Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School

Private | PK-4 | 185 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fayetteville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Great staff who treat my kid with respect. A really cool encouraging place. The inside of the Elementary Building is like walking into a Natural History Museum and a Contemporary Art Gallery at the same time. Not your average montessori school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

FMS is such a smart place. I have an MFA, taught college for years, and would have never wanted/had the opportunity to teach in a public school system. The building itself empowers us all to think and dream big. It's important for me to be a part of something that is constantly moving forward. This is a place that welcomes and nurtures strong minds. I'm proud to be a part of a loving and passionate community. We all get respect, resources, and room to grow. It's amazing to me that one person can influence the lives of so many. Very blessed to have found Vicki Butler and her Fayetteville Montessori School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2014

I have two children here and I have been nothing but happy. My children are well taken care of and it shows through their happiness. In addition, my oldest child is learning in leaps and bounds and she is so proud of the work she does and her classroom. My infant son is always happy at drop off and pick up. They send amazing pictures to keep us connected and I love it. The teachers and administration are always striving to do the best for the children and the school. We wouldn't want to be any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

Has anyone else seen the owner's dogs running freely around the school? Is that even legal?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

I have worked in other Montessori schools and I wouldn't call this a Montessori school. The only thing that qualified as Montessori were the few ragged, misused materials scattered around the rooms. They do not have mixed age classrooms that are so beneficial. The turnover rate here is extremely high. The lead guide in one of the preschool rooms asked me if I knew how to do a particular material because she had no clue. It was a material called the binomial cube that is a foundational senatorial work in Primary. I quickly discovered that the only training almost all of these teachers get is a quick, non accredited training from the school itself. Real Montessori training is intensive for three full summers with a required internship. Mostly, they just throw a warm body in a classroom when someone up and quits, which happened in three different rooms during the couple of months I was there. I stayed because I hoped to be helpful with my experience and I love the kids, but I got really discouraged. The assistant in the room I was in wouldn't stop yelling at the kids and she would drink on her lunch breaks. I'm serious. I got out of there quick.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2014

Was horrified to find out that our child's medical information was never filed or inputted into the computer. It was "in a pile waiting to be filed" somewhere. As soon as we saw how the paperwork was handled and how things were really run, we pulled our child out immediately. If your child is there, I would highly suggest you check and make sure they have all of your contact information updated, along with the medical information. If your child was injured they may not even be able to reach you, due to their lack of organization and professionalism. Our Montessori experience was a complete letdown for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

The lead teacher in my kid's class was fired and a new lead teacher was appointed. Nobody notified the parents. I asked the front desk and they didn't tell me either. This kind of thing happened more than twice within a year. The teachers seem OK but are not so enthusiastic. Terrible management. Try to avoid it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

Our four year old son has been at Montessori school for three years now, and we just enrolled our nine month old daughter. I wouldn't take them anywhere else for their pre-K education. We've experienced great teachers, wonderful enrichment programs (movement and dance, yoga, Spanish, etc.), and fun educational opportunities. Our son came home last week and gave us a lesson on nouns and verbs! Kindergarten readiness will not be an issue at all! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

My daughter has been attending from 3 1/2 years old to 6 years old She is now in the AMAZING Elementary program. We intend on keeping her enrolled until she is too old to attend. She thrives academically, socially & emotionally. The teachers are incredible. Parent involvement is off the charts! We all have a common goal, to expose our children to many different subjects and respect the great, innate intelligence they posses. Montessori philosophy is radiated from my child. She reads anything, loves math, science, yoga & Chinese & Spanish. Brava to Vikki Butler for growing this school from a one room house to the next chapter; a state of the art elementary school slated to open next year:-) Any person who can achieve this amazing accomplishment of 36 years, gets all of my respect. If you are looking for a safe, great place to trust your child to, this is the place. If you want them to be able to be encouraged to live up to their full potential and allowed to be independent, this is the place. If you wish your child to be loving , kind and accepting and interested in thier fellow friends and the diversity that each culture brings to the table this is the place:-) Peace...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

our daughter is thriving in this environment. i agree from a business side it seems a little unorganized but from an enrichment and nurturing side it is exceptional. Miss Vicki has been outstanding and concerned on a personal level for our child and all the teachers seem amazing. i think it is important to remember that a program is also what you put into it not just what you take from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

My child has been attending Montessori since 4.5 months of age. The care she receives is great, and in my opinion, much better than any other alternative in the area. The ratio is 2:8, but most of the time it is 2:5 which means lots of supervision, a plus to any parent. She is always smiling (never crying) when I pick her up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

My child has had numerous problems after I took her out of Montessori. I previously wrote a great review, and have since had to change it, as the director of the school has fired all the great teachers! The other parent was correct, the aides changed too frequently, and I did find out after I kept asking, that this school was not an accredited Montessori school. Making learning fun is important, but so is continuity and structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

The administrator can't manage the school. Teachers and aides leave frequently. In one semester my child had three different teachers and 4 different aides. There was one wonderful teacher and one wonderful aide and they have good equipment-thus two stars. However, the equipment wasn't kept up and the teachers all left! This isn't a strict Montessori school, either, nor is it accredited. I was so disappointed I removed my child and changed schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 64%
Two or more races 22% 2%
Hispanic 8% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Vicki Butler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (479) 443-1887

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

57 East Township Street
Fayetteville, AR 72703
Website: Click here
Phone: (479) 443-7812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Root Elementary School
Fayetteville, AR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT