Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
80 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Our child is in kindergarten now and he is doing great - academically and socially. We toured 11 different preschools and this is THE BEST. We love the school's director, the school's core philosophy (Come from Kindness and Learn through Play") and the teachers the director hires. The school is physically updated and adorable, very safe, great location, with unique activities and events. The teachers are accessible (on a daily basis) to chat about anything -- not just during progressive meetings. Parents in our class were down to earth for that most part (it is still the westside). Mostly, my son was just happy and walked into school with a smile each day. It is a kind, warm, loving school where hugs and nurturing happen daily. As a first time mom, I felt happy to leave our son every day in their loving care. He is now thriving at a very traditional, academic preschool - the transition was seamless and quite successful. We are thrilled and highly recommend the school.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
10th Street Preschool has dramatically changed my life and the lives of my children for the better. The director, teachers and administrators are 100% committed to serving the children's best interests. My two children currently attend and they are thriving. My older child started the school with diagnosed special needs. The director and teachers provided phenomenal love and support to our entire family and I'm thrilled to say that my child no longer meets any special needs diagnostic criteria, he is thriving socially and he takes tremendous pride in being part of the 10th Street Community. I recommend 10th Street Preschool to any family who wants to provide their child(ren) with a solid foundation in the critical soft skills so needed in today's community: love, kindness, character, responsibility, self-care. 10th Street has an amazing director, phenomenal teachers and a tremendous parent community.


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
When we first walked into 10th Street Preschool, the vision and leadership of the school s director, Cindy Wasson, resonated with our values and sensibilities. She is an incredible advocate for the children and puts their needs above all else. Cindy is honest, straightforward and incredibly insightful, providing wise counsel and guidance to help navigate whatever challenges come up, for children and for parents. My son s experience has been magical. He is thriving and the school has delivered on its promise to come from kindness and learn through play. They have prepared him for kindergarten in all ways academically, socially, and emotionally. He loves learning and he loves his school. His teachers are outstanding. The teacher:student ration is usually :7 or 8. Every teacher and every administrator in the school know our son and treat him with kindness, warmth and care. They have all been wonderful partners with our family in helping raising him these past 3 years. If you are looking for a school that cultivates community, 10th Street delivers. 10th Street and its families have become integrally woven into the fabric of our lives.

10th Street Preschool 4

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
we love the pre K teacher and what her class has done to date, for our son ! We like the location, security, over all staff and all the activities the school has to offer, we wish they had a kindergarten class.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. There are so many enriching and fun activities woven into the curriculum. The children learn to work together and cooperate through play. My child has grown from a serious and shy toddler to a confident, inquisitive and joyful "big kid" because of this school. This is a preschool that is all about the child. The sweet bungalows and big house form a perfect magical environment for a child's first experience away from home. It feels like home but is a school. Above all, my child has run to and through the red door everyday for the past 3 and a half years because of the truly loving and nurturing environment the director and teachers have created there. At graduation, I don't who cried more-- the parents or the teachers. We always felt that our child was not just a student but truly respected as an individual and really loved there. Cindy, the director, is an expert on preschool education and parenting. She has helped us all as a family in so many ways. My child is so prepared for kindergarten. Thank you 10th Street! We will find it so very hard to leave!


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
We love 10th Street Preschool!! All the reviews above are absolutely true and right. We highly recommend it!

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
10th Street is a wonderful preschool. The teachers are amazingly caring and warm. The curriculum has a terrific blend of play, acaedemics and social learning. There is a lot of thought put into creating stimulating group activities and study themes, as well as careul attention to individual dynamics and developmental needs. The parent community is close-knit and engaged. Our family has friends from 10th Street I know we will have for a lifetime, and we will treasure the time our little ones are spending here.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
We just moved to the area last year and have found a wonderful community through 10th Street Preschool. Our son is thriving because of the many options 10th Street offers. He participates 2 days a week in the Purple Group which is 10th Street's Pre K program, he is learning and preparing for kindergarten. The teachers are exceptional, very caring and kind. 10th Street also offers wonderful extracurricular activities like Soccer, Handwriting and our favorite, Boys Club. Parents are always invited to volunteer and be a part of activities. We are very pleased with this school.


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a teacher
i have worked at many preschools and when i came to 10th Street I saw a commitment to being the child's advocate that exceed my expectations. We have grown over the years, not just in numbers but in understanding of families and people working in this field. It is harder than it looks, however the wards are endless.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
A jewel run by a real educator Cindy Wasson - we absolutely love 10th Street Preschool in Santa Monica. The school is run by director Cindy Wasson on the philosophy of learning through play. Cindy is an authority and really understands early childhood education well (most other preschools in comparison are run by business people). I also attend a parenting group that she directs and have learnt a lot from it (she is both knowledgeable & friendly). The teachers are great as well. We find our daughter not only learning but also wanting to go to school each day - what more can you expect from a school!

Nearby schools

10th Street Preschool
1444 10th Street, Santa Monica, CA  90401
(310) 458-4088
Last modified 10th Street Preschool is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top