Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 67
Before care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

18 reviews of this school


Tucson Community School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
All three of my boys have thrived at TCS - a beautiful open space with age-specific play yards and an old-school environment where each child is honored and encouraged. They were more than ready academically going into grade school and, as is common with TCS graduates, their teachers found their social skills and critical thinking superior to their peers. Teachers are kind and so professional, they KNOW your child and understand what would help them thrive. The new director and administration is very strong, adhering to the fundamental mission of the school but adapting to the realities of modern family life. If you have known TCS in the past, the old touchstones will be there, and some new modern features will lighten your load. I give it five stars.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I researched schools for 2 years before landing at the Tucson Community School. I was looking for a place that focused on play based learning, systems thinking, emotional literacy and a parent education program. TCS is a parent co-operative. On volunteer hours: the TCS board has created several options for parents to volunteer their time to meet the needs of two working parents. Every teacher in this school spends the time to really "know" your child. I feel confident sharing that I have toured several schools and the personal touch you receive at TCS cannot be found anywhere. Like my fellow TCS parents, I also wish that the Tucson Community School was K-12. TCS is for families seeking a strong community of parents who have a larger world view and will embrace your children as part of it.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
I recently moved from other state and my child recently become part of Tucson Community School and I initially found some hiccups in getting him adjusted to his class as this was the first time in his life he has experienced transfer of place, leaving old friends and school etc. I got really worried and shared my issues with management and teachers, I am quite satisfied the way things has been taken care of.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
I've had both of my children go through Tucson Community School and I cannot say more positive things about the school and its staff. TCS is a place where I can watch my child learn. They embrace parents in the classroom, and the teachers get to know each individual child for who he or she is. It is amazing how the staff sets up a curriculum that encourages my child to love to learn, ask questions, explore while also building the self confidence I know will last a lifetime TCS is NAEYC Accredited, so you know the school is well versed in early child hood education, but when you are in the classroom, all you soon realize they also know how to make learning child centered and fun!

Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
TCS is simply a wonderful place to be a kid. The school meets the needs of each child while giving them the chance to grow and explore. My chid is delighted to go to school everyday and has met wonderful friends. We love being involved in the school and our child's education, it truly feels like a community.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
Best hidden gem in Tucson! Tucson Community School is so much more than a school to us, it has been a second home. The sense of community is unparalleled and my children have been nurtured and given the individual attention they needed to flourish. My children and I wish that TCS continued into the elementary years but I am confident they have been given the skills to thrive in any environment. One look at this school and their amazing teachers and I am confident most would fall in love as we did.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Tucson Community School is a special place. For our family it is an opportunity for my children to learn and grow in a carefully planned environment curated by amazing teachers with many years of experience. It is also a place where as parents, we can connect in a great community through the mutual caring for our children's early education through the school. It is a caring, kind and creative place for our children. I feel that the parent participation opportunities are a wonderful experience of sharing and giving back and I feel greatly appreciated for the time my husband and I give to the school.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Sending my children to Tucson Community School has been the most wonderful experience for my children and my family as a whole. In this fast moving world, it gives us peace of mind to know that our children are learning in a safe and nurturing environment and are surrounded by teachers, staff and parents who not only care for the well being of my own children but all children. TCS is a true community and gives its children the best start any parent could hope for.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
The school is play-based, not academic based. This is good since at this age kids should be playing and learning, not learning academics yet. If you do your research about the school this is easily seen. If you do research on why children should be playing and the educational benefits of play you will see why this school is an awesome option for that. Having strong friendships, fun, and learning as you play should be the main objective for this age. School is for reading, writing, and math in a formal setting.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
TCS is Tucson's only parent-owned cooperative preschool/kindergarten. The cooperative model makes all the difference. Parents don't just drop off the kids at school. At TCS, parents are required by contract to participate in the running of the school. The school's motto is "Kids and parents learning together." TCS is Tucson's first racially integrated school, established 1948. My kids, alumni, say, "I wish I could go to TCS forever." I can't say enough good stuff about TCS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucson Community School
2109 East Hedrick Drive, Tucson, AZ  85719
(520) 326-9212
Last modified Tucson Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Tucson Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top