Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
My son has been attending BMS for almost 2 years now and we are extremely happy with the school and staff. The teachers are attentive, warm, friendly and conscious about the language they use with the children. Lunch is served buffet style and children are encouraged to use good table manners and serve themselves. The montessori method is child centered and the teachers at BMS support this philosophy by allowing children to learn and grow at their own individual pace. The school is ideal for working parents because of the extended hours offered ( 7:30-5:30) and summer schedule. The school also offers various events during the year where parents can mingle and get to know each other. All in all, this is an excellent school, my son is thriving and happy.

Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
We have had our older son graduate from Boulder Montessori and have our younger one just graduate from the toddler program which was fabulous to the pre-school. I love this school and are so happy to have found such a safe place for our kids. The teachers are loving, caring, and give such individual attention to each kids. We are always amazed how they can do that given the size of the classrooms. Our older kid learned so much while he was at Boulder Montessori, not just academics which of course he did, but learned how to make friends, how to resolve conflicts on the playground, how to behave in a group setting. Our expectation from the school was that he is ready for elementary school. He was more than ready both academically and socially. The toddler program where our younger kid spent almost 8 months before moving our to preschool was the best program in Boulder. The teachers worked with a lot of challenges that he had - he was born at 30 weeks, and they were so amazing. He is such a confident preschooler now. They worked with us and him on potty training, and also so many other things. I would highly recommend this school to any parent that has kids from 18 months - 5 years old.


Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
There has been no other decision that had caused us as much consternation as deciding with whom to entrust the safety, well-being, and nurturing of our 18 month old son. I cannot say enough GREAT things about BMS. The staff is knowledgeable, kind, caring and very educated. My child blossomed in ways I couldn't have dreamed! He has come so far in education and emotional learning and I wish he could stay there forever! Now that he has moved on from the AMAZING toddlers program into preschool, it is clear that there is a caliber of guidance, caring, and concern that has been consistent between each of his classes. I also feel completely assured that my son's food allergies are taken very seriously and treated with utmost care and compassion. A+ to BMS!

Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
Boulder Montessori School is an exceptional school. Our daughter was at Patience Montessori prior to transferring to BMS when she turned 2.5. There is a stark difference in regards to dedication to the Montessori teaching method, longevity and experience of the teaching staff, and overall management of the school at BMS vs Patience. In the few months our daughter has been at BMS we have seen such positive growth in her, she is truly thriving at the school and continues to tell us how much she enjoys going there. I would highly recommend this school!

Boulder Montessori School 1

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Very very disappointed in this school. My daughter is a outgoing engaging little girl - at this school, she climbed into a shell. She loved the hot food but the teachers were subpar. I would pick her up and teachers would be sitting in the corners "watching" kids rather than being full engaged. Also, the toys on the playground included old tin cans and broken toys. We pulled her out after two weeks, loosing several months tuition. We moved her to Sunflower Preschool down the street and her vibrancy bounced right back. I would not recommend this school to anyone!


Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't be more satisfied with our experience at BMS. My daughter started at BMS at 2.5 years and recently returned for her second preschool year. The classroom learning environment is engaging and warm. Her independence and curiosity are continually fostered by her kind and caring teachers. I highly recommend this preschool.

Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Boulder Montessori has been a truly amazing experience for both our daughter and us. She has been attending for nearly a year and half without one remotely negative incident. She started when she was 19 months in the toddler program, and there was an obvious, and fairly immediate, change in her behavior at drop off time compared to her old daycare. She went from crying about not wanting to go to daycare every morning at the old place to running to her teachers at Boulder Montessori. We were so relieved! During the time we ve had our daughter at Boulder Montessori, we ve been through some big life changes and the owners of the school have always been very understanding of our needs and really made an effort to help in any way they could. At this point, we ve decided that we will be supporting Boulder Montessori long after our daughter moves to another school. It is such a great place for our kid, and it has a long history of being a great place for kids. It may not be the biggest, fanciest school in Boulder, but that just makes you realize that everyone working there actually wants to work there and enjoys being a teacher there. We appreciate them all so much!

Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! There are few schools in Boulder where the teachers have taught there for as long as the teachers at this school. Many of the teachers have been there for 6-10 years, with some up to 20 years. The Montessori education is not for everyone, but for the children who thrive in this style of schooling will benefit from the teachers and staff who deeply care about your child. The learning environment is stimulating and clean, and the outside playground is spacious, with shade areas for kids who need a respite from the sun during the summer. The school was started by parents and teachers and remains a hallmark of what a good, solid preschool should be. When my child started there, she was coming from a different daycare in the area and was very quiet and scared because of her last daycare. Within weeks in the toddler room she became amazingly energetic and outgoing. She started speaking up for herself and absolutely LOVES going there. I highly recommend BMS!


Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My son is 4.5 and has been at Boulder Montessori School since he was 18 months old. He has thrived under the care of the wonderful teachers at BMS and with the Montessori principles. Our younger son will start at BMS when he reaches 18 months and we are thrilled to have him benefit from all things BMS. Some aspects of BMS which contribute to our satisfaction: 1) tenure of teachers - several teachers & administrators have been with BMS since founding in the 1970s. many others have been with the school for 10-20 years. 2) sense of community - BMS embraces its families as their own. 3) empowering children - Montessori gives children the power to thrive in independence. From serving their own food and clearing their own dishes, to finding a sense of order in how kid's structure their "work", our son finds extreme happiness in managing his own little world.

Boulder Montessori School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
I love this school! I have sent both of my sons there and the lessons (life and curriculum related) they have learned there have been OUTSTANDING. Not only do I have to drag my 4-year old off the playground every afternoon, he is READING and doing multiplication! There is a reason this school has been in the community for the past 30 years, they are hard-working, committed professionals dedicated to the success of our childrean. Highly recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Boulder Montessori School
3300 Redstone Road, Boulder, CO  80305
(303) 494-5814
Last modified Boulder Montessori School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Boulder Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top