Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Primrose School at Liberty Park 3

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
Primrose is lovely for children to attend. However a part if the turnover rate being so high is the lack of pay and incentives by the owners to the teachers. They make over 1,000 a month per child and almost have 90 kids, giving them almost $100,000 a month! However the average teacher's pay is maybe 8.50/hr in which majority of the teachers live pretty far from the school and I'm almost positive the money is spent on gas. La Petite Academy offers its employees bonuses, pay raises, insurance, paid time off, vacation, employee spending accounts, sick time, discounts as well as advancement opportunities. However employees at Primrose receive NO INCENTIVES, not even a raise(some employees have been employed for years and still make the exact pay that they started out with). This is a very sad situation and yes the owners could use a few courses on proper business ethics or visit some seminars for such because it's obvious to employees that everything is about "making money" for themselves while failing to realize that without the employees Primrose couldn't be successful because they are the ones dealing with the children all day. If they could make employees happier the turnover rate would decrease as well as tardies and call outs. People are willing to do more when they make more and the fact that employees realize that they are being financially lowballed they aren't as active as they could be.

Primrose School at Liberty Park 1

Posted September 28, 2014
- a teacher
Another director gone, one every 9-12 months it seems. Clearly it seems the problem is not with the directors, We are done with this place and are happy to be that way.


Primrose School at Liberty Park 4

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
Excellent education and it is clean and well maintained. Appropriate play areas based on age. I also like that all children are not just in one big room with no doors to nap (La Petite, Kindercare, etc). My child was sick less because of this. We had no problems with any type of lack of security or ANY issues with discipline. The owners were wonderful to our children. I DO feel, however, that there is a serious problem with turnover. Its hard on the kids. I thought that would get better over time, but I see that it is still happening. Maybe it is an issue of needing better management skills and an ability to work and have tolerance with other people instead of firing them at the drop of a hat. I feel that everyone I meet there has been helpful and friendly.. Its a shame that it continues. I also feel that they change the prices and take away certain things that have been listed too often. There once was an option for a part time week (I don't work m-f) and that's gone now, so we went somewhere else for care. (would have made more money for them to have two part time people) Maybe they need a few courses in business and business conduct with employees.

Primrose School at Liberty Park 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at primrose for almost two years. He had attended another daycare (Odyssey early schools), then a private school. We feel that the education that my son is receiving here is comparable to Odyssey. We pulled my son from the private school (that went through the sixth grade, but the curriculum was not appropriate for his learning style. He was not excelling there, and the teachers tried to label him. We have noticed a huge shift in his demeanor (much improved) since has been going to primrose. Even though we have the opportunity to move him elsewhere for kindergarten (which would be more convenient), we have decided to stay there. As others mention, there does seem to be turnover in some of the classrooms. But, the teachers in the preK and Kindergarten program are great. And, they have remained pretty consistent during his time there. We have visited tons of other daycares (La Petite, Greek Orthodox, etc) in town, and there was always something lacking (cleanliness) or were chaotic. I don't worry about my child while he is at Primrose. In regards to them being on probation, the two teachers were fired over the incident, and there have been no other issues.

Primrose School at Liberty Park 1

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
I pulled my child from this school after being there for almost 2 years. They go through a director every year so there has to be an underlying problem here. The last straw was when the school was put on probation by the state for leaving a child unsupervised. The turnover of teachers and directors is very alarming. They have been without a director for months so I guess the word is getting out about the owners. We are very happy at La petite Academy


Primrose School at Liberty Park 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was in the infant room. In the 6 months she was there she had 6 teachers. It's obvious the teachers are unhappy with management. They have been less then forthcoming on addressing turnover when we approached them. When decided to pull her from the program. Not worth the 1000 a month.

Primrose School at Liberty Park 1

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
My son attended this school for 4 months. Although I did notice his development, I don't believe it was any better than any other school's curriculum. For close to $1000 per month, I felt that he should be learning a foreign language, how to play an instrument, or some sort of extra curricular skill. The reason that my son is no longer enrolled is far more serious than lack of "extra" education. There was a lack of security with the facility. On more than one occasion, my son was aloud to leave with someone that did not have permission to pick him up. After the SECOND time, I was told that there was nothing in his file to make them aware that he could not leave with this individual. The first time this happened, there was mention of it being in his file so there is miscommunication within management. Also, and more importantly, there was an issue of possible physical mistreatment of my child, but there was no sense of responsibility to find out what happened which lead me to believe that there was a possibility of this happening again. I would not risk my child's safety so we are looking elsewhere to continue his early childhood education.

Primrose School at Liberty Park 2

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
The cirriculum is pretty good. The teachers that my children had were wonderful, but they changed entirely too often. I think there were 5 or 6 in a year. It makes me wonder whats going on behind the scenes. I eneded up moving my child to another school in the area and have been much happier with the teacher stability at the new school.


Primrose School at Liberty Park 3

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
The curriculum & teachers are top notch!! However, there is too much turnover with the teachers. Communication with parents is lacking.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Primrose School at Liberty Park
1800 Urban Center Parkway, Vestavia Hills, AL  35242
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (205) 969-8202
Last modified Primrose School at Liberty Park is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top