Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethany Learning Center

Preschool | 183 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

SunValley Learning Center formerly known as Bethany Learning center is such an amazing place for children! I have two children currently attending and I will be honest it was a little nerve racking as my children have been in in-home private day care. I went and toured quite a few Big Name preschools actually walking out in tears from some questioning how anyone could leave their children in those places. Then on a drive one day we found SV and I'm so glad we did! My son was a little behind verbally but after just a few months there is a huge improvement. Both our children are excited to come to school and my son will frequently ask on a Saturday "Can I go to school tomorrow?" All the staff here treats you as family and there is a great open line of communication with Teachers and Parents. They provide a hands on learning for our little ones which we have found has been great for their understanding. We as a family just feel so blessed that we found this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Bethany Learning Center is a fantastic preschool. The class sizes are small and they have a low ratio of teachers to children. The children are given wonderful learning experiences in a very loving and encouraging setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

This is an awesome school. Both my sons went to pre-k & k at BLC. The teachers, staff, & director are all very loving to the children. By their actions it is evident they are Christians. Both my sons excelled, grew, & matured academically & socially. I would highly recommend it. When there is any sort of discipline problem they deal with it in a loving manner. Parents are involved but they also understand when you work full time & there is no condemnation for not being able to volunteer a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

My Five year old Daughter has been going to Bethany since she was two. We have been very happy with her development. I have nothing negative to say about this school. We will be starting our 16 month old next month. This is a Christ based school and what they teach my daughter helps me with my own faith. She is always volunteering to say grace at family gatherings even though she has always been very shy. The staff is fun and knows very well how to help the young ones become socially strong. There are days my daughter just doesn't want to come home. The cost was less per day than we paid a friend to take care her. Bethany does better than any school I've ever been associated with (kindergarten - masters degree in engineering and I have four family members who teach in pre-school through 6th grade)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

We started school a week ago and my child does not want to go home. Bethany Learning Center has highly qualified teachers that provide a variety of activities that holds my childs interest. So far the communication has been complete. It keeps me informed of all the upcoming events. Low class size and excellent aftercare makes Bethany Learning Center well worth the tuition we pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Don't agree with the comments on summer camp - some of the most experienced teachers are still there - year-round Bethany Learning Center is your best bet for 15 months - kindergarten. You pay a slight bit more - and you get much much more - art, music, pe, reading, math, science, and lots of family involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

Bethany Learning Center is simply the best. I've had 2 of my kids there, and we have loved every single teacher they've had. There is an excellent level of communication with parents, and they offer so many 'extras' to enhance the learning experience. This will be our last year there and we will miss it so much!! One correction to the school description though: they actually accept children as young as 15 months now. They expanded their program a couple of years back to include toddlers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Both of my children have loved Bethany this school year. They have wonderful teachers as well as teacher assistants. They offer hands on activities as well as individualized learning. We also love the focus on God and how the students attend Chapel once a week. FYI-The school also offers a summer camp. Do not get the summer camp staff confused with the regular school year staff. During the school year Beathanly Learning Center has its regular teachers. The summer camp is staffed by college age individuals. The quality teachers are on vacation during summer camp time. Summer Camp is still fun but the staff does not have the same level of experience with regards to teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

We LOVE Bethany. My son goes for preK and will also go for Kindergarden. The class sizes are small but they do a great job focusing on education. The extra classes they offer, like Science and Karate are a huge plus to us also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 42%
Two or more races 8% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6240 South Price Road
Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone: (480) 838-2440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT