Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
85 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Center School 5

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
We have had two children attend MCS for the full 3-year program. Our second just graduated this month. Our oldest graduated 6 years ago. Both children are very different and the school has been absolutely amazing for both of them. Our oldest just finished 6th grade and has been in an extremely accelerated gifted program working 2-3 grade levels ahead. I truly believe that the experience she had at MCS from ages 3-6 set her up for such an accelerated program. Our younger daughter graduated with her finals works including division and some geometry along with writing stories and completing amazing art projects. The teachers here are fantastic across the board. The administrator has devoted herself to teaching tradition Montessori methods and they really work. The animals and specials are wonderful. The children learn through the environment and they also have Yoga, Mandarin Chess and Art. I cannot say enough good things about this school. Wherever you are in the Valley, it is worth coming here. Your child's entire educational journey will be better for it!

Montessori Center School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Nimal Vaz for bringing this quality of Montessori education to Phoenix! It truly is a wonderful school.


Montessori Center School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful at guiding the children and knowing what is going on with each child and their work! Amazing.

Montessori Center School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
None. Its preschool and experience based learning. The only homework is to continue Montessori in the home. Have your child help cook, clean and do other things around the house. The find it fun and are learning responsibility at the same time. My daughter LOVES to help cook.

Montessori Center School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Each child works at his or her own pace and the children are given the tools to problem solve and work independently. The teachers will guide them, but it is up to the child to master a work. I have seen the teachers do it. They will not let a child just give up and no do a work. It is part of the process.


Montessori Center School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
I would reiterate what I have said in other reviews. Children and definitely taught respect and kindness.

Montessori Center School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Children are taught respect for their environment and respect for others. The teachers spend time modeling appropriate behaviors and walking the children through resolving differences. The children work independently and develop pride in their work and what they have accomplished. They also work in small groups and develop skills for working together fairly.

Montessori Center School 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
If every child attended Montessori Center, we would have a nation of brilliant and creative children. The academics are superior to any school I've seen and children move at their own pace, which allows them self-confidence and the feeling of mastery before moving on. Unlike most schools, there is no sitting around waiting for the last student to "get it" or a rush for any student that is behind the others, and hence, no feeling of failure. Children never want to leave at the end of the day and they head toward the magical sensory garden and beg not to leave it. You, too, will be enchanted by the love and care that goes in to this organic garden, replete with seasonal vegetables that the children harvest themselves, and gorgeous flowers and trees all the children can name. The extracurricular activities, such as chess, Spanish, Chinese, and yoga, to name a few, contribute to the well roundedness of each student. Our grand daughter knows more about geography, history and science than I think we do! The best gift you can give to your child is to have them spend time at Montessori Center.


Montessori Center School 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
Montissori Center School has been the home for our children these past 2 1/2 years. Never in my life have I witnessed the joy for learning that I see in their eyes. If only every child could begin their education at Montissori Center then I truly believe our society would be a better place.

Montessori Center School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
This school has a solid administration staff, where one of the owners greets you almost every afternoon when you pick up your child, and the morning staff member has been there for over 15 years. The other owner is one of the teachers, and she was a direct student of Maria Montessori and she herself has taught for over four decades. The student population is diverse, and many parents and children before heading home spend time conversing while children are exploring and playing in the sensory garden located immediately outside of the school's front door, most of which has been maintained by the students and the environment specialist teacher who comes in to teach gardening to the children several times per week. Afternoon activities include several languages, chess, yoga, and more. We transferred our daughter from another Montessori from the east side of town and although the beginning was an adjustment (as it would be with any life change), she has excelled gracefully and loves the friends she has made and the teachers and aides at MCS. Parent involvement is limited to specific events and days, but parents can come in to observe or have lunch by appointment at any time.

Nearby schools

Montessori Center School
8625 North 19th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85021
(602) 678-4470
Last modified Montessori Center School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top