Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Dawn Private School

Preschool | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

We Love DDPS!!! Great teachers and owners, supportive parents, impressive creative projects, and fun events for the kiddos (especially pizza day, bubbles the clown, and zoo day)! My mini me is prepared for kindergarten and is a balanced child thanks to the love, care, mentorship, and creativity from Desert Dawn! We have been here for over two years and wish we started here sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My daughter was a Goat and then a Pony and loved the teachers and great activities. Desert Dawn really instilled a love of learning into her, and the other families you'll meet there are exactly the kinds of people you would want your child to be around. We moved in February and my daughter still constantly talks about how much she misses her school 6 months later!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

This school is top notch! My daughter attended from age 2-kindergarten. She learned so much at this wonderful school. One morning at age 3 1/2 she was standing in the bathroom while I was putting make up on and she started reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and knew all of it! I was so taken back, it brought me to tears! She is now in second grade and loves to go with to pick up my son so she can get hugs from her prior teachers! My son started at DD when he was 18mo. and is currently a 'goat'. He also loves school and has benefit greatly from the structure, love and nurturing. Being a working Mom is difficult enough, the feeling that my children are being well taken care of when I can't be there is so comforting! I recommend this school to everyone I meet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I have had both of my sons at Desert Dawn for about 9 mos. It is the best thing that ever happened to us! The age-appropriate classes were a lifesaver for my kids (who are 17 mos apart and previously stuck in the same group). My oldest is now stimulated and challenged and my youngest has his own identity. The tenure of the teachers is what makes this school great. They are experienced, nurturing and effective. My kids love it and they're learning by leaps and bounds. Tons of fun activities; always something exciting going on. Incredibly affordable for the flexibility in hours offered. I looked for 3 years before finding something as great as Desert Dawn and it was totally worth it! (BTW, this site says they accept 3 - 6 yrs, but I think they accept 18 mos - 6 yrs.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

My son has been at Desert Dawn since he was 1 1/2 years old. I can't say enough wonderful things about this school. The staff and teachers are amazing, very caring, nurturing and attentive. My son is getting ready too start kindergarten this fall and is already reading. I highly highly recommend Desert Dawn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I would highly recommend Desert Dawn. Our son Jack has benefitted socially and academically in this setting. The staff clearly care about the well-being of the students---and work hard to provide them with structure and enrichment activities. It has a real community feel to it, which made the transition into a new school comfortable for our son (and us).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

Desert Dawn has been a wonderful and nurturing school for my toddler. The teachers' are warm and loving and really care about my son. This school made moving to Phoenix and starting a new job a much more bearable experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

I would recommend Desert Dawn to ANYONE I met!Like most of the other parents have said, I would keep them there til college if I could. The teachers, aides, and Mr. Couvdos have made me feel SO secure when going back to work! AAA+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

My son can not get enough of this school. Zeke wakes up every day and asks me 'Mama can we go to Desert Dawn School today?' The teachers are awesome, and he comes home dirty, hungry, and tired from all of the fun at school every day. The art he brings home is so pretty and the teacher pick books for him from the library to take home and practice reading. Monthly they have a guest that comes in to share with the kids ie. the zoo, puppets, or something. All I can say is thank you DDPS, we love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

We moved to Phoenix from Kentucky. We stumbled upon Desert Dawn when I was driving around one day. I thank God we found it. Moving across the country and leaving our family and friends was hard on her. The teachers there were fabulous with the transition. She has really grown in their care. Parents participate. Children are happy and smiling. No one is running and screaming inside and toys are not being used as 'weapons'. I wish I could be home with her but Desert Dawn makes me feel good about daycare/preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Desert Dawn is the third daycare/school my son has attended and I wish it would have been the first. The school has a great atmosphere to it like a small town. The teachers are the BEST. and you don't get a bunch of 18 year olds that are gone in 4-6 months, the teachers are real and some have been there 15-20 years. My son has retained so much and made such good friends. My only complaint is my son can't attend from 1st through 6th grade. My son has retained so much and made such great frinds. Any future children of mine will attend Desert Dawn... Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My son has attened Desert Dawn for 2 years, and has excelled beyond my wildest dreams! The teachers and staff there are so caring and go above and beyond with each of the kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

i went to Desert Dawn and I loved that school sooo much! it was a great place! I met a lot of my best friends there! The staff is fun and its just a fun place 2 be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

Both of my daughters attended Desert Dawn. I recommend it to everyone I know. Nick Couvdes, the owner, is a genuinely caring person and is great with the kids. All of the teachers have been there for ages and are wonderful. You can tell they love children. Children are treated like family. My girls loved learning there. The teaching style is very hands-on and personal. So many interesting topics and projects! Our children are now in 3d and 5th grades, still keep in touch with all of their Desert Dawn friends, and like to go back to visit. This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

This school is WONDERFUL! I had my girls at a different area 'day care' and they had no interest in being there. I enrolled them in Desert Dawn and they have flourished. They have learned French and sign language. They also enjoy the art and music classes. The teaching staff is second to none. I wish they taught higher than kindergarten because I would keep them there as long as I could. Compared to the other tuition I paid at 3 other places, this is very reasonable, especially with all the learning your child gets. I can't say enough about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

My two children attend this school and we like everything about it. You can tell the teachers truly love what they are doing. The teachers have been there for years. My children are excited to go to school each day. They teach French and sign language at the school also. Just a truly wonderful school. The kids also love the play ground area - it's like a big park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

We were new to the area and finding a school for our 5 year old was hard, his birthday is late in the year. This school has been wonderful to him and us. He is really excelling and loves to go to school.I definately recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

My son attended preschool at age 3-4 then we left the area. I can't say enough, it's one the best in Phoenix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

After a year at another private preschool that my son was less than enthusiastic about, I bit the financial bullet and enrolled him at Desert Dawn, which had always been my first choice. He's flourishing. The director is a grandfatherly type person, and since there are usually so few men present in preschools, I love that my son has a male role model. The teachers and adult helpers are very nurturing and kind. They have been working at the school a long time, meaning low turnover. The school is in a house, and the back yard is huge--like a park. The school day goes from 9-3, but you can drop off your child as early as 6:30 and pick up as late as 6 p.m. for no extra charge. My son benefits from more play time with a longer day. I'm very impressed and highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 43%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15815 North 40th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Phone: (602) 493-5340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT