Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
My son and daughter currently attend this school. I also volunteer here. I am SO glad I found this school. This is the school to send your children to if you want them to learn good social skills, how to speak and think for themselves, right from wrong, gain independence, increase their creativity, how to collaborate, how to listen and follow directions, and everything else that has to do with becoming a person of good character. The kids here do not sit at desks and work on practice sheets. They do what 3- to 5-year-olds are developmentally-wired to do: run, get dirty, create, build, pretend, use their imaginations. The teachers have been here for decades. And your children learn how to be good citizens because the teachers here know HOW to talk to children to bring out their best. That may sound simple, but it seems to be a tried-and-true formula that the teachers here use. And don't worry that your child won't be learning in the traditional academic sense. Word has it that when the kids from Grandview start kindergarten, they do well and most of all, are well-liked by their new teachers! You MUST visit this school to see for yourself. Ask for Ms. Betty. You will love her!

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
Do you ever question "What makes a great education?" Of all the possible curriculums and approaches to teaching, the thing that really matters is a child being taught to love and obey God's law, His will. Grandview has aligned itself with this goal and has faithfully employed the resources necessary to achieve it. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge. My two kids benefited from Grandview's commitment to this simple truth and so will yours.
1 person found this helpful


Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school! Kids learn some of the most valuable skills - problem solving, thinking, being creative and interacting with others. You can tell that it is really different from most preschools because they learn to follow the rules and be creative. When you see the art you can tell- every one is different - not the "cookie cutter" art you see most places. Make sure you tour this school!

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loved Grandview. Don't expect a whole lot of academics here. There's plenty of time for that in elementary school. What they get is time to socialize and learn to be independent and independent thinkers. The director, Ms. Betty, is fantastic! The playground is so much fun! But don't expect fancy equipment. Most of it has been built by them. I know a lot of people who have sent their children to Grandview and they've all loved it. I even know some who are now in college and still have fond memories of their time at Grandview. Please make sure to visit this school.

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
This is a stellar preschool for 2's, 3's, 4's, and 5's. My daughter is in her 3rd year attending, and it has been the best experience for both her and us as parents. The staff and teachers are caring and professional, and my daughter's teacher personally guided us through some very challenging times. The play ground is to die for- it truly is. This is a gem of our neighborhood- do not pass it up.


Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted November 26, 2011
- a parent
I wish I could give this school more than 5 stars! I absolutely can't say enough good things about it. When we went to tour the school for the first time, we were met by a chicken and a bunny. I knew that we had found THE school of our dreams. It feels like something right out of the 1950's! If you want your child drilled on the alphabet and numbers for hours on end, then this is not the place for you. If, however, you believe that play based learning is the way to a child's mind, then enroll here. My son has been here for 6 months, and has learned so much more than I could have ever taught him. I wish I could write an essay on how incredible Grandview is, but it would take up too many pages! This is the greatest school in the valley!

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a parent
This school was recommended to us by our neighbors who all sent their children there. We are so thrilled that both our sons were able to attend Grandview. Our youngest just finished summer school there which sadly means it's the end of an era for us! Miss. Susan's class is a fantastic environment for 3/4 year olds. They learn so much from her while having so much fun they don't want to leave! Mrs. Mancuso's class is also amazing and a perfect transition and preparation for Kindergarten. The teachers at our elementary school always love to get Grandview kids because they are very well prepared socially and are ready to learn. We highly recommend Grandview to anyone as a wonderful safe environment for their kids and we will miss it so much!!

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
I sent my three sons and my great nephew to this school. It is an amazing place where children are put first. The staff is wonderful. I have known Miss Susan, Miss Betty and Mrs. Mancuso 11 years. I cannot believe anyone would have anything negative to say about this staff. I wish more teachers had the interest in their students that these teachers have. I have never seen such wonderful work with children. They are so caring toward the children. THE CHILDREN ARE THE IMPORTANT ONES AT THIS SCHOOL. It is all about the children and helping them become the best that they can be. I love this place and would do anything I could for them to help this school benefit the children. Isn't that what it is about, The children. to all those out there please note you can't please everybody all the time, this is a powerful place for children to thrive.


Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
This is a FANTASTIC school! The staff are great!! Miss Betty is the sweetest person i have ever met. Ms. Susan and Ms. Mancuso love the children like their own. Grandview is the best preschool that every child should be able to go to. The kids always come out with a smile on their faces and can not wait to come back. Kids are able to do different activities whether it is dressing up as Cinderella or building a 'sky scraper" with blocks. I would definitely recommend this to any parent who is looking for a wonderful preschool!

Grandview Children's Center 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
Bev Boss and Emilio Reggio centered; this preschool is really magnificent. The exterior play yard has an array of areas to play in; Flour play area, bubble area, shaving cream area, water area, paint areas, tire bridge, two chickens and a rabbit, music area and several play houses. It is by far the best in Los Angeles; including the snooty schools. The indoor area is also good with many different areas to play but could be more organized by my standards. I do like that the teachers are 1 teacher to 5 students and that they play outside half the time they are in school . Aprox 1.5 hours out of the day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grandview Children's Center
1130 Ruberta Avenue, Glendale, CA  91201
(818) 243-1088
Last modified Grandview Children's Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Grandview Children's Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top