Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Sky Kindergarten

Preschool

 
 

Living in Boulder

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $530,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

We feel so lucky to have our daughter at Blue Sky. Beginning with our first visit to the school, we feel inspired, relaxed and confident in our school choice each and every time we visit the school, whether it's for morning drop-off or one of the thoughtfully planned, lovely class events. I've been an educator for over ten years and I have rarely encountered the kind of grace and wisdom embodied by all of the Blue Sky staff. Their gentle, kind and intentional ways are priceless, and we feel so fortunate to have our daughter in their care several mornings a week. The environment is beautiful and both the enormous care and effort of the staff are evident in the gardens, the materials, the rooms, the food and the playground equipment. Our daughter feels at home at school and it's obvious that each child feels a sense of belonging and comfort in this little treasure of a school. It's truly a joy-filled, serene little school and I wholeheartedly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

Our daughter has attended Blue Sky for the past 2 years and we can only say positive things about our experience as a family! We were introduced to this school in their Morning Glory program on Friday mornings and then easily transitioned into the preschool the following year. When we first walked into Mindy's classroom, we were inspired as parents. All of the teachers are very loving, teach with intention, and are knowledgable early educators. When you are a part of this school, you are truly part of a loving community. My daughter comes home after a day at school happy as can be singing songs, doing finger plays, and telling happy stories. We highly recommend this beautiful neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

This school is a calming presence in a hurried world! Blue Sky Kindergarten has served children and their families in the community for over 20 years, and that says alot. My daughter thrived at BSK and so did my husband and I. We were looking for a child friendly, play oriented and imaginative environment which also provided parent education and we found it at Blue Sky. We loved the way in which its rich philosophy preserved and protected early childhood. There is an art in working with young children and it is found at BSK by providing an environment to gradually develop in such outstanding creative ways. Whether it be water color painting, puppetry, morning walks (in all kinds of weather) baking, or building (to name a few) all children are included and encouraged to explore and thrive! The seasoned teachers at BSK really are a voice for advocating the wonder of childhood and the inner life of the child. This jewel of a school in our community provides a solid foundation for future growth in taking on the more demanding school years down the road. Our family has benefited greatly from its example. We are grateful as parents for our childs long lasting experience at Blue Sky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

The most beautiful expression of a waldorf preschool I have ever seen. Beautiful grounds, magical teachers, and stunning ceremonies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

A GEM IN NORTH BOULDER! Blue Sky Kindergarten is an extraordinary school with Master Teachers, a well-established curriculum, and the most alive school community I've ever experienced. My daughter originally attended a highly recommended public pre-school but everyday when I picked her up she darted out of the classroom and always seems emotional and physically drained. I came to Blue Sky hoping to explore Waldorf education and the results for immediate. My daughter came alive! She feel in love with learning, the school, the teachers and the warm friendships they nurtured. The storytelling set the stage for reading comprehension, knitting built strong dexterity for writing and a foundation for math, play expanded her creative mind, and the daily hikes and outdoor activities instilled a sense of respect for nature. My daughter(s) would come home happy and calm. You, as a parent, will also be nurtured by the amazing talks they do monthly on child development. Now my oldest is in the primary years and is excelling across the board. I can't thank you enough Blue Sky for pulling our family out of the "RACE" and leading us down a richer, more authentic educational path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Blue Sky is a wonderful environment for children to learn, play, and grow!!! The teachers are amazing and dedicated to each, individual child. Working here is magical!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2011

This place is really weird. If you don't understand or adhere to the whole "waldorf" approach, (everything natural, no TV, no lunchboxes with logos) you are judged by the staff as a substandard parent. Keeping kids safe should be the biggest priority and it is not. No structure whatsoever, your kid will get bored.


Posted March 20, 2007

Poor quality of education and supervision. Money is the greatest motivation. Would not reccomend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

Oh, how we miss Blue Sky! My older child attended for two years & how I wish we still lived there for my second child. Everything else pales in comparison to the rich, nurturing, vibrant & spectacular world that was created for our first child at BSK. Our whole family benefitted from the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

Blue Sky is an amazing pre-school which fully embraces the Wahldorf principles for pre-kindergarten children. We have spent three years at the school and have found it to be full of love and warmth for our children. The environment is safe and the nurturing of young children's creative minds is the focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

Blue Sky Kindergarten is an exceptional gateway for your child to enter the world of school and peer relationships. I am very impressed with the school and the principal and the overall mindfulness of the families that make up the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I think Blue Sky is a wonderful environment for kids and a great Waldorf school where children can explore thier environment using thier imaginations. This is an excellent example of what a Waldorf kindergarten should be like for the kids and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

The quality of the program is low. Children are not taught social discipline and logical consequences. Although the teachers are competent and friendly, they are lacking in direction and appropriate content.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 56%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 32%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3046 11th Street
Boulder, CO 80304
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 443-4965

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT