Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
I have been at this school for five years. First my oldest daughter then my five year old twins. The worst thing about this school is leaving it. I can't begin to put words to what Elena and the other teachers at Montessori have done for my children. All three of them more different from another… they found out how to unlock each of their potential in completely different ways. The school offers such a variety of methods to learn and ignite their imagination that no child will be left in the dark. For me all other schools pale in comparison. Elena doesn't coddle parents, she advocates for the kids and for some it's an adjustment, but every time I have had a concern she has come back to me with insightful and focused feedback and advice. It has allowed me to access my children in ways that I can't imagine having lived without. The plays, the music the art are all opportunities to see your children in new light. When going through the kindergarten process she helps guide and steer your kids towards the schools that she believes they will thrive in. She asks almost nothing of the parents, no Galas no huge hide expenses, a few year books that are coffee table worthy, and some DVD's of your kids plays. My advice is to do the parent and me and stick with it.. then you can really understand what the experience is like. I was taken aback at first at the lack of screaming kids, the quiet and the focus.. but then you come to understand that they are engaged and directed.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
My son thrived in the Montessori environment and at this school. This school in particular is so rich with stimuli and my son has gotten exposed to everything from Mandarin to yoga to Frank Gehry. Elena runs a tight ship, and while she intimidates many parents at first, as soon as you get to know her you will find her warm, personable, and very charming. Great sense of humor too. She is a gifted educator and knows each and every kid very well and gives solid advice to parents. We will be sad to graduate next year!


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I am so impressed with this school and what my daughter has learned there. Both campuses are beautiful. The program is amazing. Music, theatre, Chinese, French, and Spanish, baking, gardening, yoga are just some of what is offered. My daughter has learned to read and is going to be totally prepared for elementary school. She adores the teachers and loves going to school. There really isn't anything else out there like this school.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
If you have the opportunity to give your child a Montessori education at the Montessori Shir-Hashirim then you are one of the blessed ones in Los Angeles. This school is easily the best Montessori school in the LA area. I spent several months touring all the Montessori schools on the Westside. A friend suggested that I check out the Montessori Shir-Hashirim Preschool as a paradigm to compare the other schools I had seen. What I discovered was that NOTHING that I had seen came close to the amazing experience that this school offers a preschooler. The director, Elena, spent the morning with me, showing me both of her schools and explaining a lot about the Montessori method. She is very patient and answered all of my questions. So many lower-level schools use the Montessori name as an advertising tool and don't use the Montessori method. Shir-Hashirim is a great Montessori school period.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted December 25, 2011
- a parent
The last couple of months I ve been filling out kindergarten applications. It s made me really reflect on what an incredible experience my daughter has had at her Montessori school in Hollywood. Montessori Shir-Hashirim is an amazing school. The Director, Elena, is a gifted educator who speaks several languages and truly understands what it takes to create a calm yet vibrant environment where children can flourish. Unlike other preschools we visited where chaos reigned, when you walk through the door of Shir-Hashirim, you instantly feel a sense of balance. It's a special place where children can focus, learn and thrive. When we drop our daughter off in the morning, we know she is going to have a fun and enriching day of baking fresh bread, rehearsing for a Shakespeare play, learning all of the countries in Africa and taking a yoga class with her friends. Sound magical? It is! I would recommend MSH to any parent who prizes a stimulating, nurturing environment. It has provided our daughter with a foundation for life!


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
Look no further this is the best pre school in LA. Both my children have flourished in this school. While having fun and gaining some of the best friends they will ever have my children were exposed to a wonderful curriculum. On any given day they will learn about different artists, science, drama, instruments, singing, stories and just having fun. The montessori method works at the child's individual pace. If your child is interested in reading they will learn if they are interested in something else the focus will be on that. Its nice to know that once I drop my child off they will have a truly interesting day ahead of them and will never be bored. This is a very special school there is nothing like it in LA.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
We love Shir-Hashirim Montessori for our 3 year old son. He has been attending the school for the past 6 months after being pulled out from another Montessori school that we were unhappy with. We noticed a significant difference in his attitude and development as compared to the old school. He comes home from Shir-Hashirim Montessori very cheery and is always excited to tell us about what he learned from the day. The next morning, he cannot wait to go back!! We are so impressed with what he has learned so far! Some of the classes he has are Dance, Yoga, Drama and Computer. Just last week he was reading words! He also knows his continents and is always counting. Truly amazing. He has learned to bake, garden, etc. etc. There is just so much that Shir-Hashirim Montessori offers! The school itself is very clean, cute, and warm. It's a very intimate and homely feel, yet there's also structure. No clutter or chaos whatsoever which is what you would expect from a pre-school. The times I have picked up my son, the kids have always been well-behaved and quietly working. We are so blessed and lucky to have our son at Shir-Hashirim Montessori!

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
This school has taught us as much about good parenting as it has taught our daughter to be confident, curious, and adaptive. As a child, I attended a developmental preschool so was unsure what to expect from Montessori, but Shir Hashirim has converted me to an evangelist. I recommend this school without reservation. They will care for and help any child excel; the only "fit" issue to consider is whether the parents are prepared to share educational responsibility with the school - we did and will be forever grateful. My daughter graduated into a top Kindergarten and has remained at the top of her class. In Elena We Trust!


Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 24, 2011
- a parent
I am so happy my children are at Montessori Shir Hashirim. The teachers are dedicated to the children. They cultivate a love of learning, people and culture. There is a real sense of community. The parents are all very involved and are there to support the children and the school. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Montessori Shir Hashirim 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a parent
Our son spent 3 years at MSH and we have now enrolled our daughter there as well. We have found it to be a warm, stimulating, exciting environment that produces happy children. Both of our kids talk about how much they love their teachers and the hugs they give them every morning are a good indicator that it's a great environment. Not only do they cover all the preschool basics with circle time, singing, story time, etc, they provide a wide variety of enrichment classes - from Chinese to dance to computers to karate. There is something that interests every kid. In addition, if your kid is so inclined, the opportunity is there for a tremendous amount of academic learning. From reading to learning about great artists, to acting in plays to scientific exploration. There are also several hours each day of unstructured playtime where the kids get their energy out by running around the playground, playing legos... you name it. Finally, by keeping the doors open until 5:30, the school is so understanding of the pressures of working parents. I really can't recommend the school highly enough.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Shir Hashirim
6047 Carlton Way, Los Angeles, CA  90028
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (323) 465-1638
Last modified Montessori Shir Hashirim is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top