Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-K
Private
West Hollywood, CA
Students enrolled: 124
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fountain Day School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
I feel very lucky that our daughter (and son will..) attends this amazing school. I don't ever have to worry about her while she is here. I know she is learning, getting love, eating good food and learning to swim! I've referred several parents to this school and they have all been thrilled as well. FYI, I visited more preschools for my kids than MBA schools for myself. The teachers and administrators really love this school and it shows.

Fountain Day School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
We could not be happier with our choice of sending our children to FDS. It is one of the only schools in town with a dedicated year-round swim program for the children. There are lots of animals that the children learn to care for. There are ample play areas, a garden the children tend to and tons of outside activities that are brought in to the campus for the children to learn more about (pony rides, cultural dancers, puppet shows, fire engines, petting zoos, carnival days, a day at the farm, and much more). The school does not skimp! My son has had talented teachers who mix play with work. We wanted our son to have a strong educational foundation before entering kindergarten and we believe we are getting it. He knows his alphabet and the letter that many words start with. He has homework and is now learning to write. We feel very good that he will enter kindergarten and be able to hit the ground running. We have become close with our son's teachers and simply love the folks running the school -- Mary, Andrew, Dave and company. If you want a school that has it all, this is it, including lunch delivered each day by Whole Foods and a parking lot next to the school!


Fountain Day School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
We love this school -- and we especially love the Director. We pulled our son from another preschool where he was bullied by another student and then found ourselves without a preschool -- in Los Angeles. We visited FDS, met the Director, toured the school, and crossed our fingers. The Director could not have been more professional (about finding the right fit) or more compassionate. Our son went for a play-date at FDS and loved it. We enrolled but were nervous about the transition, especially in the middle of the year, but the school (everyone from the owners to the Director to the classroom teachers to the students themselves) were immediately welcoming and our son was so happy. He enjoyed the academics, the art, the music, the yoga, the food -- the environment. He similarly enjoyed the FDS summer camp. The Director was wonderful from the first day to the last -- and beyond. He even helped us sort out where we should go upon graduation! Our only complaints: We wish we started from day one at FDS. We wish FDS continued all the way through high school! And, we wish the Director was the director of our son's current school -- he's the best!

Fountain Day School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
I visited more preschools than I did for my own graduate education. And, we attended another good preschool prior to this, but it was good, not great like Fountain Day School. The school is a step above other preschools with love, a comprehensive curriculum, swimming, activities and food. We looked at a range of preschool types: Montessori, traditional, high-end, and we're just thrilled to be here.

Fountain Day School 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
This is a really great preschool. We have two children there. Most of the kids are in the three-year program for 2, 3, and 4-year olds. Classes are divided by age, each age has several sections, and each section has two teachers. The structure gradually changes as the kids mature. There are themed units and frequent school-wide events that tie each unit together: the animal month had an event with tropical birds, another with reptiles, and a third with a truck full of exhibits from an aquarium. The school has an extensive curriculum. It is a gentle and age-appropriate curriculum, but a world away from a preschool/daycare that is mostly free play. They play, but the kids are also learning a lot: swimming; art; substantive content about seasons, animals, countries, etc. A huge asset of the school is its Director, Mr. Andrew. Like the owners and the office staff, he knows every child at the school. He checks in with the parents often to make sure the families are happy. He makes himself constantly available to any parent who wants to talk to him (his desk is the first one you see when you walk in front door of the school). And he takes parent concerns very seriously.


Fountain Day School 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a teacher
I am Andrew Rakos the Admissions Director. I am truly saddened by the reviewers of this school who only gave it a one star. Most of their comments were personal attacks on me. I am sorry that there are only so many spaces available per year and we do not have enough room for all the families who apply. This site is for families who have their children enrolled. If you truly knew this school you would know how far we have come in over 50 years. Its the parents and families that come here that inspire us to be the best that we can be. I have two children of my own. At this time my three year old daughter goes to school here and I am very grateful for what the school has done for me and my family.

Fountain Day School 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
Those of you reading these reviews and thinking about applying to Fountain Day will notice that the negative reviewer giving the school a 1-star rating didn't actually send her child to school there. She was rating the tour and her interactions with Andrew. That's horribly unfair. She's wrong about Andrew and about the school. We sent one child to Fountain Day for 2 years and are sending our second child as well because we have experience with the staff and teachers and programs and we know there is no other school for us. It's a wonderful preschool from start to finish. Take advice from parents who know, not from someone with no experience expressing nothing more than an anonymous Web rant.

Fountain Day School 5

Posted March 15, 2012
- a community member
I have 3 adult sons.They went to school in Boston, Ma. One has a production company in Hollywood, one was scouted to play baseball professionally, the 3rd scored the highest on the military exam. When I first started to teach at The Fountain Day care I had my own Aquatics business I worked 14 years for The Greater Boston YMCA . At first I did not agree with Miss Mary's teaching. However I learned more in those 3 months than during the years working for the YMCA/ YWCA .At first I was nervous,I watched the children very closely .When classes began the children were at different levels I suggested to put the ones who were at a lower level together.I was told not to worry they have done it this way for many years I learned more about teaching children how to swim at Fountain Day School than at some of the largest facilities in California and Boston.I personally witness the teachers interacting with the students,How the students learned and how much they developed. I have no doubt that It is one of the best programs offered in the state of California.Being a part of one of the best school systems BOSTON,Ma. for 52 yrs.I recommend Fountain Day for all it's programs. Stop searching


Fountain Day School 5

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
Fountain Day School is the absolute best preschool in this city. We looked at over a dozen schools when we were applying and we liked Fountain Day immediately and we've only grown to love it more. The teachers are wonderful and do an amazing job of communicating with parents and fostering both academic and social skills in an incredibly loving way. The administrators know and genuinely care about every single child. Our daughter started when she was 2, and by the time she turned 3 she could swim totally on her own, even race, and she had grown leaps and bounds, both a social and academic level. Our child loves going to school everyday and our family couldn't be happier with this school. Our hope now is to find an elementary school we love as much as this one.

Fountain Day School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
Our child has attended Fountain Day School ever since he turned 2 years old. We LOVE this school and our son has grown leaps and bounds through their loving and wonderful care! Besides the amazing swim program they offer (they taught our son to swim immediately) the culture provided for learning is pretty great. Also, all of the staff (especially the teachers) are 99% just as wonderful as the founding family that owns the school and provide the most loving environment for our son. He has thrived at this school and we couldn't imagine a better atmosphere for him during these pre-school years!! No wonder this school has been there for over 50 years and we sincerely hope that it makes it another 50 years!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fountain Day School
1128 North Orange Grove Avenue, West Hollywood, CA  90046
(323) 654-8958
Last modified Fountain Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Fountain Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top