Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended this school a couple years ago and loved it. She was exposed to children of various backgrounds, and created lasting friendships. Now she has international friends, and picked up social skills with others her age.The staff was very accommodating, and kind. Sue was one of the nicest people to deal with. I had a very unique background with my daughter, and she created a very welcoming environment for the both of us. We are both grateful for this school.

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Our youngest has attended for two years and loves it. This is the oldest preschool in Davis and you can tell why they stick -- weekly field trips, more activities than I could imagine, directed, self-, and project-based learning, pizza/pj days, parents night out, the list goes on and on.... and at a great price. The negative reviews here just seem like passive-aggresive venting. Some of it is simply untrue. E.g.: there is no contract, only you must give a months notice prior to leaving. We know because our oldest son left to go to an "experiential" school that sounded great, cost us twice as much, and left him totally unprepared for Kindergarten. While we regret the decision for him to leave Discovery, we had no problem with giving a months notice. Discovery is a great choice for a preschool.


Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 1

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
As an educator myself, this school did not meet the qualities that a good preschool should have to instill a foundation for young learners.

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
I enrolled my son at Discovery Preschool but did not attend the school after sitting in for a couple of hours the first two days. The staff's attentiveness to the children was low, and I saw the owner use harsh/aggressive tones with the kids. To me, it felt like a bad daycare, not a preschool. It just wasn't what we were looking for. Sue, the owner, sued me for three months of tuition even though my son only attended for a few hours. The court mediator disclosed that she has taken other parents to court as well. Be careful! Do not sign anything without a lawyer, she has a predatory contract. It is clear the top interest of her school is your money, not your child's education. I post this to save other new families the heartache we've been through with this place.

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
My child enjoys this school, as do I. The staff is very accommodating and easy going. They let kids be kids but still offer plenty of teacher child interaction. Many creative activities throughout the day. Some here have mentioned the outdated play equipment. This is actualy something that I truly appreciate about the school. Real play equipment that is creative, one of a kind, and has stood the test of time. I would be horrified if this equipment was replaced with, modern "safe" equipment. The same can be said for the building itself, some would call it old, I say it has character and is full of history. Do you want to teach your children that appearance is more important than substance? Then this is not your school. For me, I am very happy with Discovery and how the school is helping my child grow.


Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
School has a tremendous amount to offer a child. My son loves going to the school and is learning things that we would never have taught him. It is a school that does not request that the parents participate in the school. And still doesn't cost as much as most of the other pre-schools. You can have your child there for half a day or all day. Of course all day will up the price a bit but not as much as the other schools. The kids learn to paint, make things, listen to readers, and the younger ones learn to count. They also teach them potty training. There is not any grass but lots of sand and hay in the yards. The equipment is outdated but having check them out I would say they are just as safe as the more updated schools. I would highly recommend the school.

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I have a child at Discovery and this school has many good qualities. With any school, whether or not it is right for your child depends on what you're looking for and on your child. The teachers are caring, empathetic, and great with the kids (and the parents too). The curriculum is amazing- hands-on, inquiry based, almost always engaging. It feels like there are a lot of kids though packed into a relatively small space so it can feel chaotic, and with so many kids, sometimes it feels a bit hands-off. Also, it's great that a full day option is available for working parents, but it seems hard for the kids that stay there all day to make it through that much noise/chaos all day. The outdoor space is larger than some of the other preschools in town, although the equipment is dated and seems less safe than newer equipment.

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful program with a combination of structured activities to develop specific skills and knowledge and unstructured time to let kids be kids and develop social relationships.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Pre-School & Child Care
1020 F Street, Davis, CA  95616
(530) 756-2231
Last modified Discovery Pre-School & Child Care is a Private school that serves grade PK
Discovery Pre-School & Child Care Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top