Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
35 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Community Mont School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Community Montessori School has been a blessing for my family during the past few years. We enrolled my son when he was a shy, little three-year-old, and it was the perfect environment for him. Janet, the administrator, has a very kind, yet firm demeanor, which helped to both educate my son and shape his personality. My son's birthday puts him on the cusp of being either young for his grade or a bit older than his peers. Naturally, my wife and I wanted to push him through and didn't mind him being younger than his classmates, but Janet and her head teacher Jocelyn encouraged us to keep him in Pre-K an additional year to let his personality mature. We sure are glad that we did. They shaped my little guy into confident little man who is more prepared for 1st grade than he would have been. We were so impressed with his results, that we enrolled our daughter in the school when she was 2 1/2. She loves it. The opportunities provided to my daughter to learn at her own pace, both supervised and independently, have proved very beneficial. She loves being able to select her own work, and takes great pride in teaching the lessons that she has mastered to her younger classmates. We also have another child enrolled for the fall, and are just as excited for her to be there, as the teachers are to educate her. Rounding out Janet's crew are Helen and Carol, who are more like family to the students than teachers. They have a passion for teaching the Montessori program, and it shows in their interactions with the kids. In the several times we have attended CMS during school hours, every child seems comfortable and productive. When our family fell on hard times, Janet was able to work with us via scholarships for our Kindergarten son. Without her help, we would not have had our son in the program and his education would not have developed as it has. We can't say enough good things about the school and its staff. If you are considering Montessori for your children, Community Montessori is your #1 option.

Community Mont School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My 3.5 year old started at CMS last Spring. We have had a wonderful experience at CMS. She has come out of her shell and really enjoys coming to school. She hugs her teachers goodbye when I pick her up and that shows me that she feels loved and comfortable at this school. The teachers here put so much effort into the Virtues project. My daughter comes home and can discuss concepts like trustworthiness, tact and responsibility. The teachers at this school truly value showing these kids how to behave and interact with empathy, love and respect. The expectations are clear and that makes it easy to participate in your child's education. There is regular parental involvement and the communication from Janet is consistent as she sends out plenty of reminders so that us parents can also be successful participants. It is an adorable "one room schoolhouse" type of environment. This allows the younger kids to learn with older students as role models while the older students have the opportunity to be a leader and feel that responsibility. Overall, we are happy to have our daughter learning in an environment that is safe and provides a variety of work that she finds to be interesting and challenging.


Community Mont School 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a community member
My daughter went to preschool at Community Montessori for a year and a half. I could not have asked for a better school for her to begin her education. The individual attention that each student gets is amazing. They foster autonomy and teach the children virtues in addition to a solid academic foundation. There truly was a wonderful sense of community at this school that my family will miss as my daughter continues her education elsewhere.

Community Mont School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
My granddaughter has attended Community Montessori for the past 2 years and is entering her third and final year at this school. Janet (director), and her staff; Jocelyn, Helen and Carol have become our extended family. Academically, the staff is robust in introducing a solid foundation in reading and mathematics while interspersing geography, culture and music. There is an emphasis on virtues and civility at this school that is priceless. There is a large backyard which is ideal for play time and the school has a colorful and friendly layout. Janet will often have various professionals visit the school to enrich the program with their special talents. There is an unbelievable sense of community here, which is why the school is so aptly named. The best thing about the entire experience is the way my granddaughter feels about the school. She feels loved and cared about. She looks forward to school every day. She consistently says she loves it. There's the proof. This school and its staff has provided a stability and lifelong foundation for my granddaughter to continue to thrive educationally and philosophically long after she graduates this coming spring.

Community Mont School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
Owner is too bossy and inflexible. She has an "I know everything" attitude and tends to be disrespectful to the parents. She offers zero scholarship or any type of financial assistance for preschool, but expects all the parents to do whatever she tells them to do. Her expectations for a 4 year old are often unreasonable and her discipline methods are questionable at best - her favorite way to discipline is to raise her voice to the point of yelling, and she has also yelled at me when I asked her normal questions that a paying customer would have. She doesn't like to be questioned and does not accept any form of constructive criticism. I have met several parents, since I removed my child from this school, who have either removed their children or decided not to send their children to this school due to Janet's overall bossy and disrespectful attitude. I believe that the school year is hard as it is - no need to add stressful situations or people in the mix. There are other Montessori and Chartered schools in this area. I recommend doing your research and making sure you can put up with Janet before you sign your one (or more) year commitment to this school.


