Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
I love Sunshine House. I really don't know how else I could describe my feelings for them. My daughter is currently in their care and has been for the past 2 1/2 years. During this time, I have never felt disappointed or unhappy with them. My daughter is really getting the best care that money can buy and more. The center is very family oriented and treat the children as such. It is a warm center with very kind and knowledgeable teachers. They introduce the children to many different learning opportunities and activities. At age 4, she is already writing her name and spelling words. I am confident that she will be well prepared for Kindergarten with the continued prep from Sunshine house teachers. As for individual attention, I never feel that she has ever lacked this. She has developed very close relationships with all of her teachers and many of the children. The teachers are very attentive to any concerns that I have and are more than open to suggestions or ideas. I often recommend Sunshine House to my friends and do so with confidence that if they chose to go there, they'd be just as happy as I am.

Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
Both my sons attend Sunshine House. My oldest has attended for 10 months and my youngest for 2. The teachers are always friendly and they are great with the kids. I feel confident leaving my boys at Sunshine House because I know they will play and learn in a stimulating environment. My oldest only attends a few hours a day but they helped me potty train him and it only took 1 week (he was 3 1/2 at the time). He is 4 now and he knows how to spell his name, can tell you his address and I taught him my phone number. I would definitely recommend Sunshine House to any parent.


Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a teacher
I am sorry to see the one parents review with only 3 stars, when all of our other reviews are 5. Obviously, we were off the mark with our communication with this family and we sincerely apologize. The situation they speak to is one of meeting licensing ratios. Licensing allows 12 students per one teacher. We staff 10 students per teacher. Given that, we are not allowed by law to have too many children in one teacher's area of supervision, nor would we do that because it is not safe. Unfortunately this parent did not feel comfortable coming and speaking to us about the situation. That's our bad and again, we apologize! Please read our other reviews and tour with us :)

Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
My child has been going to Sunshine House for over a year now. I feel we have joined a family not just enrolled in a school. We receive daily anticdotes from the teachers. On the weekends my son asks to go back to Sunshine House. Outside of school in big group situations he is confident, out going, verbal, and caring. I know that being at this school has helped grow those skills. He constantly is doing things we have not taught him that he learned from school. For example Signing the letter "a" and word "milk". I love that multiple spaces are open for him to choose from. He is able to decide on his own to play in the dress up room, art room, bike area, sand box and more. Finding the perfect place for our child was a hard decision, I am confident Sunshine House is the right place for him.

Sunshine House Martinez 3

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I decided to take my daughter elsewhere after she attended Sunshine House for a couple months. The program was too unorganized for us. For example, if a child wants to play in a different area of the yard, they need to find a teacher and ask, if the teacher is already at her ratio, the child needs to come back and ask again later. It seems to me that they should have enough staff outside for children to play all around the yard. The children don't get as much personal attention as I would like. We moved to a preschool in Pleasant Hill that we have been thrilled with, much more of a personal and happy atmosphere.


Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
Sunshine House has been nothing short of excellent. We have been with Sunshine House for just about one and a half years now with one more year remaining. It is going to be a sad day for us when we have to say farewell. Sunshine House has such an amazing and compassionate staff who has helped my timid daughter grow in every way you could think of in a preschool environment. I enjoy seeing her artwork, her name writing, and most of all I enjoy seeing the pictures of her at school, with a smile on her face, having a good time. Sunshine House hosts so many events creating such a great community feel betweeen the teachers, the students and the parents. I leave her every morning confident that she is well taken care of and having a great time playing and learning too! There isn't much more a parent could ask for.

Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted February 16, 2011
- a parent
Sunshine House is more than a preschool to us, it is a community of teachers that are warm and patient; dedicated to the students and treat each child as an individual. Although my son has been in this program for less than a year, we are beyond pleased. We knew this was the right fit from our first visit. My then 20 month old son played outside with the other kids and when they were asked to line up for Circle Time, he fell right in stride and took his place on the floor with the other 2 year olds. I watched him listen to stories intently and sing songs with the others. Suffice it to say, my son started the day he turned 2. We love that he can choose the majority of his activities throughout the day. He loves being outside and, at Sunshine House, he can play in the Bikes and Ball areas, the Climbing area or head to the huge sandbox. When I pick him up, he always has a smile on his face and the teachers always have a funny story to share for the day. It is apparent they enjoy him as much as we do and that gives me such pleasure (and relief) as a parent. We highly recommend this school and can't wait to start our daughter the moment she turns 2 and she is only 4 months old!

Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
I knew as soon as I walked into Sunshine House and my daughter ran off to play with the other children that this was a good place for her to be. She had been so shy about every other preschool we had visited. She has been attending Sunshine house for a year and a half now and I am still every bit as pleased today as I was the first day. The curriculum is excellent and age appropriate, growing as your child grows. My friends and family are always impressed with the verbal skills my daughter has as well as her grasp of basic concepts such as shapes, colors, number and so much more. The school is well equipped with educational toys, games and learning materials as well as a very large outdoor play area to increase gross motor skills. I would highly recommend Sunshine house to every parent I know.


Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted November 21, 2010
- a parent
My 4 year old daughter is a student at Sunshine House, and we are just thrilled with our experience there. We find the teachers to be professional, warm, knowledgable, helpful and kind. We are delghted by the progress our daughter had made socially and in regards to her behavior. We appreciate the attention to detail and the willingness on the part of the teachers to spend time discussing our daughter's progress with us. We also are delighted by the topics and themes presented and taught, and the overall environment of education and warmth. We conifidently recommend Sunshine House to all parents.

Sunshine House Martinez 5

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
Thank you Sunshine House! My son has been with the school for 6 months now and I ve noticed that he has become more confident, independent, well-mannered, inquisitive, and has developed a love for learning! The teachers in Sunshine House are caring, loving, fun-loving, and need to be, firm. I love that Sunshine has a learn-through-play philosophy that emphasize on character development, building self-confidence, manners, social skills and self-reliance, not just academic excellence.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunshine House Martinez
4950 Pacheco Blvd, Martinez, CA  94553
(925) 372-8242
Last modified Sunshine House Martinez is a Private school that serves grade PK
Sunshine House Martinez Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top