Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Chandler, AZ
Students enrolled: 169
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
Desert Sun provides a remarkable experience for both children and parents and does an amazing job of preparing both for the next steps in a child's educational career. Both of my kids attended the programs at Desert Sun and a great deal of their success as they grow older can be attributed to the foundation that was established at this great school. The director and the teachers are all top notch and the program is fully in line with the best and most effective early childhood education philosophies. Children learn to love school here, and I can't think of a more important measure of success.

Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The staff and administration are warm, professional, and educated. From the first time you walk through the gates of the school you know you are some place special! My two children attended the school from the toddler program to the kindergarten. We always felt the children were safe and well cared for. The staff ad administration was always available for advice and work as partners with us to address any concerns we had! We only wish we had more kids to send to this fantastic school!


Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
My two children attended Desert Sun from the ages of two to six. It was a wonderful experience for my family, and I feel so fortunate to have been a part of the community there. And it truly is a community. Trisha, the educational director, and Susan, the business administration director, along with the rest of the staff make it their priority to create a positive and supportive environment for all families. They encourage feedback of the program and offer several ways to become involved in the school. One of the things I love most about Desert Sun is it's focus on the whole child. The teachers are dedicated to providing a play based, developmentally appropriate curriculum. They know the importance of each child's social-emotional learning in the classroom and the role it plays in future school success. They also share their expertise and knowledge of childhood development with the parents through informal toddler talks, newsletters, sharing articles, and offering on campus classes in Conscious Discipline. I have learned so much and have become a better parent to my children because of the support I had while at Desert Sun.

Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This school is amazing. My 3 children have all attended and recently graduated on to elementary school. All 3 of my children are at the top of their class in all subject areas and are confident self assured children. I owe it all to Desert Sun. The staff is highly trained in all areas of child development and in conscious discipline techniques. This is the best investment I have ever made in my child's education!

Desert Sun Child Development Center 1

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
I would strongly recommend you look else where for your child for several reasons. The campus is very open and not secure which is something in this world today needs to be a considered by parents. The director is past her prime.....she is has poor conflict resolution skills and makes quick one sided decisions without considering all sides of a situation. The school may look appealing to families with children who have special needs since it is play based but the reality is the staff and director do not have proper resources to ensure success with these children....at least once a year for the last three years a family with a special needs child is terminated from the school. The director has reorganized staff in the last couple of years that seems to be based on personal decisions and not professional with students best interests at heart.....she did not renew a contract of a masters degree teacher who was excellent and even had outstanding performance reviews. Teacher assistants might be parents or individuals who have a degree that has nothing to do with education.


Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
Best choice I made for my children's early education! This is my third year at Desert Sun. I am so happy with this school and their philosophy! The teachers are amazing! Their training in "conscious discipline" and how they apply it in their teaching is exemplary! My children have benefited so much from this school, I cannot recommend it enough! They learned so much, from academics to life skills, and made great friends! The school provides high quality education to student and help parents become better educators for their children! The school does not have an all-day program, which some parents do want. But, they offer both morning and afternoon classes!! They love parent involvement, so if you are able and like being part of the community and helping out in the classroom, you will love this school! They are accredited through the NAEYC and have received 5 out of 5 stars in the Quality First rating AZ system for preschool providers. From Parent/Toddler classes to Kindergarten, Desert Sun provides a holistic education to help kids be their best! LOVE!

Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love Desert Sun! My children have each attended the Parent-Tot classes through the Transitional Kindergarten Program. The teachers are knowledgeable, friendly, and focused on assisting children in developing the social and academic skills necessary for elementary school. In addition, staff members are well trained to monitor student interaction and to facilitate creative and effective learning opportunities. This school encourages and welcomes parental involvement. I love that fact that I can volunteer regularly in my child's classroom! There is a small student/teacher ratio, allowing teachers to truly get to know each of their students. I am extremely thankful for the friendships that my children have developed during their time at Desert Sun!

Desert Sun Child Development Center 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be 5 star. My first two years at this school were wonderful because of the teachers my children had. The third year was not so great. The Director is very unprofessional and has difficulty separating personal from professional. She is not open to positive conflict resolution. When she decided not to renew the contract of a masters degree transitional kindergarten teacher who had favorable reviews but wasn't well liked by the director because she spoke up about things in need of change that was the last straw for me! On top of that when I approached the Director about aggressive boys in my daughters class who were physical by hitting, pushing, throwing, etc she said they were active and in her opinion there was no issue to be addressed. I would no longer recommend this school to anyone.


Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loved her preschool year at Desert Sun. They have so many fun ways to learn and explore. It is a perfect environment for children to learn. My daughter was always covered in paint, mud or who-knows- what, but she loved it and so did I! The teachers really cared and treated each child with love and respect.

Desert Sun Child Development Center 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Desert Sun is by far one of the best things I ever did for my kids. They were there for 5 years, and still talk about how much they loved going there. The are both in middle school now and doing great. I attribute a lot of their success to the caring and wonderful teachers and staff at Desert Sun. It is a wonderful environment where kids really do learn through play. Thank you for creating and maintaining such a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Sun Child Development Center
1512 West Elliot Road, Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 831-1718
Last modified Desert Sun Child Development Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Desert Sun Child Development Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top