learn about her Jewish heritage through songs and art projects in ways that make our whole family beam with pride, like when she covers her eyes with me lighting the Shabbat candles and sings "Bim-bam" to me in the car. I am forever grateful to the JCC ECC, for providing her with these experiences that I know will shape her, and her Jewish life for years to come. In the end, I know that no matter what the school is going through, or what kind of snacks its offering, my child is in warm, nurturing hands, and is getting the best experience possible that a 2 year old could.
2 people found this helpful

Jcc Early Childhood Center 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of 3 children who have been blessed to begin the educational journey at the JCC, I cannot say enough good things about the school, the teachers, and the educational philosophy. We have been thrilled with all aspects of the school and found both the school and JCC administration to be engaged, approachable, and incredibly helpful during some difficult moments in the past. Furthermore, our older children have participated in nearly every camp program at the JCC (Shai, theater, Ranch) and I would highly recommend JCC camp programs. There has been dramatic improvement in camp Shai the past couple of years, and both Ranch Camp and the theater programs are amazing. Every school faces challenges, and we have been very pleased with the response to the turnover of the JCC ECC. We have full confidence in the school and we love the JCC. We look forward to another great year for our kids.
1 person found this helpful

Jcc Early Childhood Center 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
One Star: Sad place that had a lot of potential but can't keep their best staff who'd been so committed for years there. Director & Asst Director left within weeks of each other in April/May. Now it's August and JCC teachers continue to resign, the interim Director is temporary and the Asst Director is new. Natural snacks such as fresh fruits/vegetables are now replaced with Cheez Its crackers. JCC used to have a wonderful reputation with lengthy wait lists 10-15 years ago but as of the past 5 years, all signs point to something falling apart. If the teachers won't stay, why should families? BEST PROGRAMS: music department and swimming lessons. Noticeable recognition for the security guards and front desks who take safety seriously. Doors remain locked.


Jcc Early Childhood Center 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the other one star reviews. My daughters teachers try so hard but are always asking classroom parents to buy them supplies they need because the school doesn't buy the supplies they need for them. The school also asks parents to donate money but this school is not cheap, so where is all the tuition money going??? My daughter loves her teachers but there is just too much change in directors and financial trouble in the school and its overpriced for what your child gets. I keep getting the feeling that they need to do some rearrangement in management. The lady who is in charge of the camps and oversees the preschool doesn't seem to be doing a great job and it seems lots of teachers have complained about her. We do however love the swimming time the kids get as well as the fun Shabbat Sing on Fridays.

Jcc Early Childhood Center 1

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I really liked the teachers here but the administration was abysmal. I had terrible experiences the first year with one director. Then she left and there was no real leadership the following year. In addition, the first year, I signed up for their Parent Involvement Committee. During the very first meeting, I witnessed one member berate another member publicly. It was downhill from there. My child enjoyed the teachers, and the second year was not as bad as the first. Still, the leadership is lacking and the general feeling is that the higher ups simply don't care about much but the bottom dollar. I too have seen many good teachers leave this place. Also, academically, it is severely lacking. We are going to a different school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jcc Early Childhood Center
350 South Dahlia Street, Denver, CO  80246
(303) 316-6377
Last modified Jcc Early Childhood Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Jcc Early Childhood Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top