Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Everyone in my family absolutely loves La Playa. I was looking for a Cooperative nursery school for my son's first school experience. After my tour of La Playa I felt like I had found our home. My son has grown so much socially, emotionally and intellectually. His curious nature is fully supported in the play based environment and he is challenged on a daily basis through his interactions with his teachers and fellow students. I love being a part of the community and can't wait for my weekly work days. The parent education and support is outstanding and I am so happy to have found such a supportive and caring group of parents. The only draw back to this school that I can think of it that we have to leave it for Kindergarden next year.

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started La Playa at two and half years old. She is now in her second year there and doing great! I was attracted to the school's cooperative (I wanted to be there to see her experience), play-based model. I was also attracted to the wide open space of the facility, enough space for the kids to RUN, and the garden space. Since then I have developed a deep appreciation for the parent education aspect of being a work day parent. It's relevant information that's helped me be a better parent at school and at home. In the course of it I often find myself thinking thank g-d these teachers know what the f*** they're talking about. Teacher Ruth is truly a wise woman (with 20 years experience under her belt!) and talks to parents & the kids in a totally approachable way. Teacher Teri is warm and approachable, too. We enjoy being a part of making the school "go." It's been a great fit for us and for our child, made clear by how well she has developed there.


La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
If there would be a 6th star I would give it! Here are my facts why I LOVE that school: 1. because my son loves the school (for me there is nothing more important than my kid wants to spend time somewhere and not "have to") 2. The teacher and all parents that work there are AWESOME.(Warm, loving, caring and not afraid being goofy and having fun with the kids) 3. It's play based! I rather prefer my son learn social skills and how to play with other kids then being a math genius with age of 5.. 4. variety: there is a bunch of possibilities to play, cubes to climb, art station, tactless, blocks, dramatic play,.... 5. as a parent you can learn a lot from the teacher and other parents 6. its a fantastic community. other families are not just "other families" they are friends and always support each other even outside the school. 7.Asking my son what he loves most about his preschool, his answer was: "that I can go there every dayand that I can decide what I want to play" I think there is nothing more to add... ;o) I highly recommend that school!......

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his 2nd year at La Playa and he absolutely loves it. He still asks me almost every day if I will be a "teacher" that day and the excitement on his face when I come for my workday is something so special. I get to watch him interact with his friends as I practice interacting with the kids myself, learning about conflict resolution and encouraging the kids to play, be creative and become confident young individuals with experienced teachers to guide us along the way. One thing I love is the number of fathers that work and participate in all areas of the school. As a parent of a boy, it's great for him to have such positive male role models on a daily basis. The parents have become our friends and playdates are constant. I know all the kids and their parents and all the parents know my son and his personality, I couldn't ask for a more supportive community. I now know that coming to La Playa has been one of the best decisions we've made as we begin navigating our children's future and education. I look forward to our daughter starting next year!

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at La Playa and we love it. It is a tight community of parents who are happy to help each other and each other's children. It is a joy to spy on my son while he figures things out and to know how he is doing interacting with other children. The teachers are extremely knowledgeable and helpful and coach us to be better parents - both on an as-needed basis, and by parent education meetings each month. The school is huge so there is lots of room to explore and play. There is yoga, music and dance teachers that teach circle time regularly in addition to the two permanent teachers. The science curriculum is great and the life sciences are supported by a garden that the kids help plant and care for. I think it is such a special place and I know my son is thriving there because he feels safe, accepted, and stimulated.


La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
My two kids both attend La Playa and they are excited about going to school. Even though the school is play based, both the teachers and the parents have taught my son to explore and be curious about how things work in the natural world through some pretty big science concepts. My daughter has developed her creative side -- through painting and creating things with paper, tape, scissors, etc. While the teachers are great with the kids, as a cooperative school, it is the parents who contribute to making the school a great experience for the kids. I've also learned a lot from the other parents and are grateful to have them as partners in raising our kids together. It is more work (for the parents) than the average school, but when the parents involved contribute willingly, the families in the school's community all benefit from it.

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My Son who is one of the youngest currently in La Playa, loves the place. we briefly tried another place before coming here and he just began to hate the concept of school. We love the teachers and other parents who have let him blossom at his own pace. The feel of community here is one of a kind. The teachers are extreamly competent and loving. It is a great space with children at the heart of every activity. the play based approach covers Social, emotional, cognitive and creative development without being rigid. I love the fact that lots of dads are also interacting with kids on daily basis. Younger and older kids have an opportunity to interact with each other which teaches lot of useful life skills of caring, negotiating, helping and seeking. If you want to be an integral part of your child's learning while having a village of your own to help you raise your child, look no further.

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
My son, my wife and I love La Playa! Because of the high level of parental involvement, I've had the opportunity to really watch my sons grow and develop. Our son, who is 4, is learning about conflict resolution, bugs, gardening and well as all the more "traditional" preschool stuff - puzzles, art projects, he's even learning to read! The community aspect is really strong, so if you are looking for that kind of environment for you as well as your child, strongly consider la playa!


La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
we were so happy to find la playa. we wanted a school that was also a community, w/a warm and inclusive environment. we found it! if you are looking for a play-based, child centered preschool where parent education and involvement are important, this is it!! i have two chldren and we've been here 3 years. we would never consider going anywhere else, tho we toured many others and have friends in several other schools. this is just the best fit for us. come on a tour!

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
La Playa has been a wonderful preschool for our family. My child's favorite are the nurturing teachers. My favorite is the parent education. La Playa is a play-based program but the kids learn by being motivated from within. They are not forced to write or count or paint or garden, they do it because they love it. La Playa is a hidden gem in Culver City!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Playa Co-Op Nursery School
Po Box 3464, Culver City, CA  90231
(310) 751-6827
Last modified La Playa Co-Op Nursery School is a Private school that serves grade PK
La Playa Co-Op Nursery School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top