Community Mont School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school produces results, period. Furthermore, the results are visible not only in each child s academic progress, but also in his/her behavior and in the virtues instilled by the school. The issue for virtually every parent with whom I ve spoken is never whether Community Montessori is the best place for our children to begin their formal education, but where to send our children once they graduate. Ms. Janet and crew have instilled a level of knowledge and curiosity that puts the children worlds ahead of their peers at comparable schools. My son attended Community Montessori for roughly 3 years, recently graduating, and I had the opportunity to witness these incredible results year after year. The culmination is that each kindergartener at the school completes a project, researches and writes a report, and makes a presentation upon graduation. This school is a relatively small and undiscovered gem with no desire to cherry pick the best students. Instead, this school is committed to accepting children of all backgrounds and consistently producing academically precocious students who go on to be overrepresented in gifted programs across the valley.

Community Mont School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
The staff here is vested in the wellbeing and success of the children and they are more than willing to go the extra mile to serve the individual needs of each child. They do a fabulous job of teaching the academics but they excel at virtue development. My kids have the strongest manners of their friends and by far the best reading comprehension of their peer group. The children are also taught and trusted to identify actions that support a peaceful and loving environment. One of the things that has always impressed me is the school's high level of expectation for what the kiddos are capable of achieving. From a life-skills perspective of making beds and contributing in the household to a high standard of cooperation and an expectation of peacefulness, the director holds the children and families accountable. I've dropped one of both of my kids off at school daily for over 8 years. Knowing that the watchfulness of the staff is keeping them safe is so comforting; but also knowing that they are helping my kids cultivate self-awareness, kindness and a sense of what being in a community means is outstanding.

Community Mont School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
I have been a grandparent (two students) and volunteer at CMS for many years. This has provided the opportunity to observe the school from an "outside" and "inside" perspective. Most days I'm involved with dropping "The Boys" off and picking them up from school. The volunteer part is listening to new readers each week (This listening is AFTER the teachers have done all the work preparing the students for reading). CMS does does use discipline,which i would expect when dealing with children 2 1/2 years through Kindergarten. However, I have never observed or heard from my Grandchildren anything un-loving or, resulting in the Grands being reluctant to attend school. Both have looked forward to school days and leave excitedly talking about what they learned/did that day. In addition, they have lobbied to stay late or arrive early whenever possible. The progress demonstrated by all the children I've come in contact with is remarkable. And, after graduation many return summers and other school holidays to an atmosphere proving age appropriate learning and life skills training for them. Thank you Ms Janet, Jocelyn, Helen, Carol and Tracy!


Community Mont School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a teacher
For the last seven years I have been known as "Ms. Jocelyn" here at Community Montessori School. I will be starting my eighth year in the fall. I am very happy to call CMS my work home. I have been involved with montessori for over two decades both as a parent and also a teacher. I love that we as teachers get to partner with families in helping children develop their independence, a love of learning, and the basic life skills needed to be successful. There is a misconception that montessori is only for "gifted" children. Montessori is for EVERY child. We have worked closely with a various array of therapists when we have children that need a little extra help. So if you are looking for an environment that provides plenty of child led choice within a loving structured environment, please come see us. We can set up appointments for tours if you call ahead, or just drop by if you are in the neighborhood. Our door is always open.

Community Mont School 1

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
The reason for the low rating is because of the issues my family encountered due to the owners overly authoritative attitude and inflexible demeanor. There are two very good teachers (Jocelyn and Helen) at this school, however the attitude of the boss typically sets the tone and environment of any workplace and that is absolutely the case for this one room school house. The school is academically strong. My children learned a lot at their time at the school. When there were struggles the teachers were always willing to discuss and provide alternatives. My experience was, as long as we took the advice from the head teacher, then things were ok, but if we did not conform, then it was her way or the highway - there was no flexibility. I had expected much more of a "follow the child Montessori philosophy " And when both my preschoolers dreaded going, we knew this was not the right school for us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community Mont School
3737 East Shea Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ  85028
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (602) 953-9532
Last modified Community Mont School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top