Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Sun Child Development Center

Preschool | 169 students

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

My daughter loved her preschool year at Desert Sun. They have so many fun ways to learn and explore. It is a perfect environment for children to learn. My daughter was always covered in paint, mud or who-knows- what, but she loved it and so did I! The teachers really cared and treated each child with love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

Desert Sun is by far one of the best things I ever did for my kids. They were there for 5 years, and still talk about how much they loved going there. The are both in middle school now and doing great. I attribute a lot of their success to the caring and wonderful teachers and staff at Desert Sun. It is a wonderful environment where kids really do learn through play. Thank you for creating and maintaining such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

Desert Sun is a fantastic place to nurture a child as they grow through the most developmental years of their life. Each staff memeber cares about each child and building a strong parent-home school connection. I have 2 boys who began in the parent toddler classes and have since moved onto Kinder and Pre K. I feel they are building a life long self esteem, creativity, & knowledge all through a fun home feel environment. There are no bright lights, computers going crazy and a boring sterile environment. The kids feel at home comfortable and enjoy learning with the old school house type feel. I would send any kid in the world here! Don't hesitate do it~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

Our daughter is off to college. What an investment in her future! Yet, not as important as the first investment we made in her education! For the first five years of her life, we attended Desert Sun Child Developmental Center. We attribute our daughter's self confidence, assertiveness, problem solving and reasoning ability, self discipline, independence, conflict resolution skills and many of her strong qualities to the foundational years spent at this developmental preschool. The staff, leadership and generations of parents over the years are to be commended for staying the course and implementing true child development with integrity. As an educator myself, for 34 years, I would not have wanted my child to attend anywhere else. She blossomed in those early years from parent toddler classes to her transitional kindergarten class. NAEYC knows quality developmental programs and actively recognizes Desert Sun as a strong school of choice. My only regret is the preschool years sped by so fast. -Beth Lang former Desert Sun Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

I don't know why Desert Sun only received 4 stars for teacher quality when its excellent and dedicated staff is what sets it apart from most other schools. I have had two children attend Desert Sun and they have benefitted immensely from their interactions with the teachers there. I know that one reason they have flourished in grade school is because they received such a great head start. They love to learn thanks to Desert Sun teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

My son is about to start his 3rd year at Desert Sun. We did 2 years in the Parent/Toddler program, and he is about to start the 3 year old program. We have had a wonderful experience. The teachers, staff, and facilities are great. Desert Sun is all about learning through play, and for my active little guy that is the perfect philosophy. It is giving him an excellent foundation for learning - he loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son, now in Desert Sun's Kindergarten program has been enjoying Desert Sun since the Parent/Toddler interaction class. My daughter is on her 3rd year at Desert Sun and is gearing up to enter the Transitional Kindergarten class. We have thoroughly enjoyed Desert Sun for many years. Both my children love school, thanks to Desert Sun. The program is hands-on and play based - perfect for young children. The teachers are wonderful and so fantastic with the kids. We've enjoyed being part of the Desert Sun community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Desert Sun has been a tremendous part of my family community. The environment is greater than 'just a school'. Among the strong sense of community is an environment that encourages learning through discovery and play. This results in individual development as well as defining a strong foundation for social and emotional growth. Desert Sun works with the whole child and my little boy is loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

This is an excellent school that focuses on the development of the child. It has a developmentally appropriate curriculum and child learn through play. My son is in the 3 year old class and he wants to go to school every day. Parents are welcome in the class and are encouraged to help in other ways. The parenting tips and classes that are offered are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Fun preschool, but it felt like I was spending $$ for a 2-3 hour playdate. It was also rather chaotic. Children who need a more structure and focus might have a hard time finding their place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

This is an excellent, child-centered preschool and Kindergarten with wonderful teachers, a hands-on environment, and a great community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Desert Sun has been an amazing schol for my child. He has blossomed and excelled here. The teachers are wonderful. They have very low teacher/child ratios compared to other schools. It has a very family friendly feel and tons of outdoor space for children. As a teacher myself, Desert Sun has exceeded all of my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

This is my oldest son's second year at Desert Sun and my younger son and I are in the parent/toddler program. One of Desert Sun's mottos is 'Play is children's work.' With this in mind, the children are given opportunities to learn through a play-based environment. The school is very focused on the entire family and calls itself, and each of the families who are involved, a community. And it truly does feel like a community. Parents are welcome to atted any and/or all of the class time if they please. My children feel safe and comfortable here and look forward to school. I plan to keep both of my children here through Kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 43%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1512 West Elliot Road
Chandler, AZ 85224
Phone: (480) 831-1718

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT