Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
We Love DDPS!!! Great teachers and owners, supportive parents, impressive creative projects, and fun events for the kiddos (especially pizza day, bubbles the clown, and zoo day)! My mini me is prepared for kindergarten and is a balanced child thanks to the love, care, mentorship, and creativity from Desert Dawn! We have been here for over two years and wish we started here sooner.

Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter was a Goat and then a Pony and loved the teachers and great activities. Desert Dawn really instilled a love of learning into her, and the other families you'll meet there are exactly the kinds of people you would want your child to be around. We moved in February and my daughter still constantly talks about how much she misses her school 6 months later!


Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
This school is top notch! My daughter attended from age 2-kindergarten. She learned so much at this wonderful school. One morning at age 3 1/2 she was standing in the bathroom while I was putting make up on and she started reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and knew all of it! I was so taken back, it brought me to tears! She is now in second grade and loves to go with to pick up my son so she can get hugs from her prior teachers! My son started at DD when he was 18mo. and is currently a 'goat'. He also loves school and has benefit greatly from the structure, love and nurturing. Being a working Mom is difficult enough, the feeling that my children are being well taken care of when I can't be there is so comforting! I recommend this school to everyone I meet!

Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
I have had both of my sons at Desert Dawn for about 9 mos. It is the best thing that ever happened to us! The age-appropriate classes were a lifesaver for my kids (who are 17 mos apart and previously stuck in the same group). My oldest is now stimulated and challenged and my youngest has his own identity. The tenure of the teachers is what makes this school great. They are experienced, nurturing and effective. My kids love it and they're learning by leaps and bounds. Tons of fun activities; always something exciting going on. Incredibly affordable for the flexibility in hours offered. I looked for 3 years before finding something as great as Desert Dawn and it was totally worth it! (BTW, this site says they accept 3 - 6 yrs, but I think they accept 18 mos - 6 yrs.)

Desert Dawn Private School 0
no rating

Posted July 24, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at Desert Dawn since he was 1 1/2 years old. I can't say enough wonderful things about this school. The staff and teachers are amazing, very caring, nurturing and attentive. My son is getting ready too start kindergarten this fall and is already reading. I highly highly recommend Desert Dawn.


Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a parent
I would highly recommend Desert Dawn. Our son Jack has benefitted socially and academically in this setting. The staff clearly care about the well-being of the students---and work hard to provide them with structure and enrichment activities. It has a real community feel to it, which made the transition into a new school comfortable for our son (and us).

Desert Dawn Private School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2008
- a parent
Desert Dawn has been a wonderful and nurturing school for my toddler. The teachers' are warm and loving and really care about my son. This school made moving to Phoenix and starting a new job a much more bearable experience!

Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a parent
I would recommend Desert Dawn to ANYONE I met!Like most of the other parents have said, I would keep them there til college if I could. The teachers, aides, and Mr. Couvdos have made me feel SO secure when going back to work! AAA+++


Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted April 05, 2008
- a parent
My son can not get enough of this school. Zeke wakes up every day and asks me 'Mama can we go to Desert Dawn School today?' The teachers are awesome, and he comes home dirty, hungry, and tired from all of the fun at school every day. The art he brings home is so pretty and the teacher pick books for him from the library to take home and practice reading. Monthly they have a guest that comes in to share with the kids ie. the zoo, puppets, or something. All I can say is thank you DDPS, we love you!

Desert Dawn Private School 5

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
We moved to Phoenix from Kentucky. We stumbled upon Desert Dawn when I was driving around one day. I thank God we found it. Moving across the country and leaving our family and friends was hard on her. The teachers there were fabulous with the transition. She has really grown in their care. Parents participate. Children are happy and smiling. No one is running and screaming inside and toys are not being used as 'weapons'. I wish I could be home with her but Desert Dawn makes me feel good about daycare/preschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Dawn Private School
15815 North 40th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85032
(602) 493-5340
Last modified Desert Dawn Private School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Desert Dawn Private School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top