Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I am so impressed with this school and what my daughter has learned there. Both campuses are beautiful. The program is amazing. Music, theatre, Chinese, French, and Spanish, baking, gardening, yoga are just some of what is offered. My daughter has learned to read and is going to be totally prepared for elementary school. She adores the teachers and loves going to school. There really isn't anything else out there like this school.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
If you have the opportunity to give your child a Montessori education at the Montessori Shir-Hashirim then you are one of the blessed ones in Los Angeles. This school is easily the best Montessori school in the LA area. I spent several months touring all the Montessori schools on the Westside. A friend suggested that I check out the Montessori Shir-Hashirim Preschool as a paradigm to compare the other schools I had seen. What I discovered was that NOTHING that I had seen came close to the amazing experience that this school offers a preschooler. The director, Elena, spent the morning with me, showing me both of her schools and explaining a lot about the Montessori method. She is very patient and answered all of my questions. So many lower-level schools use the Montessori name as an advertising tool and don't use the Montessori method. Shir-Hashirim is a great Montessori school period.


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted December 25, 2011
- a parent
The last couple of months I ve been filling out kindergarten applications. It s made me really reflect on what an incredible experience my daughter has had at her Montessori school in Hollywood. Montessori Shir-Hashirim is an amazing school. The Director, Elena, is a gifted educator who speaks several languages and truly understands what it takes to create a calm yet vibrant environment where children can flourish. Unlike other preschools we visited where chaos reigned, when you walk through the door of Shir-Hashirim, you instantly feel a sense of balance. It's a special place where children can focus, learn and thrive. When we drop our daughter off in the morning, we know she is going to have a fun and enriching day of baking fresh bread, rehearsing for a Shakespeare play, learning all of the countries in Africa and taking a yoga class with her friends. Sound magical? It is! I would recommend MSH to any parent who prizes a stimulating, nurturing environment. It has provided our daughter with a foundation for life!

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
Look no further this is the best pre school in LA. Both my children have flourished in this school. While having fun and gaining some of the best friends they will ever have my children were exposed to a wonderful curriculum. On any given day they will learn about different artists, science, drama, instruments, singing, stories and just having fun. The montessori method works at the child's individual pace. If your child is interested in reading they will learn if they are interested in something else the focus will be on that. Its nice to know that once I drop my child off they will have a truly interesting day ahead of them and will never be bored. This is a very special school there is nothing like it in LA.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
We love Shir-Hashirim Montessori for our 3 year old son. He has been attending the school for the past 6 months after being pulled out from another Montessori school that we were unhappy with. We noticed a significant difference in his attitude and development as compared to the old school. He comes home from Shir-Hashirim Montessori very cheery and is always excited to tell us about what he learned from the day. The next morning, he cannot wait to go back!! We are so impressed with what he has learned so far! Some of the classes he has are Dance, Yoga, Drama and Computer. Just last week he was reading words! He also knows his continents and is always counting. Truly amazing. He has learned to bake, garden, etc. etc. There is just so much that Shir-Hashirim Montessori offers! The school itself is very clean, cute, and warm. It's a very intimate and homely feel, yet there's also structure. No clutter or chaos whatsoever which is what you would expect from a pre-school. The times I have picked up my son, the kids have always been well-behaved and quietly working. We are so blessed and lucky to have our son at Shir-Hashirim Montessori!


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
This school has taught us as much about good parenting as it has taught our daughter to be confident, curious, and adaptive. As a child, I attended a developmental preschool so was unsure what to expect from Montessori, but Shir Hashirim has converted me to an evangelist. I recommend this school without reservation. They will care for and help any child excel; the only "fit" issue to consider is whether the parents are prepared to share educational responsibility with the school - we did and will be forever grateful. My daughter graduated into a top Kindergarten and has remained at the top of her class. In Elena We Trust!

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 24, 2011
- a parent
I am so happy my children are at Montessori Shir Hashirim. The teachers are dedicated to the children. They cultivate a love of learning, people and culture. There is a real sense of community. The parents are all very involved and are there to support the children and the school. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a parent
Our son spent 3 years at MSH and we have now enrolled our daughter there as well. We have found it to be a warm, stimulating, exciting environment that produces happy children. Both of our kids talk about how much they love their teachers and the hugs they give them every morning are a good indicator that it's a great environment. Not only do they cover all the preschool basics with circle time, singing, story time, etc, they provide a wide variety of enrichment classes - from Chinese to dance to computers to karate. There is something that interests every kid. In addition, if your kid is so inclined, the opportunity is there for a tremendous amount of academic learning. From reading to learning about great artists, to acting in plays to scientific exploration. There are also several hours each day of unstructured playtime where the kids get their energy out by running around the playground, playing legos... you name it. Finally, by keeping the doors open until 5:30, the school is so understanding of the pressures of working parents. I really can't recommend the school highly enough.


Montessori Shir Hashirim 1

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
MSH accepted my not-yet-2-year old son last spring. We enrolled & gave them a deposit. Elena called us weeks later & reneged! After we had turned down other preschool acceptances! We were left with nowhere to send our son. (I've since heard of 2 other kids that they've kicked out mid-year). What happened: We went to the 1st class of our 2nd group of "parent & me" classes (accepted students). Elena called when we got home and said that our son seemed "too young & doesn't seem ready." Insane! We did the 1st 10 sessions of the "parent & me" group from Jan-March & he seemed ready enough: She accepted him! She'd known him for 10 weeks, accepted him, took our deposit, and then changed her mind! This is the worst of his behavior from that ONE day: Twice, he walked over to the door to the playground during group music class & said he wanted to play with cars outside. Also, during his "job" with beans he started to drop some beans outside of the bowl, onto the table. He threw nothing, hit nobody, had no tantrums, etc. Even if he HAD, so what!?: She agreed to take him into her school and then she reneged on her agreement! If you want to walk on eggshells, send your kids here!

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
The teachers at this school, including Nelida and director, Elena are truly amazing! In my few experiences needing to ask for advice on my child's behavior, I have received immediate responses, or a telephone call later that day. The insights I received lead me to believe that the teachers are connected, interested and caring about my daughter. I feel lucky everyday that my child is exposed to all the wonderful things the school's cirriculum offers. My daughter is very happy. We feel lucky to have found this excellent preschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Shir Hashirim
6047 Carlton Way, Los Angeles, CA  90028
(323) 465-1638
Last modified Montessori Shir Hashirim is a Private school that serves grade PK
Montessori Shir Hashirim Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top