Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Puffin Heights Montessori 1

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Although the school is clean and orderly, they were rigid and inflexible about our family's schedule needs. In addition, they are not warm and friendly overall. Their efforts at trying to make children independent often go too far, for example, one day my child had trouble with his outside gear and they wouldn't help him. Our child didn't get to go outside at all that day. There were also many days when the children were kept inside even when weather was reasonable to be out. They were also not helpful when we tried to touch base with them about our child's individual needs. They don't seem to have board of directors or anybody to whom they are accountable to for their attitude toward and treatment of individual families.

Puffin Heights Montessori 4

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
I have had my 3.5 year old here since she was two and when my son turns two he hopefully will attend as well. I am constantly amazed by the staff and how they are able to handle each child with respect and patience and then how the children respond positively to being approached in that manner. The children can do the "work" that interests them and are taught independence but yet every child is expected to clean up after themselves and to respect others. They try and be as sustainable as possible, requiring that lunches have reusable containers (no baggies) and they do not used paper towels (they have wash cloths and towels in the bathrooms) which has in turn made us as a family more conscious about our carbon footprint. It is a wonderful school that blends life skills in with academic learning! (Oh, and regarding the first port, they do potty train and they are very picky about their hiring.)


Puffin Heights Montessori 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a parent
I would never send my child anywhere else. They have taught my child and my family great lessons about patience, respect and independence. They make me a better parent. They are now like family. A great group of people. Cannot recommend them highly enough.

Puffin Heights Montessori 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
The first post is wrong they do potty training and don't have students as staff. My daughter started at 15 months and they did a majority of the potty training, very nice for me!! Wonderful program and teachers, students are always engaged in new age appropriate activities, they learn while they 'work'. This environment lets you go to work guilt free!!

Puffin Heights Montessori 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
Puffin Heights Montessori is a wonderful Montessori school. It truly is a school, with a wonderful atmosphere for learning. My three year old started when she was 18 months, and has been in both the toddler and pre-primary classes. Student to teacher ratio is excellent, and the teachers are long-term with low turnover. Each truly cares about the students, and the caring shows. I believe the first reviewer must have confused Puffin Heights with another institution, their review is not applicable to PH at all.


Puffin Heights Montessori 5

Posted December 01, 2008
- a parent
PHMS is a wonderful school with caring teachers and a structured curriculum. My daughter was at PHMS for 3 years, and during that time she flourished. The head teachers are Montessori certified, and the school embraces the Montessori philosophy of early education. I whole-heartedly disagree with the comments made by the first reviewer. PHMS was a gift for my daughter and me!

Puffin Heights Montessori 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
We have had two children in Puffin Heights and are quite pleased. The teachers, including Willie, Montel, Amy and Ashley are quite professional and excellent with the kids. We've also appreciated the quality of the assistant teachers, whom we all know are difficult to maintain. As for students, there may be a couple folks who fit in that category, but I sure wouldn't hold it against them. Teachers have all been excellent. It's clear that the school really does care about the children. It's not perfect, but everyone is trying really, really hard.

Puffin Heights Montessori 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
I would definitely recommend Puffin Heights. The teachers are wonderful, especially Willie and Montel, who are my daughter's teachers. My three year old daughter goes here and really enjoys herself. I'm really shocked by the first comment and don't know what the parent is talking about. I have known many families over the years that have enrolled their children at Puffin Heights. All of the families were the type to be involved in their children's educations and have loved the atmosphere.


Puffin Heights Montessori 5

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
Our son started PH when he was about 18 months and had a great time with the teachers and teacher assistants. The community of parents, children and staff at the school is warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the encouragement of self direction and kind redirection of behavior that was unacceptable. The toddler program served our child very well until we moved away from Anchorage to be closer to family. I wholeheartedly recommend PH to anyone!

Puffin Heights Montessori 1

Posted February 02, 2006
- a parent
This school is not an average Montessori. There were not enough teachers and they don't do potty training. Lots of students working there. Word not recommend this school to parents concerned about quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Puffin Heights Montessori
1000 West 20th Avenue, Anchorage, AK  99503
(907) 272-5999
Last modified Puffin Heights Montessori is a Private school that serves grade PK
Puffin Heights Montessori Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top