Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Make A Mess and Make Believe
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
My daughter showed me the truth of these deplorable practices and I am grateful to her and her alone.

Make A Mess and Make Believe
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
They do not practice what they preach in the least way. They are not supportive or kind and they are certainly not proponents of best practice.


Make A Mess and Make Believe
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
It shuts down ideas and thoughts of anyone who thinks differently, does not allow new ideas to take root and is generally dysfunctional in its pedagogy.

Make A Mess and Make Believe
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
This school allows bullying and exclusion of 5 year olds! The administration is not compassionate or understanding and it is not a safe place for children.

Make A Mess and Make Believe
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Thus school is merely a distraction from the fact that it is directly funding the Boulder JCC and only seeks one thing and that is money and lots of it. It does not care about student success or achievement nor does it care for children's well being and personal recognizance as evidenced by the fact that it promotes intolerance to anything that is not exactly what it believes in true. This school and the people who run it are fascists and it is certainly not a democratic environment.


Make A Mess and Make Believe
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
This school allows bullying and exclusion not to mention prejudice and an overall lack of responsibility and equality among its pupils and student teachers.

Make A Mess and Make Believe 1

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
This school has made a mess and made believe of the world of early childhood education. This is the prop school for Boulder Journey School and the fund the JCC.

Make A Mess and Make Believe 2

Posted July 18, 2010
- a teacher
This is a review for Boulder Journey School from a former teacher. As previously mentioned, the curriculum is child-driven; and when I started there, I was very excited about this idea. It sounds great in theory, but I found that it didn't work for most children. The complete lack of structure worked for a very small percentage of kids, but it usually just meant that the classrooms were chaotic. Some children did do well, but most just ran amok leaving little time to actually spend quality learning time with any of the children. I also found such a focus on the environment, that we would be washing dishes and organizing when we should have been working on engaging classroom activities. For the money, there are better schools; and as a parent now, I wouldn't consider sending my son there.


Make A Mess and Make Believe 5

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
We are new parents to the Boulder Journey School and couldn't be more pleased with our choice. The administrative staff and our daughter's teachers have been wonderful. Our daughter is a very free spirited child and we wanted an environment that she could explore and have fun with. At 3 we aren't really looking for a school to teach her Calculus so I would have to disagree with some of the other posts. The environment is creating and exploratory - teaching through play. The philosophy of the school (i.e., Reggio) pretty much sums up what you are going to get. I haven't had any problems with talking to teachers or administrators. Yes, some of the teachers are young, but they are full of energy and love of their job. Not bad things when you leave your child for a few hours a week. Expensive, but in line with similar programs.

Make A Mess and Make Believe 3

Posted March 14, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended this school from Pre-School to Pre-K. They said that forign language was taught, but it was the very, very baics of spanish. There approach was based on letting the kids pretty much decide what they wanted to do with there time. It sounded great and very loving. However, when my daughter went into Kindergarden, she had absolutely no idea about structure. It made the transition very hard for her. She had a very difficult time understanding why she couldn't paint when she wanted to paint. Other things that bothered me were the fact that they wouldn't wake a sleeping child. I agree that children need their sleep, however this made it very difficult to keep my daughter on a schedule. She'd be up until midnight because they let her sleep from 1:00 to 4:30. I just didn't feel there was much structure. The teachers were great though.

Nearby schools

Make A Mess and Make Believe
1919 Yarmouth Ave, Boulder, CO  80304
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (303) 443-8909
Last modified Make A Mess and Make Believe is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top