Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Claremont United Methodist Nursery 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very pretentious. When you first visit you will think what an adorable school and great curriculum. However, they just let the kids play and do only 20% teaching. I've witnessed their way of disciplining which is to embarrass a child and make that child feel horrible. Don't let this school mislead you. They are unfriendly, unkind and they make sure you feel grateful that they are letting YOU attend their school.

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 5

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
The Preschool at Claremont United Methodist was an amazing experience for my two sons, who each spent 2 years there. Now that my youngest is in kindergarten and my oldest is in 3rd grade I can fully appreciate their preschool experiences. From the start, they loved attending. The director and staff made every child feel welcome every single day. There were always engaging activities planned for every type of learner. They learned how to problem solve, get along with others, and love learning. On the days I was privileged enough to complete the Parent Participation days I was in awe of the teachers and their program. (I've taught elementary school for 16 years and know when I see good teaching.) When my boys moved on to kindergarten they were very well-prepared. They had spent their preschool years participating in developmentally appropriate play-based learning rather than completing worksheets. I can't thank their preschool director enough for her expertise in knowing what preschoolers need to be successful, happy learners!


Claremont United Methodist Nursery 4

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
Who sad to have parents like the one below who feels she is entitled to having whatever she wants as soon as she enters a place. I am sure if the director stereotyped it wasn t because she was being malicious but doing her JOB. When we were at the preschool both my son and daughter truly enjoyed it, were happy and they LOVED school! I was also able to be a part of many parent-child bonding activities such as going on walking field trips, family picnics, classroom plays, family night out, star gazing, and the volunteering during the summer enrichment program! (Where yes they group the children .and do car washes, toy washes, sand castles, camping and much more summer fun activities!) Too bad they didn t have these kind of schools when I was growing up! Oh and the teachers are soooooo nice! Can be costly but definitely worth it!

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
my husband and i had a list of preschools to go to and Cumns was the first on the list we walked in with our three year old son and was greeted by the director she was funny and warm and put all of our fears as parents to rest she told us about the program, and we were hooked , she took us on a tour of the classroom and my child immediately wanted to be involved needless to say we didnt go to any of the other schools. i was reading some of the other comments and i feel it necessary to defend the director the comments said that ,she said by looking at a child she will place them that is not what she says she says that by observing there child over a period of time she will place them, a child does not have to speak to show where they should be placed, ever heard the saying actions speak louder than words!!!!!!!! does it really matter were your child's room is as long as they are learning and happy sorry that your daughter didn't get into the purple room i think someone has room envy its not about the color its about the child i"m happy to say that my child is in the green room with miss Erica, learning and happy i cant say enough about all of the teachers and Jeri good job !!

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 1

Posted August 10, 2011
- a parent
This school is HORRIBLE!! My daughter and I walked into her office and immediatly she told me that my 3 yr. old would be in the green room. My friend's 3 yr.old was placed in the purple room;therefore, I proceeded to ask how room placement was determined? Was it based on age, development, etc.? She proceeded to tell me that by looking at a child she could determine which room was best suited for them. I found this disturbing because my daughter did not even open her mouth and yet she was labeled "Green Room". How dare she label my child without merit!! Confused and disturbed, I asked how she could stereotype like that. She responded by asking me if I worked? She then explained that for those who are employed they "just know certain things pertaining to their job." WOW, A preschool director that stereotypes! FYI... the kids that were there for summer session were between the ages of 2-5 (grouped together) and scrubbing toys with tooth brushes.... I was mortified! This is nothing but an expensive daycare and the director needs to learn a few life lessons herself! Little did she know that as soon as we left, my so-called "Green Room" child said "Mommy, that lady was ridiculous!!!!"


Claremont United Methodist Nursery 3

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
School is good, teachers are good and co operative. The frustrating part is there are lot of fund rising activities. Parent need to participate in most of those. If we calculate all contributions plus tuition fee almost equals to any other preschool direct tuition fee. I can not say this preschool is the least expensive. It seems like that but really its not.

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 0
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
Lots of personal attention for each child and no 'classroom' feel.

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 2

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This school does not teach the basic academics that pre-kinder kids need. There is little to no focus on letter learning or number writing. Your child will have tons of fun attending this school but they may not be fully prepared for kindergarten. Be prepared. We were not and now our child is behind on his kinder skills.


Claremont United Methodist Nursery 5

Posted August 08, 2009
- a parent
I am so happy to have found a great preschool for my daughter. She loves going to school, and has grown so much since starting there. I love that she is learning through play, and couldn't ask for a better preschool.

Claremont United Methodist Nursery 0
no rating

Posted March 22, 2009
- a teacher
I have seen an compared quite a few schools and Claremont United Methodist Nursery School is the best I've seen. They have the best staff with a great director. They are all very warm, welcoming, and they provide the best teaching method for children who love to explore. I currently work for a school with an academic based curriculum and children just don't seem as excited to learn as they do at CUMNS.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Claremont United Methodist Nursery
211 West Foothill Boulevard, Claremont, CA  91711
(909) 624-8223
Last modified Claremont United Methodist Nursery is a Private school that serves grade PK
Claremont United Methodist Nursery Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top