Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. My daughter began at about 18 months of age and now is 3. The teachers are very caring. They offer a large variety of activities, indoor and outdoor. We noticed an immediate improvement in our daughter's learning after starting Woodcrest. Our daughter became physically disabled in early summer and the school has been very accommodating, and the staff has been absolutely wonderful.

Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a teacher
I have been a teacher for more than 20 years, with a BA and MS in early childhood education and development. I have the pleasure of frequently working as a substitute teacher at Woodcrest Preschool. Everyone who works at Woodcrest cares deeply about the welfare of the children, and they are all very good at their jobs.


Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a teacher
I would like to respond to an earlier review. I am the Director at this school and take A LOT of pride in our program. The majority of teachers that work here have been teaching here for more than 10 years. I think that says a lot. If they were unhappy and unappreciated like one of the reviews say, I don't think they would stay this long. Our teachers receive the break times recommended by NAEYC so they do not feel over worked and I have an open office policy for them to tell me if they feel stressed. The teachers are also encouraged to attend workshops which help them with classroom management. Working with very young children is not an easy job but we teach this age because we hold a special place in our hearts for them. It takes a lot of patience and tools of the trade to teach this age. This being said teachers have lives outside of school and sometimes that effects how they are feeling. The review also mentioned a child crying and as we try really hard to engage with every child and help them facilitate friendships sometimes they do cry and it may be a time when we are busy with something else but we continue to try our best. I have great teachers, keep up the great work

Woodcrest Preschool 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
At first glance, the school seemed great, but after I enrolled my child, I started to notice certain things that concerned me as a parent. For example, the classrooms are way too crowded, which puts stress on the teachers. The teachers seem tired and unappreciated. While walking to my son's classroom, I passed the director, who said hello to me. When I was in the classroom, I actually saw my son's teacher crying. Not sure if the director had been talking to her before I entered the room or not. A day prior to seeing this teacher crying, I went to pick up my son and found him crying because no one was playing with him. I really liked this teacher and so did my son. I do not blame the teacher for not noticing my son. I blame the director for allowing so many children in one room. The playground is very simple. My son's class plays with the kindergartens during outside time. The kindergartens seem too big to even play on the play structure. There seems to be too many children, with too many different age groups on the playground as well. Overall, the teachers are great, but because of over crowded classrooms and unappreciated staff, I have pulled my child out of this school.

Woodcrest Preschool 2

Posted May 29, 2014
- a community member
I visited the school and was not impressed. For snack, they give each child a handful of fruit loops thrown directly on top of the table. The teacher in the 2-3 year old class does not seems happy to be there. The class size (20+) is too big and is too chaotic. The infant program seems well run.


Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
My children love going to preschool everyday. On the weekends they are sad because we aren't heading there to plat. I feel my children are allowed to express their individuality at Woodcrest and I love that.

Woodcrest Preschool 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This is a decent school, the only reason I put my kid in this one over others though was that it is one of the few schools around that have an infant program and price/location played a big role too. Even though it is expensive, it is not as expensive as some others in the area. As my child has gotten older and gone through a few of the classes, I must say they currently have far too many kids (24) in the 2 year old room for only 2 teachers. There is currently a 'replacement' teacher in the 2 yr old room who has a very harsh tone with the children all the time (seems overwhelmed with the 2 yr olds). When I have walked through I see kids just pummeling each other and the teachers don't really pay attention. Overall, it is an okay school. The kids are learning. **what would make it BETTER though: The school could definitely be a little CLEANER. And most importantly, instead of constantly trying to get new enrollments, they really should focus on hiring a few more teachers that are good with children lowering the teacher:child ratio (especially in the infant-3yr old programs) and thus giving more individual attention to the children which is so desperately needed there!

Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I looked at a lot of preschools for my only daughter. Woodcrest was the best on one of the only accredited in Lake Forest, CA. When she started she was shy, introverted and had some pretty sad anxiety when she would leave me. Since being at Woodcrest, she's outgoing and loves all her friends! All the kids are always so happy to see each other everyday! They hug each other by and she always asks to stay late so she can play in the afternoon. She has learned so much through the curriculum and can write her name, knows her numbers and has become very artistic. I can't say enough about the staff either. Her teachers are AMAZING!!! I can't say enough about how happy I have been with all the teachers there. They are so warm and nurturing!! The staff is sooooo nice, I feel so at ease when I leave her everyday. I highly recommend Woodcrest Preschool!!


Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Both of my children have enjoyed growing up in this school and are more than ready to take on elementary school

Woodcrest Preschool 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
This school as awesome outdoor play areas. The preschool yard has large trees to climb, bikes to ride and a great climbing structure. The infant yard has swings and inviting grass and the toddler yard has bikes, trikes and more. This is a great place to play outside and inside.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodcrest Preschool
21772 Lake Forest Drive, Lake Forest, CA  92630
(949) 859-0805
Last modified Woodcrest Preschool is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Woodcrest Preschool Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top