Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blue Sky Kindergarten 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
We had such high hopes for this school and our son's experience there. It was his first time attending a preschool and after crying every day that he was left there, for 2 months, I started questioning why. I feel now that it is the lack of teacher guidance and interaction that leaves the children feeling neglected. The parents also feel excluded from the daily school life. There is very little communication to tell the parents what activities are being done and how their child is doing. I hated that there was never an art activity or any organized activity going on - children are expected to guide themselves, which left them everyday to the sandbox. That can only go so far. The lack of teacher supervision is also very concerning. People that are won over by wooden toys, natural setting and home made bread (like me) - be careful! I think this school can be quite detrimental to normal happy children.

Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have our daughter at Blue Sky. Beginning with our first visit to the school, we feel inspired, relaxed and confident in our school choice each and every time we visit the school, whether it's for morning drop-off or one of the thoughtfully planned, lovely class events. I've been an educator for over ten years and I have rarely encountered the kind of grace and wisdom embodied by all of the Blue Sky staff. Their gentle, kind and intentional ways are priceless, and we feel so fortunate to have our daughter in their care several mornings a week. The environment is beautiful and both the enormous care and effort of the staff are evident in the gardens, the materials, the rooms, the food and the playground equipment. Our daughter feels at home at school and it's obvious that each child feels a sense of belonging and comfort in this little treasure of a school. It's truly a joy-filled, serene little school and I wholeheartedly recommend it.


Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has attended Blue Sky for the past 2 years and we can only say positive things about our experience as a family! We were introduced to this school in their Morning Glory program on Friday mornings and then easily transitioned into the preschool the following year. When we first walked into Mindy's classroom, we were inspired as parents. All of the teachers are very loving, teach with intention, and are knowledgable early educators. When you are a part of this school, you are truly part of a loving community. My daughter comes home after a day at school happy as can be singing songs, doing finger plays, and telling happy stories. We highly recommend this beautiful neighborhood school!

Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
This school is a calming presence in a hurried world! Blue Sky Kindergarten has served children and their families in the community for over 20 years, and that says alot. My daughter thrived at BSK and so did my husband and I. We were looking for a child friendly, play oriented and imaginative environment which also provided parent education and we found it at Blue Sky. We loved the way in which its rich philosophy preserved and protected early childhood. There is an art in working with young children and it is found at BSK by providing an environment to gradually develop in such outstanding creative ways. Whether it be water color painting, puppetry, morning walks (in all kinds of weather) baking, or building (to name a few) all children are included and encouraged to explore and thrive! The seasoned teachers at BSK really are a voice for advocating the wonder of childhood and the inner life of the child. This jewel of a school in our community provides a solid foundation for future growth in taking on the more demanding school years down the road. Our family has benefited greatly from its example. We are grateful as parents for our childs long lasting experience at Blue Sky.

Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
The most beautiful expression of a waldorf preschool I have ever seen. Beautiful grounds, magical teachers, and stunning ceremonies.


Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
A GEM IN NORTH BOULDER! Blue Sky Kindergarten is an extraordinary school with Master Teachers, a well-established curriculum, and the most alive school community I've ever experienced. My daughter originally attended a highly recommended public pre-school but everyday when I picked her up she darted out of the classroom and always seems emotional and physically drained. I came to Blue Sky hoping to explore Waldorf education and the results for immediate. My daughter came alive! She feel in love with learning, the school, the teachers and the warm friendships they nurtured. The storytelling set the stage for reading comprehension, knitting built strong dexterity for writing and a foundation for math, play expanded her creative mind, and the daily hikes and outdoor activities instilled a sense of respect for nature. My daughter(s) would come home happy and calm. You, as a parent, will also be nurtured by the amazing talks they do monthly on child development. Now my oldest is in the primary years and is excelling across the board. I can't thank you enough Blue Sky for pulling our family out of the "RACE" and leading us down a richer, more authentic educational path.

Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a teacher
Blue Sky is a wonderful environment for children to learn, play, and grow!!! The teachers are amazing and dedicated to each, individual child. Working here is magical!

Blue Sky Kindergarten 1

Posted May 06, 2011
- a community member
This place is really weird. If you don't understand or adhere to the whole "waldorf" approach, (everything natural, no TV, no lunchboxes with logos) you are judged by the staff as a substandard parent. Keeping kids safe should be the biggest priority and it is not. No structure whatsoever, your kid will get bored.


Blue Sky Kindergarten 2

Posted March 20, 2007
- a parent
Poor quality of education and supervision. Money is the greatest motivation. Would not reccomend.

Blue Sky Kindergarten 5

Posted November 06, 2006
- a parent
Oh, how we miss Blue Sky! My older child attended for two years & how I wish we still lived there for my second child. Everything else pales in comparison to the rich, nurturing, vibrant & spectacular world that was created for our first child at BSK. Our whole family benefitted from the program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blue Sky Kindergarten
3046 11th Street, Boulder, CO  80304
(303) 443-4965
Last modified Blue Sky Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Blue Sky Kindergarten Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top