Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
96 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori American School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter goes to Montessori American School and we are so happy with the experience she is having there. All the staff and teachers are so attentive to the needs of the students and helped my daughter settle in at her own pace and in her own way. She absolutely loves school and I have seen such positive changes in her independence and confidence since she started. You can tell the staff are so passionate and really care for the kids and allow them to learn and grow at their own pace. Between the nurturing environment and the high quality curriculum we could not be happier with our choice!

Montessori American School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
I'd like to say thanks to the entire staff, in particular the Director of the school Edith. She is so accommodating and really makes sure both parents and students alike are incredibly happy with their experience at the school. You can tell she has been doing this for a long time and loves it!


Montessori American School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are incredibly well trained and treat the students in a very compassionate and loving manner, while still teaching them the rules and the way to behave.

Montessori American School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
There is no homework at this school for the younger children, which I think it appropriate for this age group.

Montessori American School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
The school is very good about teaching students how to interact with one another in a respectful and caring manner.


Montessori American School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are incredibly nurturing and strongly promote these values. They make sure students learn appropriate behavior with one another and develop a mutual respect for adults and peers.

Montessori American School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
We are proud parents of a Montessori American School current student and a graduate. Our family could not be happier with the level of education provided by the extraordinary caring staff at MAS. MAS provides a warm safe environment for children to thrive through hands-on activities that encourage engaging conversation and critical thinking. Comparing MAS graduates in my daughter's new Kindergarten class with other students, it is evident that MAS kids are given a colossal head start with advantages in preparedness, social skills, and self-control over their non-Montessori peers. We are proud to be part of MAS's commitment to success and can say with the deepest sincerity, that we endorse Montessori American School for your child's personal growth.

Montessori American School 5

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
The Montessori American School is the best investment you will ever make for your child. The children learn in a loving, nurturing environment led by an amazing director and dedicated teachers that enable them to learn in a stress free environment. In addition to to the Montessori materials there are extra classes that can help your child develop. There are yoga, Spanish, music and my personal favorite, art. My daughter was exposed to artwork starting from the cave paintings all the way through the impressionists. Imagine going to an art museum and your child knowing about the artist, their works and their style. My daughter was a student at this wonderful school for 31/2 years. Now in first grade she is thriving academically far exceeding the standards for an entering first grader. Her teacher gave her the tools to succeed and the self confidence to be an inquisitive learner. If they had a first grade she would still be there!! I recommend this school to any parent who is looking for an exceptional place for their child to be challenged, nurtured and overall be a happy child. Thank you Montessori American!!!! Fall 2011


Montessori American School
no rating

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This school is great my son just finished kindergarten here. He is reading, and writing. He is also doing division. All of the teachers are very nice and attentive to the students needs. He has been here since kindergarten. I highly recommend this scool!

Montessori American School 4

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
The teaching is second to none! Teachers are caring and committed to their students. This is truly a Montessori school and follows the principles and theories very closely. My only 'complaint' is that there are not many opportunities for parents to get to know each other and participate in school activities (no holiday performances, etc). However, the growth I've seen in my son's learning and development makes it well worth it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori American School
3604 Bonita Road, Chula Vista, CA  91910
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (619) 422-1220
Last modified Montessori American School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top