Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pioneer Montessori School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
They need to set an example for the children. They as teachers should welcome a challenge And as teachers they should show determination and persistence... Lead by example..

Pioneer Montessori School 2

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
When my child was there (a different location at that time), we were initially very happy., especially with some of the teachers. "Kate" stands out in my mind. I had twins there, and paid a LOT of money to have them in a private school. The school directer, "Chris" at the time was another story. Coward is the word I see best describes her. She asked my son to leave (he had ADD), but had the nerve to tell us our daughter was still welcome. I will never forgot how poorly she handled that situation. Needless to say, my kids went on to Saint Lawrence, and then high school at Archbishop Mitty, both graduating with honors. I wish they could see him now! Executive Chef, having graduated from one of the top Culinary Art Academies in the country. He's more and more becoming a a recognized name, has been interviewed by news stations and magazines, TV, and radio. This kid they didn't want was truly blessed by leaving Pioneer Montessori.


Pioneer Montessori School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
Pioneer Montessori is the second pre school my son has been in in the last 3 years. So, I have ample experience in two pre schools to compare and rate, Pioneer Montessori is a fantastic school. I'm quite shocked at some of the bad reviews it has received. But, looking carefully these are from parents who have taken a tour and do not have their kids enrolled in the school. Clearly its a case of judging the book by it's cover. The teachers are very experienced, caring and follow all safety guidelines. They have a perfect balance of group lessons and individual attention! Art and music is part of the curriculum unlike in the previous school. There are regular parent teacher meetings and they are very receptive to parent input regarding the child. I see professional cleaners everyday cleaning the facility when I pick up my son in the evening. The sleeping arrangements are very clean and tidy, yes, there is no shade in the playground! Honestly its a non issue. The school adheres to the Montessori method of teaching and my son is doing very well here. This school was recommended by parents of kids who graduated and are now in public schools, and I highly recommend this school as well.

Pioneer Montessori School 1

Posted February 25, 2012
- a parent
This is one of the schools my husband and I went to see for our then 3 year old. Not sure about the academic program but what really gave us a really bad first impression was how bad the carpet looked and then we were told that the kids sleep on the floor with a very thin mat. The first thing that came to mind is all the little crawlers we don't see with our nake eye. Secondly the unsafe playground. This school needs major updates.

Pioneer Montessori School 5

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
My daughter started Pioneer Montessori this June and it has been a wonderful learning environment so far. The teachers seem very caring. They provide guidance and structure to the kids. Kids can learn at their own pace and are allowed to do tons and tons of arts & crafts everyday. I have to agree that the school is not "physically" attractive or appealing and can use many updates; however, if you care about your child's learning then this school tops most schools in the area around Evergreen.


Pioneer Montessori School 1

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
Not sure what happened to this school. It seems to have gone really downhill. A friend said it was great a few years ago. We had a strange experience while visiting. We were asked to stay and watch the class for while. At first, the teacher acted like we were not even there. When my daughter went to look at some of the activities the teacher ran over and as if we were intruding and we were not supposed to touch anything. She was very off- putting and we were glad to get out of there. I found out another friend recently pulled her child because he was really unhappy there. There were very few kids for what appears to be a large facility. It seems they having a hard time keeping kids there. Education is important but children need a warm, loving environment as well.

Pioneer Montessori School 1

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
The facility is old, carpet is dirty and no shade in playground. The worst is that the teachers are not willing to spend time on kids and help them to get used to the environment. Plus they don't refund you the money. Very bad experience. Other preschools nearby are much better.

Pioneer Montessori School 5

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
Pioneer Montessori is a great school with teachers who have been there for over 10 yrs and they provide a great learning environment. The children learn to be independent along with learning their phonics and math. My daughter entered kindergarten with a solid foundation on Math and reading she was reading beyond kindergarten level. I will recommend this school to all the parents looking for a well balanced school with teacher who are their just for kids and always greet you and your child with a smile.


Pioneer Montessori School 4

Posted May 23, 2006
- a parent
Teachers are fairly attentive. Some of them are not good at providing timely feedback to parents because they are busy or they appear to be busy. Overall, this is a pretty good school.

Pioneer Montessori School 5

Posted March 15, 2006
- a parent
This is my daughter's 3rd year at the school. She started when she was 2 1/2. I can hardly believe she's going to be in K in the fall. Pioneer has been a wonderful school! The staff is all very warm and courteous to all the children and parents. My daughter has by far met all her expectations to begin K in the fall. This has been a wonderful beginning for my child and I plan on sending my now 2 year old to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Montessori School
3520 San Felipe Road, San Jose, CA  95135
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (408) 238-8445
Last modified Pioneer Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top