Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I had a very good experience with this school. I did not attend their church and I was impressed by how loving and welcoming they were. I also appreciated that they took credit cards and I was earning cash back on all that tuition. I also thought that the tuition was good for the program. It was one of the lower prices in the area. My daughter loved it. She did well academically in kindergarten, 1st and now in 2nd. She was not ahead like my son who went to an academic preschool but she is more motivated, happier and independent. I have friends who did not send younger siblings after feeling like the Mariners program was not demanding enough, but I think they are misguided. All the serious studies of education state that academic preschool is harmful to students and the free play that Mariners allows is the best. Also, my daughter has developed such a deep faith and appreciation for religion that my son never developed going to a secular preschool.

Mariner's Church Pre-School 1

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
Terrible parent communication. Sub-par learning experience. No focus on letters and numbers School director doesn't care when problems are communicated. Very frustrated and can't wait to transfer child at end of year. Very disappointed. Price is high for schooling experience.


Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
My 2 year old son has been attending MCP since he was 4 months old, and I've never regretted our decision for him to attend here. So much that I enrolled his little brother at 4 months too! Both children thrive at this place! As a working mom, I was worried about the amount of attention and love my kids would get in group care. Fear no more, because the children at MCP are genuinely loved by the teachers and staff! Not to mention the great social skills the children are developing! Teachers helped work through feeding challenges with my infant, and give good suggestions with whatever developmental stage my sons are in. The new Director is very warm, approachable and a great leader. She has made some incredible positive changes to the curriculum and overall feel at the school. Parents are welcomed in an entirely new way and they are encouraged to be involved to the level they can be. I can't say enough positive about the school, its teachers, leadership and staff. I plan to keep our boys there until Kindergarten.

Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
My 2 year old daughter has been attending MCP for a few months now, and I was really nervous about her attending because she has always been home with us. I have to say, i am LOVING this school, and so is my daughter. She asks me nearly every day if she can go to school, and talks all weekend about her friends and her teachers. And she is learning SO much. My husband and I have noticed a huge change in her vocabulary, counting, social skills, etc., and I am so impressed with what she has so clearly learned from being at MCP. Her teachers genuinely care about her, and are so welcoming to me and my husband when we drop off/pick up my daughter. Overall, an excellent experience and I plan on keeping my daugther there until Kindergarten!

Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 boys at MCP and have been thrilled with our experience! The teachers are kind, attentive and clearly love what they do. I love the open door policy they have in the classrooms and I am welcome, and even encouraged, to come into the classroom at drop off and/or pick up. I couldn't ask for a better school for my boys.


Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
My son has been attending MCP for a little over 6 months now and we both love it. There is more of an "open door" policy and parents are now encouraged to come to the classroom and participate rather than just dropping your kid off at the door. Curriculum is now made available to the parents which allows me to reinforce what he is learning at home as well as engage my son in conversations about what he is learning. Additionally, since this is my son's last year the school is great at informing the parents about the upcoming assessments to ensure my son is well prepared to transition into Kindergarten. There have been many positive changes and I believe it is thanks to the new Director with the support of the parents and teachers. Teachers are very communicative if there are any issues and offered great suggestions in taking a proactive approach with some slight behavior issues with my son. I met with his teacher and director and we worked together in creating positive reinforcement solutions to the issues. Staff is very friendly and the facility is clean and safe. I am so very thankful that my Church has this wonderful preschool and to the teachers and staff.

Mariner's Church Pre-School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
This school is awesome!! I recommend this school to any parent who wants a strong faith based foundation for their child along with knowing the curriculum will give there child a head start for kindergarten.

Mariner's Church Pre-School 1

Posted March 24, 2011
- a parent
I have had two children attend this school. If you are looking for a christian faith-based school that is more focused on teaching them jesus songs then their ABC's, then this is the school for you. Their facility is top notch but most the "teachers" are failing to teach anything fundamental. Any time I have visited, they children were doing free play. They do test your child for fundamental learning but they do not attempt in any way to set goals or make sure that your child is learning any of the basics after that test is completed. The "teachers" are not even required to have a college degree. Per their teacher application, the only requirement is to have a minimum of 12 college units of child development. At one teacher conference, I mentioned the fact that my children seemed to be behind other children from other schools. I was flabbergasted when the teacher said it was not their responsiblity to teach them, or to identify any potential learning disorder. I believe that parents need to take full responsibility in eductating their children and we do, BUT the school that your children attend on a daily basis has a responsibility to attempt to educate and not just babysit.


Mariner's Church Pre-School 3

Posted October 11, 2008
- a parent
I attend Church here, my daughter loves it! My daughter was almost fully potty trained from her previous school, after she started here they would forget/refuse to take her potty & continue to forget/refuse to take her potty, that is the reason I am not giving them a 5 star rating. I feel they could do better, especially for the price of tuition & location. I am also not pleased with there receptionist, her attitude could use an adjustment. They teachers could also do a better job with remembering the events of the kids day...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mariner's Church Pre-School
5001 Newport Coast Drive, Irvine, CA  92603
(949) 854-7030
Last modified Mariner's Church Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Mariner's Church Pre-School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top