Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Tucson Community School is a special place. For our family it is an opportunity for my children to learn and grow in a carefully planned environment curated by amazing teachers with many years of experience. It is also a place where as parents, we can connect in a great community through the mutual caring for our children's early education through the school. It is a caring, kind and creative place for our children. I feel that the parent participation opportunities are a wonderful experience of sharing and giving back and I feel greatly appreciated for the time my husband and I give to the school.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Sending my children to Tucson Community School has been the most wonderful experience for my children and my family as a whole. In this fast moving world, it gives us peace of mind to know that our children are learning in a safe and nurturing environment and are surrounded by teachers, staff and parents who not only care for the well being of my own children but all children. TCS is a true community and gives its children the best start any parent could hope for.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
The school is play-based, not academic based. This is good since at this age kids should be playing and learning, not learning academics yet. If you do your research about the school this is easily seen. If you do research on why children should be playing and the educational benefits of play you will see why this school is an awesome option for that. Having strong friendships, fun, and learning as you play should be the main objective for this age. School is for reading, writing, and math in a formal setting.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
TCS is Tucson's only parent-owned cooperative preschool/kindergarten. The cooperative model makes all the difference. Parents don't just drop off the kids at school. At TCS, parents are required by contract to participate in the running of the school. The school's motto is "Kids and parents learning together." TCS is Tucson's first racially integrated school, established 1948. My kids, alumni, say, "I wish I could go to TCS forever." I can't say enough good stuff about TCS.

Tucson Community School 3

Posted August 02, 2008
- a parent
TCS is a family-oriented and family-friendly preschool, but at the expense of academics. My kids had a great time, made strong friends, but are not where we would like them to be with reading, writing, math. This is not important to most TCS parents, many of whom appear to be there for social reasons and not for their children, but it is important to us which is why we are changing schools.


Tucson Community School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with a strong focus on self-directed learning activities. A tremendous amount of parental involvemet is required, but it is worth the extra effort.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted May 06, 2006
- a parent
Excellent PK-K program. Loving, knowledgeable staff. Education for the whole family, as family involvement is not just encouraged, it's required. Children are encouraged to explore, play and learn in a safe, loving environment. Excellent staff/student ratio.

Tucson Community School 5

Posted April 18, 2006
- a parent
Tucson Community School is unique -- it's like a step back in time to when life was simpler. For ages 3-kindergarten, it's a small school with small classes and a VERY high level of parent involvement. Parent involvement in and out of the classroom is not only expected but required. They do not focus heavily on academics because they believe that at ages 3-5, children need opportunities for play and exploration, for pursuing their interests and curiosities. It's a wonderful school with a waiting list to get in.


Tucson Community School 5

Posted March 29, 2006
- a parent
We have been absolutely thrilled with our experience at TCS. This is a great preschool environment for children whose parents want to be involved. The staff is friendly, caring and knowledgeable. We love being able to be a part of our child's early education!

Tucson Community School 5

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
Tucson Community School is a parent cooperative preschool that has been serving Tucson families for nearly 60 years. My daughter is in Kindergarten this year. She has attended since she was three. The play-based curriculum can't be beat. Children are provided beautiful learning environments and tools. The school is NAEYC accredited, and the staff attends the yearly conference, often as presenters. Children are skillfully guided through their days in ways that allow them to learn to solve their own problems, think critically, and to be inquisitive. As a parent cooperative, parent involvement is high, and all parents are required to spend significant time helping in the classroom. This allows a very low student/adult ratio, and is monumentally rewarding to parents, children, teachers and the overall school community. TCS is my daughter's favorite place. Visit and see what a wonderful, enriching place it is-- the best preschool in Tucson, hands down.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucson Community School
2109 East Hedrick Drive, Tucson, AZ  85719
(520) 326-9212
Last modified Tucson Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Tucson Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top