Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Communion Christian Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I enjoyed dropping my child off everyday to school. My child never wanted to leave.

Communion Christian Academy 4

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
March 29, 2012 My son has been a student at CCA since Pre-K, he's now in 3rd grade. There's been a couple of issues but nothing that couldn't be worked out. The staff is very caring and they work hard with your child. CCA provides a safe, positive and nurturing environment as best they can. The children are taught well, they are challenged, they excel in their subjects, and are provided a strong spiritual environment. Elder Henson is usually not around but is responsive and approachable. Overall, it's a great school and I trust them with my child more so than the surrounding schools.


Communion Christian Academy 3

Posted January 20, 2012
- a parent
This school is good for preschoolers and if you need to have your child in a school type environment from age 2. The teaching methods are a bit old school and very little change will happen but to get thru the couple of years you need before kindergarten this school is ok.

Communion Christian Academy 4

Posted May 16, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent and this school came highly recommended to me. I was going to a secular pre school on the Westside that was 2x the cost previously. I was so impressed when I had the chance to meet Mrs. Henson and Ms. Davis. Mrs. Henson is the principal who knows and loves each child. Her priority is to make sure that the children are very safe, academically challenged and growing spiritually. My child is in preschool and we love his teacher Ms. Davis. She has been such a blessing. She really challenges those little ones academically. I have toured many pre schools in LA and in the South bay and I have not found one that offers the excellent foundation that she offers in her class. I am so glad that my child has a solid spiritual and academic foundation. I am very grateful to my CCA family!

Communion Christian Academy 3

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
I think it is a adequate school


Communion Christian Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2005
- a parent
This is a really good school. The Teachers are excellent with the children. They are caring, and very passionate in what they do and care a greal deal about each and every student. The academics progam is very solid. The school acknoweldge the children with award ceremonies based on their achievements thoughout the year.My child has excelled in each grade level. The Director of the school is very compassionate and very uplifting. You get a sense of comfort knowing that your child is well taken care of when you are away working 8 to 10 hours a day. This is a top notch private school that truly does not get the recognition it deserves.

Communion Christian Academy 5

Posted March 22, 2005
- a parent
My son has attended CCA since he was 2 1/2 years old and it has been a great educational and developmental experience. The teachers are extremely loving and whole-heartedly care about the welfare of each and every child. All of the children are treated equally and are encourage every day to 'Strive for Excellence,' which happens to be the school's motto. The curriculum is challenging yet very interactive so the kids really get involved and participate. They offer a variety of extracurricular activities ranging from dance to karate. It's a wonderful school.

Communion Christian Academy 4

Posted November 12, 2004
- a parent
This school provides a comfortable environment for younger children. They stick to 20 students per teacher, which helps the children excel. The teachers, however, are very young. I have questioned their discipline techniques on a couple of occassions, meaning parents must stay closely involved with their child's teacher. I also question the principal's ability to treat all parents equally, including the parents that do not attend their church. Overall a good start for pre-school.


Communion Christian Academy 4

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
This is a good school for young children. It teaches them good listening and learning skills in a Christian environment. The teachers from Pre-K to Kindergarten are very involved in each kids level of learning.

Communion Christian Academy 4

Posted August 17, 2004
- a parent
This is a good school and has the potential to be a great school. My child's teacher was a very good teacher and she learned a lot while under her supervision. However I do think that this school can improve more in the area of reading and writing at the pre-k level as well as providing extra-curricular activities for the kids during the summer months and during school sessions. Also I feel that the communication has to improve between administration and parents. Posting notes in the office for parents is good but I think that letters should also be sent home to parents informing them of important dates and activities that are coming up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Communion Christian Academy
4729 West Slauson Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90056
Last modified Communion Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Communion Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top