Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
67 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tucson Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
At TCS students are taught intrinsic reward and respect for others, wrapped around in empathy. Children are not prompted to say sorry but to try to see the others POV and are asked in an inquiry process to think about actions. Seeing three year olds able to articulate how their feelings were hurt and to have another three year old understand the impact, is impressive and creates real change. At TCS no child is told to give another a turn-you play as long as your interest dictates and then the next child (who has put their name down on the swing list for example) assumes their place. Children play freely without adult directives; they are guided in fair play and safe play, but never an adult's idea of play. One often hears from grade school teachers that they can identify higher kevels of empathy, community and strong moral sense from TCS kids as a whole.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Three boys over eleven years, I can safely say we love this school, The community involvement is unparalleled, being in the classroom a few mornings a semester helps you appreciate what school means, what great early education can be, and how funny engaged children are. Professional, degreed teachers and although school is morning only, there are many afternoon options for working families. Classrooms are full force arenas of discovery- clean, uncluttered and everything is child sized. Each class cohort is children at the same developmental age- so reassuring for younger children to not be in with five year olds. The school evolves over time and is now under the stewardship of professional hands-on administrators who are moving with the times, with a footing rooted in TCS tradition. The outdoor spaces are park-like, and natural light floods each classroom though walls of windows. The most outdoor play in any preschool I looked at- a must for any child.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
TCS is a resource for our family. As helping parents in the classroom, my husband and I have learned valuable parenting techniques from the teachers and from other parents. This time with our little people (from 2.5 to 5 or 6) is so valuable and TCS knows and cherishes that. I've also established friendships with other grownups as my sons have within each class. The TCS experience has also helped our family figure out what it wants and needs from schools at the next level.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
As an early childhood teacher educator, I did a lot of searching when it was time to pick a preschool. I knew I wanted an emphasis on outdoor play and inquiry-based learning which still had structure and routines. This is our third year at Tucson Community school and I can honestly say it has been one of the best things that has happened to our son. His teachers have been kind, caring, and extremely gifted in their teaching and he has thrived socially, emotionally and academically. TCS is more than just "our son's school"-- it is our community and extended family and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
My son attended TCS 2 years of preschool and is now in Kindergarten at TCS. I visited about 8 other preschools before choosing TCS, but as soon as I walked onto the campus, I knew this was the right place for us. The environment is designed for children to engage in age-appropriate early childhood activities that are important for their development- gross motor skills, social skills, fine motor skills and emotional intelligence. The teachers are AMAZING! The way they introduce concepts to the children, their patience and the way they speak to the children is magical. As a parent participation school, parents have an opportunity to be engaged in their child's experience through classroom participation and volunteering to help with fundraisers and tasks. It really does take a village to raise a child and TCS is a perfect example of that. My son knows all of his classmates parents, he feels very comfortable talking with adults because he's used to having adults around him, he has developed an incredible sense of self and a strong understanding of his influence on those around him and his environment. Academics are introduced in such a fun and creative way, that the children understand math and reading for it's purpose and are excited to participate in these activities. Gardening is a big part of the curriculum. This play-based preschool has everything we could have ever hoped for in a preschool. We will be sad to move on next year!


Tucson Community School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Tucson Community School is amazing. My son has attended for the past three years and I couldn't say enough nice things about this school. All of the teachers are wonderful, approachable, kind, and loving. They cater to the individual child's needs and I am confident that my son is well taken care of every day. The community school aspect is fantastic, helping families form lasting bonds between children and parents alike. They offer both half day and full day so every family is taken care of. R. Grandl

Tucson Community School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
All three of my boys have thrived at TCS - a beautiful open space with age-specific play yards and an old-school environment where each child is honored and encouraged. They were more than ready academically going into grade school and, as is common with TCS graduates, their teachers found their social skills and critical thinking superior to their peers. Teachers are kind and so professional, they KNOW your child and understand what would help them thrive. The new director and administration is very strong, adhering to the fundamental mission of the school but adapting to the realities of modern family life. If you have known TCS in the past, the old touchstones will be there, and some new modern features will lighten your load. I give it five stars.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I researched schools for 2 years before landing at the Tucson Community School. I was looking for a place that focused on play based learning, systems thinking, emotional literacy and a parent education program. TCS is a parent co-operative. On volunteer hours: the TCS board has created several options for parents to volunteer their time to meet the needs of two working parents. Every teacher in this school spends the time to really "know" your child. I feel confident sharing that I have toured several schools and the personal touch you receive at TCS cannot be found anywhere. Like my fellow TCS parents, I also wish that the Tucson Community School was K-12. TCS is for families seeking a strong community of parents who have a larger world view and will embrace your children as part of it.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
I recently moved from other state and my child recently become part of Tucson Community School and I initially found some hiccups in getting him adjusted to his class as this was the first time in his life he has experienced transfer of place, leaving old friends and school etc. I got really worried and shared my issues with management and teachers, I am quite satisfied the way things has been taken care of.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
I've had both of my children go through Tucson Community School and I cannot say more positive things about the school and its staff. TCS is a place where I can watch my child learn. They embrace parents in the classroom, and the teachers get to know each individual child for who he or she is. It is amazing how the staff sets up a curriculum that encourages my child to love to learn, ask questions, explore while also building the self confidence I know will last a lifetime TCS is NAEYC Accredited, so you know the school is well versed in early child hood education, but when you are in the classroom, all you soon realize they also know how to make learning child centered and fun!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucson Community School
2109 East Hedrick Drive, Tucson, AZ  85719
(520) 326-9212
Last modified Tucson Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Tucson Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top