Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
I interviewed 4 preschools before I found DSM and they're by far the best preschool out there. I enrolled my 2.5 year old daughter in the toddler room but a couple months later she was doing so well with her education and potty training she was moved into the bigger kids room (3-6 year olds). She loves learning, the other kids and loves all her teachers. I've been very happy with them as we'll as they really seem to care about the students. My only not good comment is I wish they provided a note with what the kids did all day since my daughter was too young to really tell me anything detailed. The teachers are usually willing talk to you though.

Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
My 3 year old son has been going here since he was 15 months. I absolutely love this place. I never ever worry for a minute about the care he is receiving. He is a brutally honest kid and has never had one bad thing to say about any of his teachers. They are all super caring, and it feels as if I am leaving him every morning with a family member and not at a "day care". They really do care about your child and that is a really good feeling. I am super lucky to have them very near by, but if I had to would drive very far to have my child here. I really could go on and on about them...The toddler class is wonderful, i couldn't believe how well they worked with him, and how easy it was for him to potty train (mostly because how much they helped and supported him) Bottom line I am one HAPPY parent with the care my son is getting :)


Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
To the concerned parent out there looking for a good school for your children: First I'd like to say that I apologize for the very abstract and unorganized review. Please bear with me. My son is now 4 years old and we have just recently enrolled him into DSM. His first encounter with DSM was in his late 2's to late 3's. He seemed very happy here and showed progress. Unfortunately, we enrolled our son into another Montessori school to better fit our work schedules. During his stay in the other Montessori program, I regret to say that our son wasn't very happy and that there was no progress in education or any character development whatsoever. I realized that the school was a waste of our child's precious time as he didn't seem to enjoy nor grow. Finally we made the best obvious decision for our son. We re-enrolled him into DSM. Unlike the other so called montessori school, DSM seems less like a day care and more like a caring school with concern for the children both educational and character development. Without going into detail, I am an undergrad with some education in child development and from what I've observed, DSM, in my opinion, has the tools to succeed my expectations.

Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
A truly outstanding school. The staff is amazing. So caring and professional. A wonderful setting for my child's first school experience.

Desert Shadows Montessori 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
We have had 2 kids in Desert Shadows Montessori. We LOVE the facility since the kids have access to a large grassy field, gardens for flower planting, and citrus trees along with playground equipment. We also love the indoor facility with the classroom pets and self-correcting toys. I LOVE the teachers and director. They sincerely care about the kids. The character development is top notch! I am sometimes in awe of how well they handle temper tantrums, disagreements, and disobedience (although I don't see much of those issues because the teachers do handle it so well that the kids behave VERY well). Parents are very involved.


Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
Desert Shadows is an exceptional school. It provides a safe and nurturing environment that fosters a love of learning which is critical for a child's success. I highly recommend this school and the teachers.

Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
My son has developed so much from going to this school. Socially, behaviorally, and educationally he has shown more improvement than at any of the other preschools he went to. My son had a really hard time transitioning from one activity to the next and doing the work that everyone else was doing, such as the case at traditional preschools. Montessori has allowed him to finish the projects he starts at his own pace and choose more of the work he was interested in, which in turn made it more enjoyable for him to learn. The teachers at Desert Shadows are very good at introducing and encouraging new work and skills. My six year old continued on there for kindergarten and has already mastered several kindergarten skills. I cannot wait to see what he can do by the end of the year. You will not regret choosing this school.

Desert Shadows Montessori 4

Posted February 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Desert Shadows Montessori 0
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
Fantastic school! Teachers are very well trained and work very well with the children.

Desert Shadows Montessori 5

Posted April 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Shadows Montessori
6709 E University Dr, Mesa, AZ  85205
(480) 830-5887
Last modified Desert Shadows Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Desert Shadows Montessori Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top