Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a teacher
Hi, To answer the person who would not send their son to Christopher Robin, I believe did not visit our school. The Director who gave the tour, was thorough in explaining our schools philosophy, and answered all questions in a very friendly & positive way. As to the children being nice, the tours are held when there are no children present.Please visit us and form your own opinion

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
We toured all the preschools in the Weho/Hollywood area and Christopher Robin was by far our first choice. If you read any current early childhood educational research, you understand that true learning, creativity, and a continued motivation to learn comes from engaging a child's imagination and innate curiosity. Too many of the schools that we toured were result oriented--for example an "art project" to make a robot was a pre-cut figure that the children "painted" and glued together so it looked like the teacher's idea of a robot with a few teacher directed coloring instructions to the children. At CR, the teacher would never assume that they know better than the child what a robot looks like. Instead we get to see how THEY see it and the results are far more interesting and valuable. At CR they care about the authentic response of the individual child and as a parent, I would accept nothing less. This is also true in terms of their response to behavior. My 3 year old son began pushing kids down when he first showed up. They had the good sense to ask him if he was trying to make a friend. I witnessed his face lighting up in excitement at being seen and understood so clearly.


Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Los Angeles from New York City and we did not expect to find a preschool that could match the one we left behind. Christopher Robin proved us wrong. This school is exceptional. The teachers are thoughtful, compassionate and experienced; the parents are interesting and welcoming, and they have all chosen this school very carefully. My five-year-old had an phenomenal experience in the DK classroom, where he was surrounded by brilliant kids and teachers who kept them engaged and excited for every new project; and my three-year-old immediately found a home away from home in her classroom. The leaders of the school are focused on building a community of students and parents who value the learning process above all. This school is in a class of its own.

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
we are wrapping up our second year at christopher robin and have had a wonderful and nurturing experience. i have seen my son take giant leaps forward in his communication skills and develop a strong sense of independence and problem solving skills. the director of the school, elizabeth, is wonderful and dynamic, continuously seeking to improve the curriculum and the approach in a thoughtful way based on her research which seems quite extensive and proactive.

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
We are wrapping up our 6th (6!) consecutive year at Christopher Robin and am incredibly sad to say goodbye. This school has been so wonderful to our family and our boys. Case in point: After my first son graduation and entered kindergarten, we were approached by our teacher asking us if he went to preschool and where. As he was by far the most socially well adjusted and developed of all the children in his classroom. And we've been told that about our 2nd child as well. I am so grateful everyday CR was a part of our families' early education years.


Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
Christopher Robin is a wonderland--the care each teacher takes with each child is extraordinary and the entire space is infused with sensitivity--to the child's social, emotional, and physical development. Every morning the room is full of new surprises--natural, beautiful materials thoughtfully arranged to delight and inspire curiosity in the students. It's hard to leave at drop off because I want to stay and see what's going to happen next....

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
Words cannot express how much i love and appreciate this preschool! The staff work hard to stay abreast on important parenting and teaching techniques without following fads. They ignite imagination, encourage exploration and instill independence. The directors couldnt be more involved with every aspect of the school. They make a point to know each student and the families very well creating an amazing sense of community. The teachers are amazing and make every student feel like an individual. It is so comforting to watch the way they effortlessly guide the students through conflicts. The facilities are designed to encourage curiosity and exploration in a safe and beautiful environment. in every corner you find a group of students working intently on a new invention, an art project, an experiment or some other creative activity. The parents are also incredibly involved and i feel fortunate to have made so many new and friends through this school. The school provides a wonderful support system for us as parents where we are able to learn techniques which i use constantly in dealing with my 2 children. I wish i could send my kids to Christopher Robin through high school!

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
This has been the single most important choice we have made for our family. So much thought goes into every aspect of the school and most importantly the companionship and care for each and every child from all staff is evident. You can see this any time you are at the school, at the conferences with detailed notes of your child (what she is and is not doing and what they are encouraging her to do and why), the frequent blogging, the many pictures available, the documentation of projects on the walls and simply talking to the teachers and your child every day. Just as important has been what we parents have learned by observing, asking the teachers and emulating them to encourage our daughter to identify her thoughts, express them, acknowledge others and make compromises (especially important when we needed more guidance). The focus is more on emotional development and we see the difference in our child (and ourselves). The parent community is amazing and we spend a lot of time with the other families. The bottom line is that they turn out great kids (and calm parents). Also, we were able to get into our top two private schools of choice. You will enjoy this experience.


Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
My son came here after attending two other pre-schools where he was struggling. At Christopher Robin, he is thriving. I stayed with my son at the school when he first went there, and I am surprised that anyone would find the teachers unqualified - it is an incredibly caring and child-focused school. They take great care to know the children as individuals, not as a group, and design activities that meet the needs and interests of the particular children in the class. My son begs to hurry up to get him to school in the morning and hates that there is no school on the weekend. We intend to send our daughter here as well.

Christopher Robin Pre-School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I have been a parent at Christopher Robin through 2 children and have only had wonderfully positive experiences there. Both my kids LOVED the school, the teachers, the facilities (so much of the day is spent in lovely outdoor spaces) and the Reggio-based/Constructivist philosophy. I have recommended the school to several of my friends and many have also sent their children there with very happy results. Yes, it is pricey, but WELL worth it when you consider the fantastic student-to-teacher ratio (my daughter's class currently has THREE full teachers), attentive and warm teachers and staff (they even helped both my kids learn potty training-- something you won't find in MOST preschools), as well as the terrific community of parents and supporters the school enjoys. Totally disagree with the other reviewers about the school's Reggio cred and the high turnover of teachers... on the contrary, MANY of the same teachers are still there who were there when my son started back in 2007!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Robin Pre-School
815 N Alta Vista Blvd, Los Angeles, CA  90046
(323) 934-6512
Last modified Christopher Robin Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Christopher Robin Pre-School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top