Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
80 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


10th Street Preschool 4

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
from what we understood, relevant to other review, the owner talked about bullying in general, we continue to have our children there mostly because of the very educated remaining teachers there, the ones who left we understood were let go for inappropriate attire, not showing up for work without calling and unprofessionalism towards parents. its really a nice area, good security and fran;ly you get what you pay for, the owner just needs to be more careful in addressing people in the way she has. teachers are great.

10th Street Preschool 1

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
Reading about the sudden hike in tuition from another reviewer doesn't surprise me. While we were at the preschool we were told that it would be shut for 2 weeks refurbishment during normal school hours. It took a litigation lawyer parent to point out the fact this went against the basic contracts and they moved the refurb timing to the Spring break. We felt many times that the administration was leaning towards the dictatorial, inflexible and unreasonable and these two instances are concrete proof of that. Avoid at all costs. Ignore the fluffy, made up reviews.


10th Street Preschool 1

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
We researched many preschools on the Westside and while we read a few negative reviews about 10th Street & the director Cindy Wasson, this was overshadowed by our positive tour and the fact that the school was able to accommodate our child's mid-year enrollment. We met some wonderful parents and kids & loved our child's teachers, but about midway through the 2014/15 school year, things took a turn for the worse. In Jan, parents received notice that tuition prices were increasing from $11.5K to over $13K and Pre-K (required by the school for kids in their last yr of preschool) was increased to nearly $20K. Parents had 5 days to pay tuition in full or lose their spot and incur financial penalties. If a payment plan was selected, parents were charged add'l fees. The short notice and 5-day deadline to remit payment w/out penalty created a financial hardship for many families and put families who had been at the school for many years in a difficult position. Later in the year, director Cindy Wasson was overheard by parents, teachers, and students calling a child a bully as a result of an incident during play. When the parents of the child left the school and began pursuing legal action, the school asked teachers and parents who witnessed the situation to write a letter stating that Cindy did not call the child a bully. Teachers who refused to sign the letter were asked to leave. We dropped our child off one morning to find our child's favorite teacher was not there, would not be returning, and was not allowed to say goodbye to the kids. From March to June, 5 teachers either quit or were asked to leave. This year at least 12 families have left the school, 4 are in the process of pursuing legal action to recoup some of the tuition they paid for the 2015/16 year. Several families have been given partial refunds but only if they sign an NDA. Our child has been very distraught in the last few months, not wanting to go to school and wondering why friends and teachers are no longer there. We are very disappointed in the way the administration has handled everything from the tuition to the "bully" incident to teacher turn-over and communication with the parents. Needless to say, our child will not be returning to this school next year nor would we recommend this school to anyone.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Our child is in kindergarten now and he is doing great - academically and socially. We toured 11 different preschools and this is THE BEST. We love the school's director, the school's core philosophy (Come from Kindness and Learn through Play") and the teachers the director hires. The school is physically updated and adorable, very safe, great location, with unique activities and events. The teachers are accessible (on a daily basis) to chat about anything -- not just during progressive meetings. Parents in our class were down to earth for that most part (it is still the westside). Mostly, my son was just happy and walked into school with a smile each day. It is a kind, warm, loving school where hugs and nurturing happen daily. As a first time mom, I felt happy to leave our son every day in their loving care. He is now thriving at a very traditional, academic preschool - the transition was seamless and quite successful. We are thrilled and highly recommend the school.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
10th Street Preschool has dramatically changed my life and the lives of my children for the better. The director, teachers and administrators are 100% committed to serving the children's best interests. My two children currently attend and they are thriving. My older child started the school with diagnosed special needs. The director and teachers provided phenomenal love and support to our entire family and I'm thrilled to say that my child no longer meets any special needs diagnostic criteria, he is thriving socially and he takes tremendous pride in being part of the 10th Street Community. I recommend 10th Street Preschool to any family who wants to provide their child(ren) with a solid foundation in the critical soft skills so needed in today's community: love, kindness, character, responsibility, self-care. 10th Street has an amazing director, phenomenal teachers and a tremendous parent community.


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
When we first walked into 10th Street Preschool, the vision and leadership of the school s director, Cindy Wasson, resonated with our values and sensibilities. She is an incredible advocate for the children and puts their needs above all else. Cindy is honest, straightforward and incredibly insightful, providing wise counsel and guidance to help navigate whatever challenges come up, for children and for parents. My son s experience has been magical. He is thriving and the school has delivered on its promise to come from kindness and learn through play. They have prepared him for kindergarten in all ways academically, socially, and emotionally. He loves learning and he loves his school. His teachers are outstanding. The teacher:student ration is usually :7 or 8. Every teacher and every administrator in the school know our son and treat him with kindness, warmth and care. They have all been wonderful partners with our family in helping raising him these past 3 years. If you are looking for a school that cultivates community, 10th Street delivers. 10th Street and its families have become integrally woven into the fabric of our lives.

10th Street Preschool 4

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
we love the pre K teacher and what her class has done to date, for our son ! We like the location, security, over all staff and all the activities the school has to offer, we wish they had a kindergarten class.

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. There are so many enriching and fun activities woven into the curriculum. The children learn to work together and cooperate through play. My child has grown from a serious and shy toddler to a confident, inquisitive and joyful "big kid" because of this school. This is a preschool that is all about the child. The sweet bungalows and big house form a perfect magical environment for a child's first experience away from home. It feels like home but is a school. Above all, my child has run to and through the red door everyday for the past 3 and a half years because of the truly loving and nurturing environment the director and teachers have created there. At graduation, I don't who cried more-- the parents or the teachers. We always felt that our child was not just a student but truly respected as an individual and really loved there. Cindy, the director, is an expert on preschool education and parenting. She has helped us all as a family in so many ways. My child is so prepared for kindergarten. Thank you 10th Street! We will find it so very hard to leave!


10th Street Preschool 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
We love 10th Street Preschool!! All the reviews above are absolutely true and right. We highly recommend it!

10th Street Preschool 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
10th Street is a wonderful preschool. The teachers are amazingly caring and warm. The curriculum has a terrific blend of play, acaedemics and social learning. There is a lot of thought put into creating stimulating group activities and study themes, as well as careul attention to individual dynamics and developmental needs. The parent community is close-knit and engaged. Our family has friends from 10th Street I know we will have for a lifetime, and we will treasure the time our little ones are spending here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

10th Street Preschool
1444 10th Street, Santa Monica, CA  90401
(310) 458-4088
Last modified 10th Street Preschool is a Private school that serves grade PK
10th Street Preschool Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top