Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
My son just graduated from Lakeside and my daughter started her first year. It is a very special school, with teachers and staff who have been working hard at providing a nurturing, fun, creative and safe environment for our kids for many years. The art projects are amazing and I can't say enough great things about the extended care program, which is more like preschool than daycare! We are lucky to have found such a great school in our neighborhood. We absolutely love it and look forward to the next few years as our little one flourishes there.

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
We have two children at Lakeside (3 and 5) and are extremely pleased with the Principal, teachers and staff. This is a Christian preschool that welcomes everyone. Our kids have fun and are learning quickly. High parent involvement - a parent volunteers in class quite often. Lakeside graduates matriculate to the best local Catholic elementary schools.


Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
Lakeside was a wonderful, nurturing, enriching place for both my children, and they loved their teachers. The kindergarten program is particularly excellent with an amazing and committed teacher who not only prepares the children well socially and academically but also fosters their curiosity and love of learning. My daughter adored her teacher and still talks about the many things she learned. She was more than well prepared for her entry into primary school. My children were accepted into every private school we applied to. Lakeside was a great school for my kids and family.

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Lakeside Preschool was such a great academic and social experience for our son. He is currently in the competitive environment of a private school and in the top of his class. We can't thank the team at Lakeside, specifically his kindergarten teachers for the solid skills they have fostered in him. Also, the warm and welcoming environment made us feel like we were leaving him at Grandma's house. How wonderful is that! Our family highly recommends this comprehensive program to all!

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
We highly recommend Lakeside to all our friends in San Francisco. Our 1st son spent 3-years at Lakeside and was so well prepared in the Pre-K program that he got into all 5 of the private schools that we applied to. Our second son has made more progress than we dreamed possible in the Lakeside Kindergarten program. He has been accepted to repeat Kindergarten (due to his birthday) at his brother's private school. The admissions director at the private school also recommends Lakeside to parents moving to San Francisco or looking for a good pre-school. She visits the school every year to evaluate candidates and says 'Lakeside is a little-known jewel in the Avenues'. She highlights 1. the structured classes that prepare kids well for her very academic private school and 2. the kind and nurturing approach of Lakeside's very experienced teachers. Both our boys love school. Thank you, Lakeside team!


Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 0
no rating

Posted March 07, 2010
- a teacher
As the Kindergarten teacher at Lakeside for the last 15 years, I was very surprised to find out from the parent post of August 2009 that their child was not ready for 1st grade and had to unexpectedly repeat Kindergarten. Lakeside's Kindergarten program specifically targets children whose birthdays render them ineligble for Kindergarten placement in the private school sector. 98% of my students plan to attend Kindergarten again because of this age consideration NOT because of a lack of academic preparedness. I am responsible for all the grammar school application letters and have not filled out a 1st grade application in the last 12 years. While Lakeside's Kindergaten may not the school for every child, it is certainly a program that fosters curiosity, literacy and a love of learning in those children who are ready to be so challenged.

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 0
no rating

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Both my son and daughter attended Lakeside Kindergarten. We could not have been more pleased with the warm, nurturing environment that fostered a love of learning. The academics and overall curriculum (math, reading, writing, vocabulary, journals, art, etc.) were superior and appropriately challenging for the grade level, meeting each child at their own readiness ability. Working in the classroom, I could see each child receive individualized personal attention and encouragement. The program prepared them so well for grammar school, they were able to begin with a great sense of confidence in their abilities. I always recommend Lakeside Kindergarten and Preschool because our experience there was worth every penny we spent.

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
My two children have attended this school and it has been a wonderful experience all the way through. Good, caring teachers and extended care staff and administration, very low turnover, and a focus on teaching children to take turns, listen to each other, and play well together. Both of my children had the good fortune to be part of the kindergarten program at Lakeside due to late summer birthdays. My older child repeated kindergarten at a K-8 school and my younger child will do the same next year. The class size for both of them was small (16 children for one, 13 for the other) and the kindergarten teacher is excellent. I read the negative review below of kindergarten and I have to believe the review was for another school. The kindergarten program is designed for children with late birthdays who will repeat kindergarten the following year.


Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 1

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
When I first started sending my child here, I thought it would be a great fit and really give my child a tremendous education for the long wait list and price of the school. Throughout our years here, we found the teachers quite inadequate and unsatisfactory. Although the campus had nice facilities, the PK and K program were equal to a simple day care. Whenever I would bring it up to the teachers at the school, they would get defensive and say it wasn't their problem. After the Kindergarten program, my child was not ready for first grade and had to go to a grammar school and repeat Kindergarten (as did almost every child there). Now looking back, I have realized my mistake in sending my child here. I couldn't imagine their being the wait list there was. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT send your child here.

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
My child is so happy to attend school here--a very loving environment, loads of craft and art (every day) outdoor activities and games, healthy snacks. The children learn so much in wonderful ways--all by having fun! Even the smallest of kids (2.5) participate in circle time, get 'jobs' in the class, and have loads of individual attention (22 kids, 4 full-time staff, plus 1-2 parent volunteers each day= rarely less than 1:4 ratio.) Whether you see it as a draw back or a plus, parent involvement is strongly requested (read: required).

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center
201 Eucalyptus Drive, San Francisco, CA  94132
(415) 564-5044
Last modified Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Lakeside Presbyterian Children Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top