Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Desert Trails Preparatory Academy charter school opened its doors in July 2014. Prior to this date the school was known as Desert Trails Elementary school which was part of the Adelanto school district. As an independent charter school we are excited about all of the growth the scholars have made. We are excited to see continued growth in the future years.
June 25, 2014

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Trails Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
DTPU is a school my children eagerly await to attend every morning. My children have learned so much for so little time. Finally a school where my children are challenged and not sitting around waiting for others to catch up. On the other hand I have seen teachers working together to help students that need help. My children have had incredible teachers and these teachers go above and beyond. I can walk away knowing my children will be safe because of their safety guideline in place.

Desert Trails Elementary School 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a teacher
I was a teacher at DTPA for the 2013-2014 school year. This school is a joke. Special Education services are not provided legally and the teachers work their bums off, with little to no positive feedback. Teachers are attacked and students endure a lengthy school day that burns them out. DTPA also has teachers working for the school that are not credentialed. I would stay far away from this school.


Desert Trails Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a teacher
This is a great independent charter school that accepts Transitional Kindergarten up to 6th grade.

Desert Trails Elementary School 3

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
My kids have been at Desert Trails since 2008. Up until this year my kids were never bullied. I love the new Principal Mr. Mobley. I hope he is able to turn this school around. I love all the teachers that my kids have had. I do agree that we need to get MORE parents involved that we need at this school

Desert Trails Elementary School 2

Posted April 06, 2012
- a community member
My sister has been going to DT for her second year. She is in fifth grade and she loves her teacher but there is ALOT of bullying. Personally you run into bad teachers like you run into bad cops. Not all of them are good, but not all of them are bad either. I personally think that the problem lays more with the students AND PARENTS. Teach your kids some respect and maybe kids won't be disrupted and actually will get the opportunity to learn something. I get tired of seeing the parent protesters talking about how it's the teachers fault. NO it's the parents fault. When did it become that the teacher had to be the parent. I see a lot of rudeness with parents at the school. It's not the teachers or the staffs fault for YOUR KIDS fighting. It's only they're job to control the situation as much as possible. I also get tired of having to wait at the intersection for a long time, it's not the wait that bothers me, it's the un supervised kids walking extra slow through the cross walk and dancing in the street.


Desert Trails Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2012
- a community member
my child went to this school for 2 years. there teachers were ok but there staff was bad. the princable does nothing when you have a problem all they say is ok dont worry ill do something about it and they never do. this school is not the type of school you would want to send your child to and there is alot fighting, gossiping, and many more so please do not send you child to this school because your child will not have a good elementry year here.

Desert Trails Elementary School 3

Posted July 20, 2011
- a community member
I attended Desert Trails from K-6. There were a lot of gossiping and students fighting and calling me names. I had fun and learned a lot in Mr. Franco's class. He gave us gift cards and granola bars.

Desert Trails Elementary School 2

Posted June 15, 2011
- a community member
ok obviously the person who commented saying that carlson was a great teacher wasnt in his class! i was and theres nothing great about that teacher that goes for payton too. i went to desert trails from kinder to 6th grade alright i think i know about the teachers. but the school wasnt great some of my best teachers were ms.hoffman and ms.freeman i knew ms.freeman as ms.gray but those teachers were great i had fun learning.


Desert Trails Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2011
- a community member
Okay, this is coming from a student there for two years and I am now in ninth grade. My experience there wasn't the best but not the worst because I didn't get bullied . But I can assure you there was many fights, as much as once a day. No field trips and the work was way too easy. As a student it was a miserable place to be and made me not like school. I transferred in 6th grade. : (

Desert Trails Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
it is not a school you would want to send your child , the principal does nothing to protect students from bulling, as well as special day class does not benifit students


Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Trails Elementary School
Adelanto, Adelanto, CA  92301
Last modified Desert Trails Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grade PK. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Trails Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top